We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility”
Review of Chateau de Berne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Berne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, England
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Chateau de Berne is a beautiful wine estate set in a beautiful location in the depths of sunny Provence. Upon entering the estate you drive through acres of forest, vineyards and olive groves the perfect welcome to this stunning property.

Upon arrival the reception was friendly warm and very efficient. My allocated room was lovely, the Platane suite. The room was large, bright and beautifully decorated in a rustic yet chic Provincial style. The view from the ample terrace over the hotel courtyard and vineyards was also very impressive. The bathroom was large, clean and had all the facilities.

The first thing that strikes you about Chateau de Berne especially in the evening is the tranquility, the peace and quiet. You are so far from anywhere that the feeling of isolation is fantastic. Although fully equipped with efficient WiFi I would recommend turning all your electronic devices for a few days. The escape is liberating!

There are plenty of activities in the day should you wish them. The pool is lovely although in September is was very cold! The estate is vast, beautiful and prime for long walks. Nearby there are lots of quaint local villages to explore but a car is imperative.

The estate is a working vineyard and whilst a little touristy the cave is a must do. You can not only see the wine being produced but also taste them, an obvious attraction!

The restaurant in chateau de Berne is very good. Although not yet approaching Michelin status the quality, freshness and taste shine through. Being on half board means you have no choice but what is offered on a daily basis is very, very good. I would suggest however that on a t least one evening you upgrade to a full blown tasting menu which is accompanied by virtually all of the Chateaus great wines - fantastic!

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my 4 days at Chateau de Berne, the place is stunning, the food gorgeous and oh so relaxing. On a negative front it is really expensive and the level of service and facilities doesnt quite justify the high cost. Breakfast is good but not worthy of the price. I also very strongly object to having to pay 2 euros to have a coffee from the in room Nespresso machine. 3 pods are provided but after that you have to pay, this in a hotel of this status is pretty pathetic and petty.

I would recommend a stay at The Chateau de Berne, it's positives are so immense that its few failings seem insignificant. However perfection has a price and Chateau charges plenty for it but doesn't quite deliver.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    84
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
79
249
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The setting is great and the construction is very beautiful. The fact that this is a wine estate (and has a lot of potential activities attached to it) is also nice. The food was pretty good, and there were a few nice perks (free nespresso capsules, free wine tasting, etc).

While I did enjoy the stay, the rooms are not top notch. Beds and especially the bathroom could and should be better. Shower was not very powerful, water temperature changed markedly.
The jacuzzi is also so-so and the wifi is terrible.
Breakfast was good, but there wasn't a huge variety.

Overall a very nice stay, and I would recommend this hotel. But depending on price paid and the expectations it could be a bit disappointing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudeberne, Responsable commercial at Chateau de Berne, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Following on your recent stay when visiting Château de Berne, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your global guest experience.

Reading your on-line comments throughout “Tripadvisor”, we understand we didn’t quite respond to the quality of service you were expecting from a property such as ours.

Indeed, this matter of fact doesn’t reflect our upscale quality standards so that we would like hereby to apologize for any inconvenient this experience may have caused.

Please, be assured that we are working on a daily basis to continuously improve our quality of service so that we would very much enjoy having you returning to Château de Berne in a near future and let us demonstrate our ability to deliver the quality of service you can expect from a property such as Château de Berne.

In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further inquiry.

With best personal regards,

Marc FISCHER
Director of Operations
Château de Berne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was my third stay at the Chateau de Berne, the first dating back some eight years. Along the way money has been lavished on improving the rooms, and the hotel has been upgraded to a five-star establishment. On this occasion our family occupied two rooms in the newly-built annex for three days.

There is indeed much to like about this place. The setting is idyllic. The service from all members of staff is friendly. And the swimming pool remains one of the best I have enjoyed (nothing has changed here).

But in several ways standards have slipped. On our second day they forgot to make up our rooms (until I rang to remind them to do so mid-afternoon). One of our rooms received no supplies of soap or shampoo throughout our stay. There used to be someone stationed by the pool during the day serving teas, coffees and drinks – this service no longer exists. The dinner menu is restricted to one offering a rather limited choice, updated once a week; there is no longer an a la carte menu. The website says guests can hire bikes, but we were told that this facility had been “discontinued” at the start of September.

None of this would matter very much if I were paying an average price for an average hotel. But with rooms costing around 470 euro per night (no meals included!), I expect the service to be of the highest standard – something like it used to be.

I took the opportunity of looking at what I had paid on my last visit in June 2011 (i.e. just over two years earlier). Comparing like-with-like, it was exactly half the amount. So, regrettably, I have to conclude that while prices have gone up (sharply), standards have gone down. Chateau de Berne no longer offers value for money. A great disappointment.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudeberne, Directeur général at Chateau de Berne, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Following on your recent stay when visiting Château de Berne, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your global guest experience.

Reading your on-line comments throughout “Tripadvisor”, we understand we didn’t quite respond to the quality of service you were expecting from a property such as ours. Indeed, your comments are of great value to us to continuously work on improving both our quality and efficiency standards.

This matter of fact doesn’t reflect our upscale quality standards so that we would like hereby to apologize for any inconvenient this experience may have caused.

Please, be assured that we are working on a daily basis to continuously improve our quality of service so that we would very much enjoy having you returning to Château de Berne in a near future and let us demonstrate our ability to deliver the quality of service you can expect from a property such as Château de Berne.

In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further inquiry.

With best personal regards,”

Marc FISCHER
Director of Operations
Château de Berne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a friends wedding in a near by town. At our arrival we were greeted with local rosé and the staff was very helpful. Our room was very nice with a small balcony overlooking the estate. Great pool area overlooking more wine country. The hotel itself is located on a vineyard, the entire estate is stunning. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niyalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

You can not miss the entrance to the hotel but after a mile or so of driving through woodlands and vineyards you might think you did. Persistence (and the satnav) will bring you to this fantastic hotel where silence is a priority. The hotel has around 20 bedrooms and thrives on its good food. Dinner (and their own wine) is gorgeous - just like their lunch. There is also a wine shop selling their wine with a small foodshop and tours of the cellars (don't worry visitors to the shops can not enter the hotel grounds). For my wife and I this was heaven in a small village in France. One tip of advice - try to avoid the school holidays. When we left a lot of families arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchman1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have had dinner in chateau de Berne several times. Each time the food itself was very nice! The service during the aperitive though was each time unprofessional! We ordered each time a bottle of champagne and twice they managed to poor out half a glas in the champagnebucket!! They did not even apologize.
The food and the service during the meal was always very nice!
This time we decided to make reservations for the spacentre for 3 people. We phoned them in the morning and asked them what package they could offer us for one of the next days... 7!!! Phonecalls and 10 hours later they just told us it was fully booked. I phoned one last time to let them know we were very dissapointed and were not ok with the way we were told off. The person on the phone (who was always the same person) first tried to come up with excuses but when I said that was bull**** (the pool was so called fully booked unless we made reservations for another treathment --> which we first agreed on but then all of the sudden also was fully booked) he acted like he didn't care and encouraged me to share this information on the internet..
We are dissapointed having to do this but obviously it proves the lac of proffesionalism...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Chateau de Berne is a lovely destination. The location, the grounds, the equipment of the hotel are all very good. I would not dispute the very positive evaluations prepared by other guests.

My more balanced evaluation relate to two elements. That hotel is very remote from its environment. You will not hear the "provencal accent", neither will you discover anything Provencal in the place. I have visited Provence many times, once for months, and my personal appreciation is that one who would choose the Chateau de Berne to discover Provence will stay at distance to the country. This said, I want to be understood: this place is very very nice, located among vineyards in vast hilly and forested surroundings.

Rooms have nothing extraordinary. They are comfortable, but not luxurious.

I mentioned two elements. My second disappointment relates to the food. For dinner, the only option is a gastronomical restaurant. The restaurant is good the first day, but I doubt that one wants to repeat refined tastings every evening. The breakfast is offered at 26 Euros per person. It may be fine with you, but in my opinion this is ridiculous. You can get a breakfast for two at the village for one tenth of that amount.

So, the place, if very nice, is disconnected of its environment. Still you can drive around, so I could have lived with that. However, the limited and too costly meal options lead us to go to Lorgues, a charming village close-by (8 Km), for breakfast and dinner. Taking that into account our 6 days stay became less comfortable and luxurious.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are opposite to the terrace where the breakfast and the dinner are served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
5.7 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
303 reviews
13.8 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
495 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Logis du Guetteur
Le Logis du Guetteur
#1 of 5 in Les Arcs sur Argens
386 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
62 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Berne

Property: Chateau de Berne
Address: Route de Salernes, 83510 Lorgues, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Berne 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Berne is a 1,500-acre private estate, situated in the Var region, in unspoiled Provencal countryside between Lorgues and Flayosc. Dating back to the 18th century, it is a truly exceptional site, promoting relaxation and wellbeing around two main themes: Provence and Wine. It is the ideal choice for today's Wine Tourism travellers. Discover the estate in a different way: mountain bike rental available and professioanl tracks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Berne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Berne Hotel Lorgues
Chateau De Berne Lorgues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing