We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Regina(Bordeaux)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
326
127
30
25
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
127
30
25
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaint jamessmall vineyardamazing restaurantmain restaurantthe general managerdowntown bordeauxhotel restaurantmichelin star restaurantacross the riverwonderful hotellovely poolwine countrytiny villageroom was largejacuzzi suitewonderful staybeautifully designed hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Le Saint-James have an amazing view of Bordeaux possibly from every room and the restaurant. The design has so much attention to detail, from the building architecture, to the interiors.
This is such a great place to explore the region. Within one hour drive you can be on a magnificent beach, in the vineyards of the Medoc, St Emilion, etc.
The hotel offers great options for dining. The brasserie which is located in the village and is so good and very French. The cooking school is SO much fun, even if you are not that much into cooking. Finally, spare at least one evening for the restaurant. It has to be definately one of my favourite restaurants. The tasting menu was so surprisingly delicious, particularly a white cheese plate with truffle and olive oil mouse, that was so delicate in the palate.
Le SJ is a very special place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Juan G,

Many thanks for having taken the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor following you recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to benefit from all the services that we provide! You are right in saying that the Saint James is an ideal location from which to discover the region. Our 2 restaurants give guests a choice in terms of dining experiences and the new cookery school enables guests to learn and enjoy some fun moments at the same time!

We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards,

Anthony Torkington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It may be a style preference, but I am not a fan of ultra modern minimalist design for hotels. Modern is fine if there are decor touches that warm up the feel. This hotel was situated in a lovely quaint little town right outside Bordeaux, with its own vineyard and lovely gardens and views of the countryside. ( Not convenient to Bordeaux unless one has a car).Since this is more like a small inn, the common areas inside the hotel were small but were decorated in good taste. My only complaint was our room as far as decor and design. It was a long very narrow rectangular room with gray walls and gray floors- with not much if anything on the walls. The whole feel was of a sterile office building. No complaints as to the bedding. The bathroom was also very industrial looking and quite small. The main reason to stay at this lodging is not only for the lovely outside patio, where meals are served, but to dine at the restaurant. The chef is renowned with a Michelin star ( apparently he had been at a 2 Michelin star restaurant before), and while extremely pricey, the meal we had was amazing. Nearly all the clientele was French, and this is definitely not a hotel to bring young children to as it has a rather genteel but definitely formal feel to it. We came in summer, and I think in winter the hotel's modern decor would seem even more off putting ( and one could not sit outside in the patio overlooking the vineyards, which is a major plus on for the hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Mrs McLizzy,

We thank you for having taken the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We take into account all the feedback that we get from our guests – be it positive or negative – as we strive continually to improve both the quality of the products and the service that we provide.

It’s true that “Le Saint James” is ideally situated and has a great panoramic view over Bordeaux.
The concept of "Jean Nouvel" was to make a design and uncluttered opening onto the gardens and removing what could be in excess! It is true that everybody cannot be seduced by this style which is very original and quite unusual as a “Relais & Châteaux”.

We thank you for your comments on the restaurant. Our restaurant has a one Michelin star following the departure of our previous Chef and the arrival of our new Chef Nicolas Magie.
Children are more than welcome in our hotel and restaurant and also have the chance of choosing their menu directly in the kitchen with our Chef.

Thank you for your comments. They will certainly help us to improve the quality of our services.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Saint-James.

Kindest regards,
Anthony Torkington I Directeur général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in September. As a hotel, we would give it 4 stars, especially combined with breakfast and dinner at the bistrot. I am separately reviewing their gastronomic restaurant. The breakfast was excellent except for the service. We had to wait 30 minutes to be served all the various elements of breakfast one morning as the service was utterly uncoordinated. The rooms were actually to our taste which is surprising as this type of modern architecture is not usually my style. The rooms were very comfortable. it is true that if there were people in the next rooms, they could definitely see inside your room if you let the blinds open. Hotel has a beautiful view over bordeaux.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asheya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Mrs and Mr Asheya,

I thank you for having taken the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We take into account all the feedback that we get from our guests – be it positive or negative – as we strive continually to improve both the quality of the products and the service that we provide.

We have discussed you remarks with the restaurant manager and I apologize for the problems that you encountered with the breakfast service.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at ‘Le Saint James’ and that we will be able to show you our normal levels of service.

Kindest regards,

Anthony Torkington
Directeur général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a lovely weekend celebrating with friends in this luxury hotel. The service was top notch, efficient, friendly and discrete. The restaurant was exceptional. The food was creative and refined. The view over Bordeaux is fabulous.
Our half board package was complete but overpriced. The room was nice, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was in need of some repair with a chip on the sink and some mold around the bath. Surprising for a hotel of this standing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordeauxPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This fantastic hotel D'Architect is hidden in a small village outside Bordeaux called Bouliac.
The views of Bordeaux at night are magnificent ! you must have a drink in the evening in the Terrace.
Each room has it's character, different view on the vines, very modern and stylish
Dinning at the hotel is a must, top cuisine.
Just a block away you also can have excellent food at L'esperance, local bistro opened by the hotel with very good food at lower prices of course.
Amelle at the front desk should have a special attention, she is fantastic and can and will help you on all she can, your daily visits to vineyards, etc.
All the people who work at the hotel are excellent, we even had a visit to the kitchens with the actual chef !
You must go !

Room Tip: All rooms are different and very good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews