We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Bailli de Suffren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Found this lovely hotel by accident travelling around the coast. Stayed one night in June. Lovely receptionist gave us the tour round and explained all the areas of the hotel before showing us into Room 547, which had an amazing view from our balcony over the crystal blue sea. Room was well equiped with comfortable bed and lots of little luxury items. Private beach with sunloungers were a welcome sight after our long day traveling. Dinner was served in the lovely resteraunt which again had lovely views and a realxed atmosphere. Our two course dinner was divine and the waitresses knowlege and the description of the dishes were helpful in our choice. The wine water also helped us in choosing our locally produced wine. Breakfast was a massive spread of anything you could wish for. I would love to return for a longer stay if our budget allowed. All the staff were very helpful and polite without being stuffy or overfriendly. Free wifi was also included. I would thourghly recomend this hotel for a treat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Great hotel! Super view, very clean, great service and excellent for small team meetings

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank XavierDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent four nights at the Bailli de Suffren and enjoyed every moment. Our room 219 oversaw the beautiful and quiet bay just above the hotel's beach. From the moment we arrived the staff was very friendly, always greeted and helpful. The food at the breakfast buffet as well as the room service was perfect. Swimming at the beach was great. The beach itself isn't huge but it will do if you don't want to spend all day there. I can highly recommend this quiet little cosy place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunandmoon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Me and my wife stayed here for one night in april. We where stunned by the location and atmosphere of this place. If you are in the area, this is the perfect place for a few days of romantic getaway. We would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGreenleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I have just returned from a week' s family holiday at Le Bailli de Suffren. Trip Advisor opinions varied so was a little concerned before we arrived. However I can now highly recommend it. The decor is lovely - very tasteful French Provencal. The rooms are spacious and sea facing - great Mediterranean views - big comfortable beds - and most rooms seem to have balcony

Staff are friendly and helpful It is a child friendly place and there were quite a lot of children staying there which suited us as we were with a young child. People looking for absolute tranquillity could find the number of kids in the pool disturbing at this time of year.

Food in the main gourmet restaurant pretty good. We liked the Menu Ephemeral at 58 euro which offers several courses including amuse bouches etc... But we preferred the smaller more informal restaurant beside the beach - great in the evening or at lunchtime.
Drinks come up a bit pricey in all restaurants. Bottles of wine mostly around 25/30 euro and up - six or seven euro for a coffee. Buffet breakfasts served on the spacious terrace overlooking the sea are good.

As for the hotel s beach - it is suffering a bit from erosion and some local storms sometime ago - and we were told it is smaller than a few years ago. It seems to vary with the tide - it is still good to swim from and there is a nice decking area with sun beds . We were also very pleased to find a far larger , golden sandy public beach a few yards from the hotel too .This has its own little restaurant and sunbeds and is great for swimming and beach sport . It is also surveyed by local lifeguards

There is a nice local village a ten minute uphill walk (steps through attractive gardens most of the way) - there is a reasonably good restaurant there, pharmacy, tabac and supermarche. From there you can catch a nice air conditioned bus to Le Lavandou to the west or even St Tropez to the west.

The apartments are tucked away , look attractive, but no sea views and I was told residents could not use hotel pool..


Would definitely like to return to this hotel - budget permitting - and the area which is quiet, very pretty and not too touristy.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher level - fif fourth floor - are pricier and some larger. They probably have better s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed a week in the residence (apartment). We had a "garden view" which faces a blind wall. Apartment had a terrible smell in the first few days.
Also it might be disappointing but you don't have access to the swimming pool. This is restricted and for Hotel guests only.
The nearby public beach however is nice.
Just be aware that the the hotel and residence have little in common apart from their name.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank epo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I just spent 3 days at this hotel and would recommend for women travelling alone. The staff are very helpful and friendly at reception and the pool area.
The rooms offer all comforts and have amazing sea views.
You will need a car to make the most of this beautiful area and to enjoy a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junevolante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
#3 of 5 in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
268 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Moriaz
Grand Hotel Moriaz
#1 of 1 in Cavaliere
105 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Calanque
La Calanque
#1 of 9 in Cavalaire-Sur-Mer
97 reviews
6 mi away
La Pinede Plage
La Pinede Plage
#2 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
224 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bailli de Suffren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bailli de Suffren

Address: Avenue des Americains, Golfe de Saint-Tropez, 83820 Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
Price Range: £220 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Bailli de Suffren 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel located by the sea with private beach, in Rayol-Canadel.The hotel Le Bailli de Suffren is an elegant building nestling in one of the best preserved coves in the Gulf of Saint-Tropez.Everything has been done to ensure that your time here will be unforgettable: majestic setting, refined comfort, quality reception and facilities, excellent food, La Côte d'Azur's unique outstanding environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Bailli de Suffren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bailli De Suffren Hotel Le Rayol-Canadel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing