We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”
Review of Chateau de Berne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Berne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Certificate of Excellence
Porto District, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon in July. Once you enter the property, you still take roughly 5 minutes by car to get to the Hotel, it is huge and beautiful.
it is a beautiful old house. However, it is private so you can't really go in. The Hotel is built in the surroundings of the main house.
We arrived close to 16h00 and we were invited to take a seat in the living room and have a glass of orange juice (nice gesture) while we started filling in what I thought was our registration form. We waited for nearly an hour to finally check-in.
The boy who checked us in, parked our car and took our luggage. Clearly short of staff.
This boy was clumsy and had a very sloppy walk. It seemed he was doing us a favour and not very friendly, probably just embarrased (maybe not the ideal person to have in Front Office as it does not give a good first impression).
Unfortunately there was a wind storm coming in and we couldn't use the swimming pool, but it looked great.
There is no place inside the Hotel where you can actually eat something during the afternoon. we had to go to the "café" a little further away as we had not had lunch yet.
We had dinner here and it was not good. My fish was raw and there was no appology given. The second fish that came was practically inexistent.
Service was OK.
Not the kind of Relais & Châteaux I would like to go back to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SVSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    80
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
236
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Enjoyed a short weekend break here in July. The hotel is on a vast wine estate, about an hour's drive from Nice airport with the end of the drive (past Lorgues) on small country roads. As a result, the hotel area is very tranquil and quiet, surrounded by lavender and vines. The setting is the most impressive aspect of this hotel and I cannot fault it - a photographer's dream.

Hotel rooms are French country chic, but have been updated nicely. Bathrooms are a bit more dated style with two separate golden taps etc. All was very clean. I think there seem to be quite a few different types of rooms so worth figuring out whether room overlooks restaurant patio or which way it faces, whether it's been updated etc.

Service overall was friendly and competent, though some room for going the 'extra mile' which some boutique hotels do a bit better.

Wines here were lovely, good variety of different kinds of roses and also some whites. The bistro at the Cave was a nice spot for lunch as well. We enjoyed the tasting with good commentary on the wines.

Dinner at the hotel's main restaurant was the only disappointment in the trip. Service was rather on the slow side, aperitifs never arrived and the food was not much for the value for the portion sizes or what you get (somewhat odd combinations and pretty much all fish dishes combined with some kind of pork product).

Would go back for the surroundings and tranquility, to recharge batteries. Would probably eat a more casual dinner at Lorgues instead or see if the bistro offers a dinner menu. Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

On the way back to London we stayed just one night with our Labrador included. The room, restaurant, breakfast and the beautiful countryside meant one day was not enough to take full advantage of the wonderful sporting activities, so we will return for longer next year. All the staff seemed very pleasant and helpful so we gave the hotel top marks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after the hotel we had booked into was flooded during some recent storms. We had the "last available" room, which was adjacent to the kitchens. It had a lovely terrace overlooking the vines and the setting is beguiling, set in wonderful grounds amid a vineyard with some nice marked walking trails.
The decor was rather tired and needed a refurb. Our main problem was that the bed was damp all 3 nights and the clothes cupboard stank of mould. There were some suspicious marks up the outside wall that looked like the building may have had problems over the winter. We cut our visit short by two days and had a lot of issues with reception over our bill. Their system didn't calculate the correct number of nights, or the agreed (discounted) rate, they tried to charge us for a meal eaten by someone while charging us for a meal we had eaten, but on the wrong night! They also seemed to magic up another room if we had wanted to stay the full 5 nights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Surreyhotelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Chateau de Berne gets the rare 5 stars. It is situated in one of the most beautiful locations on earth in a vineyard in the south of France. The Chateau appears to be quite old but is impeccably maintained and luxurious. The grounds include outdoor dining, an infinity pool, tennis courts, boche ball, ping pong, hiking and numerous other activities. The staff was extremely helpful and for what seems like a perhaps thinly staffed place, they do a remarkable job of delivering top notch service (not clear when people rest, they seem to be working all the time and at multiple jobs on the resort). The hotel is small in number of rooms giving a secluded intimate feel.

Berne is not cheap (nor easy to get to), but it is memorable and worth a stay. (Only complaint is WiFi was spotty and slow, but free).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Make sure you print out the directions to this hotel as it's a little tricky to find. It's hidden away down a long road through the vineyard which makes it a perfect escape. It's a huge estate with the vines surrounding the accommodation buildings. We were welcomed with a champagne cocktail in front of a large fireplace and given the perfect amount of time to enjoy this before being shown to our rooms. The rooms are a good size and beautifully finished somewhere between French provincial and executive hotel room, including a large bathroom. My room had a beautiful view through french doors over the vines. They also leave a welcoming snack and a bottle of wine in the room. We enjoyed excellent service in the modern and comfortable bar area downstairs for a night cap, as we had eaten en route to the hotel. Breakfast the next morning was served in a beautiful conservatory style room and was excellent. We only stayed one night but made time for a dip in the pool which was large and beautifully landscaped with an infinity edge overlooking the vineyards. It really was worth braving the slightly chilly temperature as it was early May and not heated. There is a lovely kitchen garden which is worth strolling down to if you enjoy that sort of thing. We checked out and had a nice lunch in the cafe at the cellar door which is nearby the hotel building. We could have happily stayed longer than one night as this is a stunning location and there was also an inviting spa at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for two nights for a friend's wedding. They had reserved all the rooms for us wedding guests, but the restaurants and the winery were still open for business. I stayed in the cheapest room which was anything but cheap. Still, I found the room to be in keeping with the venue: tasteful and with high standards. The spa services were of high quality as well, but was disappointed that the steam room was out of service and that the jacuzzi was inside a dome.
If you are the only guest in the hotel, then wifi is great. As soon as there is any more demand, forget it. It was the most frustrating experience. Why not improve the quality? We might be prepared to pay for the privilege.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudeberne, Responsable relations clients at Chateau de Berne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Following on your recent stay at Château de Bern during the wedding of your friends, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your global guest experience.
Reading your on-line comments, we understand we didn’t quite respond to the quality of service you were expecting.
Regarding the hotel WiFi connection, we are fully aware of this issue so that the necessary measures have already been undertaken internally to drastically improve the situation. Moreover, when visiting our Spa facilities, the steam bath was under maintenance, which is unfortunate but compulsory in order to guarantee a high-end hygiene maintenance level, we again apologize for this matter of fact.
Please, be assured that we are working on a daily basis to continuously improve our quality of service so that we would very much enjoy having you returning to Château de Berne in a near future and let us demonstrate our ability to deliver the quality of service you can expect from a property such as Château de Berne.
In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further inquiry.

With best personal regards,”
Marc FISCHER
Directeur des Opérations
Domaine du Château de Berne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
5.7 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
286 reviews
13.8 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
486 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hostellerie Des Gorges De Pennafort
17.5 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
338 reviews
17.6 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Berne

Property: Chateau de Berne
Address: Route de Salernes, 83510 Lorgues, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Berne 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Berne is a 1,500-acre private estate, situated in the Var region, in unspoiled Provencal countryside between Lorgues and Flayosc. Dating back to the 18th century, it is a truly exceptional site, promoting relaxation and wellbeing around two main themes: Provence and Wine. It is the ideal choice for today's Wine Tourism travellers. Discover the estate in a different way: mountain bike rental available and professioanl tracks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Berne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Berne Hotel Lorgues
Chateau De Berne Lorgues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing