We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Chateau de Coudree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Coudree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had an excellent visit at the Chateau. We stayed for two nights and will hopefully be back again. The food at the restaurant was delightful. Chef Marina's menu was different and varied. The rooms were gorgeous and the service outstanding.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank angelesdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Very nice casle, very big bedrooms, special style, all differents, nice swimmingpool
Very good breakfast, to recommend for children
People overthere very nice and helpfull

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annievde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The drive up to the Chateau was pleasing, the member of staff at reception was friendly and helpful, good start. However, the room was very disappointing. Only the two bedside lamps worked, the lights on the wall did not, consequently the room was very dark as the only natural light was from the small window at about 8 foot high (but a set of steps were provided to look out of the window) We did inform reception of the non functioning wall lights but nothing happened. The towels in the bathroom were a dinky white and the bathroom had a smell of damp. The fan didn't work. The darkness of the room assisted in covering the cobwebs which were discovered in the daylight of the next morning. They had obviously been there a while! It was interesting that the instructions for the safe informed you how to lock it but not to unlock it! We did find the attention of the restaurant staff very good and friendly, and the food excellent. Overall we were disappointed in this hotel (and the cost of the accommodation thereof) compared with the overall quality of the many other "Chateaux & Hotels Collection" hotels that we have stayed in (I am actually writing this review from another hotel, which I highly recommend, The L'Assiette Champenoise (page 175 of the above mentioned group directory) on our way back to England. No, we will not be going back ..

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aurimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for a night en route from the Valais to Geneva, in one of the family apartments, with our 2 children aged 7 and 10.

The chateau is everything that you would expect from the website - absolutely charming! The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the heated spa on the lakefron was great - we sat in it and watched eagles hunting for fish in the lake and swans gliding by. Overall, the local wildlife was quite unexpected and impressive!

As it was not yet peak season when we stayed (in late June) the pool and restaurant were not yet open. The nearby port of Sciez, however, offers several good eating options.

All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

After reading the previous emails I decided to write my opinion about the hotel.
My husband and I just spent 4 nights at this hotel. Every think was exellent! The location is great, just 30 min from Geneva. Surroundings is peaceful! The staff was very friendly , the service is excellent, rooms are clean, I would highly recommend this hotel!

(For people who was disappoinded that there is no elevator, please pay attention - it's a XII century castle!!! :))

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We have eaten here several times and stayed here twice now.

The food is just great - you can just have a simple two course meal, or take your time and enjoy the seven course gala - they adjust the quantities so you can actually make it! We had our wedding reception here in 2010, and stayed in the dungeon room - lots of character, an amazing room (although freezing cold at the time). We have stayed here again this year in May, returning for our anniversary and stayed in a different room.

The setting is amazing, the staff are knowledgeable and friendly, and yes you do pay for what you get!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Medieval castles don´t have lifts, but you´ll get the charm of a real "château"; many call themselves so, but few look like one. Exclusive breakfast. Judge the rest by yourself from the photos.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANTIALFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sciez
3.5 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
184 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,740 reviews
9.9 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Port
3.3 mi away
Le Pre de la Cure
Le Pre de la Cure
#1 of 5 in Yvoire
293 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 4 in Amphion Les Bains
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Coudree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Coudree

Address: Avenue de Coudree | Bonnatrait, 74140 Sciez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Sciez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sciez
Price Range: £108 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Coudree 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant dans des murs du XIIeme siecle, un cadre enchanteur et hors du temps sur la rive francaise du Lac de Geneve, pied dans l'eau. Nos chambres de caractere composent avec l'architecture medievale du chateau: chambres avec mezzanine, hauteurs de plafond, fenetres de defense, un style historique. Les chambres sont situees au 1er et au 2eme etage. L'acces se fait par les escaliers, sans ascenseur. Venez gouter la cuisine gastronomique: a l'honneur les legumes et herbes de notre potager et les meilleurs poissons du lac et de mer, les viandes de la region et de France prepares avec la simplicite et le respect du gout original des produits. Confort moderne. Terrasses bar et petit dejeuners au bord du lac, terrasse du restaurant abritee par le mur du Chateau. Cocktails et repas de groupes jusqu'a 140 personnes a l'interieur, et 500 personnes a l'exterieur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Coudree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing