We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality”
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Cheval Noir
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moret-sur-Loing
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“High Quality”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a very good hotel with an excellent restaurant. Owner / Chef runs a gourmand restaurant serving 2 star Michelin food. Service is not Michelin star standard but is relaxes and efficient and certainly does not detract from excellent menus
Rooms have character and well services. No air conditioning may provide problems in high Summer
Breakfast well represented

Room Tip: If you want very good food and wine this is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    25
    15
    11
    11
See reviews for
10
47
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in a 'suite' which comprised a tiny bedroom and a tiny sitting room, above which was a sleeping platform in the eaves, which was grubby and very hot, as no windows or ventilation. The radiator in the 'sitting room' was stuck on, and it was in the upper 20s outside and unbearable inside. This made the sleeping platform area even worse!

The whole place was furnished with the cheapest and most hideous furniture, paintings, objects etc. There was the absolute minimum provision i.e. no hair dryer.

The breakfast cost 12 euros for which we had cold tea or terrible coffee, plus some supermarket croissants and some bread with some sachets of butter and jam.

Overall we felt that the owners sole object was to extract the maximum money from their guests with the minmum of effort on their part. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misschrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moret-sur-Loing hotels

ottawa,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This was our last night in France and following reveiews from a couple of tourist books, decided to splurge on this hotel. we were barely greeted at reception and when we tried to speak french the gentleman appeared to go out of his way to misunderstand us. Later it turns out he spoke fluent english. We were shown to a Tahiti themed room, it was somewhat tacky and very tired looking. We had to walk throuh the formal dining room to get our room. The door opend directly on to small courtyard where the employees parked and we were consequently distrubed late at night when they left work.
This hotel was extremely pretentious and once we said we would not be eating dinner there they seemed to have no interest in making us welcome.

All in all an awful place and a dissapointing ending to our french holiday.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the attitude of the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

This is one to miss. Hotel listing gives the totally wrong message. This is shabby, outdated and located on a crossroads. The staff are non-existent, the price is high, you get no value for money. The only saving grace was a lemon souffle at dinner. We paid dearly for this.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

greeted by a lovely fellow who organised our three nights a few days earlier, he was warm and helped meet all our needs in relation to bike hire and train trip into paris
the rooms were clean and although bathrooms small they were clean and tidy
our room was on the main road and it was a little noisey for a small town
food and area was really lovely
keen for us to eat in their restaurant which had a superb menu and a very good local wine list, however we elected at the local town restaurants

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Stayed for one night at this hotel late July 2007. we turned up at the hotel without prebooking. we were shown to a small room which had a small terrace with table and two chairs, overlooking the lovely garden and conservatory.
Although the room was small, it was clean and adequate for our needs. It had a small fridge, but lacked tea/coffee making facilities.
The hotel had a nice looking restaurant but did not get the chance to use it as when we came back in later that evening the hotel was shut up, luckily we had been shown a side entrance to come in later, i thought he had meant the early hours not 7pm.
we did not take breakfast so cannot comment.
overall the hotel was adequate for our needs a one noght stopover, but i would not like to recommend longer stays unless of course you like to be alone.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moret-sur-Loing
5.5 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
111 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
697 reviews
9.7 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
185 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
498 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cheval Noir

Property: Le Cheval Noir
Address: 47 Avenue Jean Jaures, 77250 Moret-sur-Loing, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Moret-sur-Loing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moret-sur-Loing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cheval Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Le Cheval Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing