We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but rather unfriendly”
Review of Maison Du Midi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorgues
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Du Midi
Ranked #3 of 21 Lorgues B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The village of Lorgues is absolutely charming , the Maison du Midi is extremely well located , the décor very tasteful , the rooms comfortable and well equipped , the breakfasts VERY good ! However if you happen to be late for breakfast , you are reprimanded like a naughty child and there seem to be lots of rules . Lets just say that the place is lovely but the owners not very friendly , which is a shame because all the other ingredients are good !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Majani2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Maison Du Midi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

This summer I went here a couple of times to have dinner, eventhough I did not stay at the place.
The owners doesn't run a restaurant, but in summer-time they serve steaks and cheese every Thursday. They might allso serve dinner at other days, if the guests require this. And if you are lucky, you are able to join. Just give them a call and ask in advance.
The food is excellent! So is the wine and the atmosphere. Beautyful house and garden. The owners, Jette and Bent, have created such a wonderfull place just in the middle of Lorgues. Showing terrific hospitality, and taking very good care of the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have visited Maison Du Midi many times during the past year. Every time with the same result: Fantastic food and warm and dedicated service from the owners.
The place is like being in a private home, which is is, since the owners has an apartrment on the upper floor of the small and cosy hotel.
You feel welcome when coming here. And a dinner in the cosy living room or on the terrasse in the garden is a tasty and delicious experience at very reasonable Price.
And you meet here many other guests which give you the opportunity to have contact and talks with many different nationalities.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just by the church, a very short walk to everything in Lorgues. Nice room with a kitchenette. The breakfast was very good. It is a really nice garden. Jette and Bent are superb. The only negative is the churcbells.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank pilotbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We came here for a wedding, the Lady owner sold us a two bedroom apartment for minimum 3 nights days ( we needed only 2 night at the end of september) but was one of the hotels on the list; when we check in we discover the 2 bedrooms apt is JUST a one bedroom with another bed in something like a closet in the back of the first room ( you need to pass by the room to get in the 2nd).When i try to mention this scam to the Danish Bossy owner, she treats me like a 12yrs old and send me back to the room saiyng that was her last apartment. I did not expect such MAFIA situation in the middle of Provance.
At breakfast i try to seat at the sone at one free table in the sun and she sends me to a full table with unknown people; the general feeling of this place is that is the Owners private house and you dont really feel welcome.( every time you walk in and out using your keys the give you a strange look like you are disturbing them in their house), ..andif you ring the bell even worse..
The furniture is mostly from Ikea, and there is a strange paint smell inside the lobby.
The location is pretty in the center but for this price and this service is DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingmax69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jettebentmoller, Ejer at Maison Du Midi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Normally we do not comment on our reviews. If the criticism is objective, we are actually happy as this can help us to improve Maison Du Mid. But when we receive criticism that is directly untrue, we feel obligated to reply.

This is how we perceived the situation.

1. Firstly when reviewing the room after checkout, we discovered that the customer had been smoking heavily in the room, although it was evident from information on leaflet that smoking is not allowed. Even after multiple cleanings, several of our customers still notice the smell of smoke, which means we properly have to repaint the room.

2. The customer ordered a room for 2 people, three people checked in.

3. We told the client when he booked, that we only had a studio available, with 2 bedrooms (fully booked). This room normally requires that it is booked for one week, but in relation to the circumstances he could book it for 3 days.

4. We are a Chambre d' Hotes or in English B & B. This means that we are a private home where we rent out rooms and all are supplied with a key so they can let themselves in and out, which we explain on arrival. A studio is always rented without breakfast (as shown in the contract) and other services.

5. You did not order breakfast, but one of the guests came down in the morning and expects to be serviced. We served breakfast for this person (free of charge), and he also got his own table which is unusual in a B & B.

6. The customer left the room on the second day around 18 of own choice.

Of course we are sad that our customers are not happy, but this review is totally unfair. And hopefully our other reviews give a clear picture on how other customers experience our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here twice during August and loved it. The welcome drinks and nibbles in the beautiful garden was a great way to start the stay. The welcome from Jette and Bent was great and they immediately made us feel at home.

We have been to Lorgues several times before but this was the first time we'd stayed in Lorgues as a friend of ours has a house on the outskirts of town. The location of Maison du Midi was fantastic, especially for the excellent Tuesday morning market (which is the best market in the area by far!). As mentioned by others, there is very limited parking but there is a public car park 200m down the hill (right next to a brilliant bakery where we stocked up with food every morning before heading off in the car).

The rooms were large and had a kitchenette where you can prepare meals etc. There is a fridge in the room to keep the rose chilled too! The beds were large and very comfortable. There is also a fan in each room should it get too hot for you.

We look forward to coming back to stay with you soon!! Thanks for a great stay Jette and Bent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our third trip back to 'Maison du Midi' and, as usual received a warm welcome with a carafe of rose and nibbles.
Jette and Bent are marvellous hosts and their home is full of character. The house and the garden are very well maintained.
Jette is an excellent cook and her breakfasts are the best around with lots of homemade goodies. We also spent a very enjoyable 'Bastille Day' meal with them and some other guests in the courtyard.
Lorgues has a large provencale market right outside their front door every week and I would thoroughly recommend this as an experience- various stalls and local characters.
There are many places of interest nearby including Les Arcs, Cotignac and the Gorges du Verdon.
Thank you, once again, to Jette and Bent for welcoming us to your lovely home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
457 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Enclos
L'Enclos
#4 of 21 in Lorgues
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Bastide du Pin
La Bastide du Pin
#2 of 21 in Lorgues
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Maison Brora
B&B Maison Brora
#2 of 3 in Lorgues
4 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Josephine
Villa Josephine
#7 of 21 in Lorgues
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Du Midi

Address: 14 rue de l Eglise, 83510 Lorgues, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lorgues
Price Range: £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison du Midi, as it is called, has a beautiful, large, private garden with palms, mature chestnut trees, several terraces, a boules court, summer kitchen and a swimming pool. All rooms have en suite 'shower rooms and some a small kitchen. The house has three floors and a large rustic wine cellar suitable for receptions, exhibitions, meetings and the like. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing