We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Berne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Berne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

I stayed here with my husband for four nights of our honeymoon in Dec 2010.

We arrived late and were promptly taken to our room. Our room was beautiful with open fire, four poster bed, large bath.

The view from the balcony was lovely in the morning. The swimming pool looked inviting but we didn't use in December!

We didn't eat at the restaurant as it appeared a little fancy and expensive for us. We chose to eat in nearby lorgues which is a nice walk in the day time but we drove down at night.

We felt very welcome and relaxed at the chateau and look forward to returning in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Holmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    73
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
71
207
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

During a 2 week holiday in Lorgues, my Family and I came here to celebrate my step-father's 70th Birthday and I couldn't think of a better way to mark an occasion than with the 'Tasting Menu'. There were 15 of us for dinner which included different wines from the Chateau vineyards, I think we had 6 courses in total, the highlight being the partridge course. They had prepared a special cake for dessert and arranged a seperate menu for the children in our party. Nothing was too much trouble and the service, food, experience and atmosphere were all perfect. I shall definately be visiting in the future and hope to actually stay there next time.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ednaandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I recently stayed at Chateau du Berne with my boyfriend for 3 nights. It was, to say the least, the best placed I've stayed. The service was to the nines and so much more to do there they we ever expected. The pool is beautiful plus they have a tennis court, basketball and mountain bike riding for the active traveler. There are also wine tastings, cooking classes, just to name a few. The restaurants are wonderful, a bit pricey to eat there every meal, but well worth a meal or two while visiting. Each night there was wood in our room for the fireplace and they quickly addressed any needs we asked for or needed.
I can't say enough wonderful things about Chateau du Berne. I definitely recommend it to any couple for a romantic weekend. You'll never want to leave!!
I would not recommend it to single people as it is very quiet and a place for relaxation, not partying. It would be wonderful for a honeymoon or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizburks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Spectactular Relaix en Chateau with a lovely restaurant and pool in a simply beautiful setting. Also has a winery [good tour, but you have to pay 15 euros for it]. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The only problem (if it's a problem) is that the hotel is 'centrally isolated.' Close to Lorgues, a charming small village, but not much else

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethesdaHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Let's start with the good points. Our family stayed at the Chateau de Berne for a fortnight a couple of years ago. We really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is located in the centre of vineyards, which are in turn surrounded by forested hills and our only significant grumble was that the restaurant served the same dishes with minor variations for the duration of our stay. Having read in another review that 'significant work' had taken place including a 'new conservatory and restaurant' we decided to return this year thinking that the weak spot had been dealt with.

We opted for a junior suite to take into account that our youngest is now mobile (before he was in a cot). We took advantage of a 'stay 5 nights and get the 6th free' offer, which still meant €500 per night. I later found out that this was for the room only with breakfast costing an additional €25 per adult.

Now we move on to the bad points. When we arrived we found we were in the same room as our previous visit. That had previously cost us €300 per night, including breakfast. Nothing had changed from the previous trip, so this started things off on a sour note.

To make matters worse it also turned out that the restaurant in food terms is the same as before, offering the same small selection of dishes for the duration of our stay. What has been added is a conservatory ('orangery') which is a modern bolt on that is out of keeping with the rest of the older style building and was baking in the July sun.

Another irritation is that the owners of the hotel let their dogs roam around freely. There were dollops of complementary dog mess on the lawn outside our room, which detracted from the enjoyment of the room's terrace.

The final bad point was the noise from the bar and restaurant which were unacceptable for a something pitched as a high-end room.

Just to be balanced, there are many plus points such as the location, a lovely swimming pool and nice touches such as a picnic area and even a small playground, which the children really enjoyed using. The hotel's location 30 miles from the coast (south) and around 25 miles from the Verdon Gorge (north) also make it a great base to explore from.

I would imagine that most visitors stay for 1-3 nights and therefore don't encounter the limitations of the restaurant.

My recommendation would be to stay for a small duration only and try to pay half the rack rate. The bad things aside, this is a really memorable place to visit. Oh and stay off the grass of course.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1FussyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My sister and I stayed a couple of nights at the Chateau de Berne. It was wonderful. We took advantage of the activities there including a stone massage (glorious), a tour of the winery, and enjoyed all of our breakfast sand two dinners at the Chateau. The food was excellent and wine from the Cahteau was marvelous. The service is beyond first rate and the staff is about the friendliest and accomodating I have ever experienced. The grounds are expansive and the views breathtaking. I cannot recommend hotel, spa and winery more highly. Even if you don't know this part of France, it is worth the journey. Oh one more thing: the pool is exquisite. Each room comes with a basket which you can carry down to the pool. It contains your towel and spa shoes. Such a small detail but it demonstrates their attention to detail.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamieChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We've never stayed at Chateau de Berne as we have a house nearby but we have visited often for events, (the place has marvellous facilities for a romantic wedding or celebration), functions and we also often eat at the poolside barbecue restaurant at lunchtime in summer (great for kids too).
It's a beautiful place in thousands of acres of vines, olives and park land, completely secluded, with activities for guests as other reviewers have noted, and friendly staff, all of whom speak English.
During the winter, some extensive work has taken place (e.g. the beautiful pool has some smart new decking) and a new conservatory and retaurant and bar have been added to the hotel. These are very stylish and as good as any Relais & Chateau hotel in which we've stayed (dozens).
We had lunch in the new gastronomic restaurant last week and it was quite the best lunch we have had in the Var in 10 years - an amuse bouche, homemade rolls made with parmesan or olives, a starter of scallops and artichoke hearts with tiny mushrooms from Tokyo, a main of salmon cooked perfectly, with a delicate foam sauce and tiny vegetables from the Chateau's vegetable garden, a heavenly millefeuille with patisserie cream and fresh grapefruit and grapefruit ice cream - all for just 30 euros a head (maybe this will increase in summer - I hope not!).
If the standard we enjoyed is maintained, it can certainly compete with anything on the Cote d'Azur. The wine list does include wines from the Chateau but also offers other (more expensive) choices from around the world.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank headfortheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
5.7 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
13.8 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
17.6 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hostellerie Des Gorges De Pennafort
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
2.0 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Berne

Property: Chateau de Berne
Address: Route de Salernes, 83510 Lorgues, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Berne 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Berne is a 1,500-acre private estate, situated in the Var region, in unspoiled Provencal countryside between Lorgues and Flayosc. Dating back to the 18th century, it is a truly exceptional site, promoting relaxation and wellbeing around two main themes: Provence and Wine. It is the ideal choice for today's Wine Tourism travellers. Discover the estate in a different way: mountain bike rental available and professioanl tracks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Berne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Berne Hotel Lorgues
Chateau De Berne Lorgues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing