We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down”
Review of La Bastide Cabezac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Bastide Cabezac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bize-Minervois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Our previous visit was memorable in most respects but we returned with some trepidation knowing that there had been a change of ownership.
How right we were in our caution. It was amusing to see the dining room staff trying to be posh whilst serving fairly mediocre food with fancy names and descriptions, and at upmarket prices.
It was sad.
The arrival of the Brake France delivery van as we were leaving probably says it all!

G & M

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guigui18, Directeur/Propriétaire at La Bastide Cabezac, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

Dear Guest,
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel Restaurant.
We have taken over the Management of "La Bastide Cabezac" in March 2009 and if you read the latest revues, you can see that your poor experience last time, was due to a poor Management at the time.
The food is back to what it used to be, from local producers and to a very good standard.
We hope that we will be on your map again when you next visit our region.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2008

We have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel is very nicely decorated, the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and newly decorated. Clean towels, dressing gown and toiletries provided. The pool was small but nice to sit round and read a book. My daughter did swim in the pool but found it too cold as we had had a few days cool weather which had reduced the temperature of the pool.

The first night we tried the restaurant, it was a whole eating experience, quite expensive but value for money 220 euros for 4 persons with a bottle of wine. As our French is not very good, we opted for a set meal recommended by the waiter. The food was fabulous and I would have visited again but there are other local restaurants which are very good and a lot less money.

We ordered breakfast every day which was also very enjoyable. The only thing we missed was not having a kettle in the bedroom to have a drink first thing in the morning, next time I would take a travel kettle.

The lady we met at check in spoke excellent English which was helpful but with our basic French we managed to make ourselves understood with the rest of the staff and they were all very helpful.

Overall I would say this is a very nice, pleasant hotel and I would stay there again and I am very fussy! The only problem we had was finding the hotel, it is on a main road and not in the village

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I have to agree with 'burton832', that the change of ownership at La Bastide is not generally a change for the better. Ther are some improvements such as air conditioning in the ground floor rooms added since last year but the restaurant is not what it was. The food is still good but lacks the flair of M. Dos Santos the former chef-patron, he took advantage of what the market had to offer but I had the impression that the current menu had not been changed for quite some time.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm thornlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

I am sorry to say that the La Basitde Cabezac which was once a favorite choice of ours will sadly be no longer on our list. A change off ownership has come about. The new owners seem very pleasant although slightly intense, I am sure however, they are keen for their guests to enjoy their stay to the fullest. The rooms are still good value, large, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately where once the kitchens reigned supreme and produced delicious food they are now only a shadow of their former self. Regretfully the menu at the time of our visit was rather odd and somewhat limited, it was incoherent, the relationship of one ingredient to another seemed rather disjointed. It suggested a chef with high ambitions, keen to do well but lacking the talent to deliver. I have to say there was an occasion where I had one of the worst meals ever to grace my table in all my years of dining out. I finally decided enough was enough and it was sent back to the kitchens yet no one apart from a junior waiter showed any interest in knowing why. I believe the bookings for this once fine establishment will slowly dwindle unless there is work done on a radical rethink of the menu, an improvement in the standard of cooking and a more active personal involvment bythe new owners.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank burton832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2005

This is a wonderful out-of-the-way hotel with great food. While not luxurious, the rooms (simply furnished) are very clean, comfortable and have good modern bathrooms. Dinner on the terrace with one of the local Minervois wines is memorable. A great stopping off point when cycling the Canal du Midi. Terrific value for money. I am returning again next week.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Jersey, Channel Islands
11
Reviewed 29 May 2005

Mme Dos Santos and her enthusiastic young team produce a very friendly atmosphere which is complemented by M Dos Santos and his team's work in the kitchen. We have stayed twice in the last two months and will visit again.
The rooms are delightful but the road noise can be intrusive in some so, if you prefer it quieter, we would suggest that you ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool when you book.
The food is excellent - a varied and interesting menu - as is the selection of great local wines.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: éloignez vous le plus possible des chambres en bord de route !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank naninix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bize-Minervois
10.7 mi away
Auberge Cote Jardin
Auberge Cote Jardin
#1 of 1 in Conilhac-Corbieres
210 reviews
15.3 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#2 of 20 in Narbonne
179 reviews
8.9 mi away
La Residence du Chateau de Jouarres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Le Top du Roulier
Le Top du Roulier
#1 of 1 in Capendu
67 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
9.8 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide Cabezac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide Cabezac

Address: 18 Hameau de Cabezac, 11120 Bize-Minervois, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Bize-Minervois
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bize-Minervois
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bastide Cabezac 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your La Bastide Cabezac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide Cabezac Hotel Bize-Minervois
La Bastide Cabezac Bize Minervois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing