We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quiet location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Catarie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guethary
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quiet location but...”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Attractive room with good linen and extremely quiet but feel a touch of complacency has crept in. Paint and tiles in bathroom need some attention. Owner not on site during our stay and although staff were friendly and efficient, it all seemed a little impersonal. A request as to how to get an outside line from the phone in the room received an answer from the owner to the receptionist "oh. the outside line in that room doesn't work!! There seemed to be no question of getting it fixed which seemed on the sloppy side. Rooms are not particularly cheap and I would have expected a more positive approach. Breakfast was fine bu not oustanding. Guethary has the reputation for chicness among the local population so I would hope this little hotel raised the bar a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    57
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
93
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel asking for a room with balcony and ended up in a 10 sqm bedroom.. No space to sit and barely enough to walk around the bed.. The decoration is nice but considering it s not possible to sit (only one chair at the desk but no light; plint above the bed thaanywheret makes it impossible to sit..)..
Breakfast was good and staff very nice but not too helpful (after saying we could change room the next day, nothing happened).
The view on the see is also very limited..
I wouldnt recommand it for that price. Or avoid room no 9!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximaxAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights here on our way to Spain. The house is very pretty and the owner very friendly and helpful. There is a good size private car park. Breakfast on the terrace under the maple trees was fantastic. There are some good restaurants in the village and we also ate at one of the restaurants overlooking the bay. The rooms are well decorated and ours had a small balcony, it was smaller than it looked on the photographs but still well appointed. Its in a great location for just chilling in the village or walking around the coast. We walked into St Jean de Luz one day, it takes a couple of hours but the views on route are worth the walk. It has a small outdoor pool which looked fine but we did not get the chance to use on such a short stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maisieandjazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in this lovely hotel in the heart of the little seaside village of Guethary. Gregory on the front desk was a superb hotel manager and made us feel welcome in the most personal way for our entire stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the hotel has a very warm, cosy and relaxed feeling throughout. We also used the hotel pool regularly and it was beautiful.There are several good restaurants in Guethary with Brikatania being our highlight of the week. Guethary is a great base to explore the Basque region and Villa Catarie is a home from home. The only down side of us was that the path to the beach and harbour where most of the restaurants were was very steep, and as my parents were with us they struggled with this and we went to the beach in St Jean de Luz during the day instead, watch out for heavy traffic into and out of that town all day every day.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

Villa Catarie is a beautiful Hotel du Charme, in Guethary, Pays Basque, France. Located 20 kms from the Spanish border, the location is excellent to explore: St Jean de Luz, Biarritz, Bayonne, Hendaye, St. Sebastian, and the foothills of the Pyrennes. The rooms are all updated and comfortable, with fine linens , bathrooms, room decorations, etc.... The only minus for us was the intense heat during our stay, and no air conditioning. We asked for a fan, which helped tremendously. The staff were always available and helpful. I highly recommend.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank ECKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guethary
3.0 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Briketenia
Hotel Briketenia
#1 of 4 in Guethary
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Freres Ibarboure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fregate Vacanciel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#9 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Catarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Catarie Hotel

Property: Villa Catarie Hotel
Address: 415 Avenue General de Gaulle, 64210 Guethary, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Guethary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guethary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Catarie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Catarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing