We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privilege for Pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Privilege du Perigord

Restaurant Privilege du Perigord
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$42
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dordogne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Privilege for Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have eaten in this restaurant over many years and it has only got better with time. The musical evenings in Season are a delight.

The owners are consistently welcoming and always helpful within the limits of the spaces available and they keep the maintenance up-to-date and sparkling. The grand piano does take up rather a lot of room! Le Patron has now moved from kitchen to front of house but the standards of cooking and presentation are at least as good as previously and the menu always well thought out and changing with the seasons. Some English is spoken but, when in France, do as the French!

We would never hesitate to recommend this very good restaurant in lovely Monpazier

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    69
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Privilege du Perigord - good food, beautiful plates in Monpazier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

we were 3 couples in Privilege du Perigord restaurant of Monpazier. The preview of the different plates on the table was very beautiful and much more important very tastfull when we ate it. the recommendation from the owner of the restaurant for the wine was the Abouriou.
very good Restaurant in you are in Monpazier

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great confit duck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We ate here on our first night of our return visit to Monpazier, so we could have our fix of the Perigord classics...foie gras and confit duck. This restaurant makes excellent versions of both! I also cannot go past their oeufs cocotte, which are superb. A really enjoyable place for a quiet dining experience at a reasonable price in this lovely village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rosemaryoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very smart restaurant, and a pleasure to eat in it.  We went for lunch in market day and had the day's menu at 21.50 euros.  Three well presented courses.  None of them too big, but all very good.  Not cheap for lunch, but in our opinion well worth the money.  One comment, the service was good but the proprietor was fussing around a lot, and only seemed interested in some of his customers and ignored others.  Didn't give a very good impression.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent service with food to match. One of the best in Monpazier (along with Elonore). Food well prepared and creative menu. Well worth the fair price for both wine and food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Privilege du Perigord also viewed

Monpazier, Dordogne
 
Monpazier, Dordogne
 

Been to Restaurant Privilege du Perigord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing