We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT and Outstanding property with amazing guest experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Berne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Berne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT and Outstanding property with amazing guest experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent 4 days in this luxurious property in the very heart of a vegeterian paradise !!
Staff in this hotel is so friendly, available and responded 200% to our expectations, so that my wife and I felt so much at home!! The Orangerie restaurant and cuisine is one of the finest in the region and deserves a Michelin distinction (at least 1 star... !). We shall recommend this hotel in the middle of the wineyards to anyone looking for a genuine provençal lifestyle experience....
Upscale Club sandwich and delicatessen Burger would be most appreciated at the Bouscarelle outside Brasserie ! Indeed, we will be back next year !! Million thanks to the whole team at Château de Berne and WELL DONE !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    73
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
71
207
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
784 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have visited the de luxe restaurant L'Orangerie in Chateau de Berne many times over the years, since I have a house in Lorgues. The quality of the place is normally very good. But we had a very bad experience in July. Decided to go there again in august and this time it was excellent. Food quality and wines were excellent.
Some of the waiters are superb, but there is one or two who do not really know what they are doing. At the visit in july a waitress spilled wine first in my plate, and did not change the plate. then she later spilled wine all over the table and did nothing, not even excuse.
The same waitress was there at our visit in august. this time she poured a redwine in a glass and some small insect was in it. she very quickly removed the glass and continued then to pour the same wine in this glass. I asked: What was the insect. she said: That was a mosquito! Then I said: You have now poured the same wine in a new glass and also in the glasses of the 3 other guests at this table. should you not change all glasses and mayby also change the bottle of wine?
She then did it, but again no excuse.
Such experience is not ok for a restaurant with this quality and with the level of pricing.
I give it one more chance now in October, just because the food is fine and the surroundings so nice. but his time it should be without such bad experiences as seen during the past two visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Château De Berne this past August for 1 night (we actually got married there). The property is beautiful and the drive there is an experience within itself. The property is immaculate and the staff are incredibly helpful. We stayed in a suite that was bigger than our condo. It was really comfortable, had a gorgeous soaker tub, and a private garden area. We had the most amazing meal we've ever had, it was maybe 10 courses of the best things you ever ate. If you decide to do dinner there (it's expensive but VERY worth it), I suggest eating nothing before dinner, because you will be sad if you cant finish one of the tasty dishes. The service was flawless and all dishes were paired with wines from the Berne vineyard.A great place to celebrate a special occasion, I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorgues, france
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We live in Lorgues and have had many good dinners there, but have noticed a steady decline in bth service and food, while the prices have gone opposit. The bottom was reached at a dinner there om August 15 (French national day)
It took us more than a half hour to just get the menus, since they did not have enough to go around. The best part part of the meal was the free appertizer, the rest was less than mediocre. We had chosen the meny with wine for € 110.00 and we were surprised to find they served the opening price point wine of both white and red wine. The food could be matched by any number of local restaurants menu for 20-25 €, and the service was not only very slow and inattentive, it was even rude from a wine stuart that did not know her job very well.
We would love to have a a really great restaurant in our area, but this one is quickly going downhill.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leif O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have been guests at the Chateau de Berne 5 times now, mainly visiting in the months of May, Sept and Oct. It is a small upscale Relais & Chateau establishment with ca 30 rooms build around a privately owned Mas/small castle. The property grounds are beautiful, full of charm with lots of activities to do (e.g. hiking, mountain biking, quiet walks around the vineyards, etc.). The service in the main restaurant is very good (especially from their attentive Maitre and lead waitress in the morning breakfast). Rooms are nicely decorated and have most amenities needed. Wifi is spotty but ok. Dinner at their main restaurant is fantastic.
This year we visited early August.. probably a mistake. Being a repeat guest, we expected the same level of ambiance and comfort that we did in our previous visits. This was not the case all the time. The property has a Cave that actually produces and sells very nice wine and that is part of the Chateau de Berne complex. In order to generate more revenues, the Cave area is used regularly for events open to the public (e.g. Journee Americaine; concerts, etc.). This is understandable. But while we understand the Cave area will be busy during these events, this should not impact the hotel grounds and guests. Unfortunately, it does impact hotel guests in many ways: Loud event visitors come into the hotel to have lunch or walk around and this disturbs the normal tranquil hotel environment; they overcrowd the swimming pool area (which should be only for hotel paying guests!) as well as take all loungers. Twice in 5 days we stayed there, we could not get a seat by the pool. This is not what we expect as repeat guests. The hotel management should take better care of their guests and limit access of event visitors to hotel grounds. This would go a long way for loyal clients like us who really enjoy our tranquil holidays at the Chateau de Berne.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank demanding-guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Cali
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a lovely six day stay at the Chateau. We were picked up from the Nice airport (gratis-courtesy the Chateau) and whisked away into the beautiful French countryside. We spent the six days cooking with the head chef, Sebastian, swimming in the gorgeous pool, eating at the amazing hotel restaurant, L'Orangerie, touring the Chateau's wine making concern, visiting a medieval olive oil mill, being spoiled in the spa, shopping in the delightful village of Lorgues and relaxing in this rural heaven. There were two downsides to the experience made it difficult to justify the amount of money we paid for this vacation: 1. The room was a bit dowdy. It was 90 degrees and the only blanket option was an itchy wool number. I know that many of the rooms had been updated recently. It did not appear that ours was one of them. 2. The first three nights we ate in the restaurant, we were virtually invisible to the wait staff. In fact, on the first night, after waiting 40 minutes for dessert, we exited the restaurant unnoticed. After the head chef, who was teaching our cooking classes found out about this, the situation was immediately remedied...the service could not have been better the last two nights. This would be a great place to have a wedding or celebrate an anniversary. Just make sure you know which room you are getting before you committ.

Room Tip: Pick a room that has been updated. Ask!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momalu444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We went to the Chateau for a 4 night stay for a cooking vacation booked through the InternationalKitchen.com. It was expensive but an incredible experience and I strongly recommend it to anyone who is celebrating a milestone; this was our 30th wedding anniversary. The grounds are exquisite with beautiful gardens, a wonderful restaurant, an infinity pool, wine cave, hiking trails, tennis courts, etc. There are only 19 rooms. They are simply decorated but are air-conditioned; a necessity at this time of year. The staff are very friendly and almost everyone speaks English fluently. We had a car which allowed us to explore the area. The chateau has 1200 acres so you are not within walking distance of anything. The cooking classes were with "the" chef of the restaurant and were fun. There was only one other couple so we got lots of attention and the chef made sure that we all participated. During the class we prepared a wonderful 3 course lunch that we enjoyed at the end. This package also included a trip to the town on market day, a visit to a ceramics museum and olive oil factory. These were OK but certainly not the highlight of the stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side away from the restaurant and it was very quiet. I would suggest asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfPauletteNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
5.7 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
13.8 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
17.6 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hostellerie Des Gorges De Pennafort
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
2.0 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Berne

Property: Chateau de Berne
Address: Route de Salernes, 83510 Lorgues, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Berne 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Berne is a 1,500-acre private estate, situated in the Var region, in unspoiled Provencal countryside between Lorgues and Flayosc. Dating back to the 18th century, it is a truly exceptional site, promoting relaxation and wellbeing around two main themes: Provence and Wine. It is the ideal choice for today's Wine Tourism travellers. Discover the estate in a different way: mountain bike rental available and professioanl tracks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Berne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Berne Hotel Lorgues
Chateau De Berne Lorgues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing