We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Edell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Edell
Ranked #1 of 6 Monpazier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I'm not usually given to writing reviews but the time we spent at Chez Edell demands an exception. We originally booked for 2 nights but asked if we could extend our stay - we were delighted when John & Edell said 'Yes'!
The friendly atmosphere and ambience together with great food and comfortable accommodation provide a great base for exploring the local area.
Monpazier is a very pleasant traditional Bastide town with several good restaurants around the square and many interesting shops. Although situated to the edge of the Dordogne region, all major attractions are within easy driving distance and indeed the journeys themselves provide opportunity to see more of the lovely countryside.
We were made most welcome by John & Edell and enjoyed their company. Nothing was too much bother and we were made to feel right at home - even buying produce at the local market and picnicing in the lovely courtyard. Thouroughly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent two nights in this B & B in Montpazier. Had no idea what to expect but was delightfully surprised. The house is over 600 years old, beautifully restored and keeping its old world charm but also utterly comfortable and subtly modernised. Both John and Edell were a further pleasure to meet and chat to and nothing was too much for them to do for you, without even asking! And then there was Montpazier to enjoy also. Altogether, an experience that I couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 696Siobhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for two nights, our first visit to the Dordogne. We were made immediately welcome and our really comfortable room overlooking the very quiet street was charming. Our hosts (truly international) were very friendly and keen that we made the most of our stay. The breakfasts were very impressive and substantial (we only needed light lunches afterwards). The village itself was extremely interesting, in the two nights we were there, first was a performance of 12th Night, then the next, a cycle race around the outside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOTTNICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Family run, small guest house in the charming town of Monpazier. We actually stayed in an apartment suite across the street from the main house, as there was to be a party there late that night and they suggested it would be more comfortable for us. So, I can't report on the regular rooms. As in almost all the places we stayed in the Dordogne, there was no air conditioning, and rather awkward windows opening on to the street. Other than that, no complaints, only compliments on very obliging hosts - they even suggested we might want to use the washing machine (which we did!), good WiFi, very nice homemade breakfast and enthusiastic hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wonderful welcome from John and Edell. Our room was quiet, clean, pretty and comfortable, with some style. We had a lovely breakfast, and the whole tone of our stay was "what would you like" rather than "this is what you will have". John and Edell are people you feel at home with and run their b&b with calm expertise. I hope we will get back there before too long.

Room Tip: Our four-poster room looked out onto the quiet little courtyard but I think the other rooms would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
242 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have stayed at Chez Edell twice now, in different rooms.

Edell & John are great people and perfect hosts with a huge knowledge of the town and region. It's true that John makes awesome breakfast omelettes!

The property is over 650 years old and very well, and sympathecally renovated to an appropriate standard, retaining the original character.

All four bedrooms have shower and ensuite, and there is a lovely inner courtyard.

Chez Edell is a perfect base for staying in Monpazier - it's only 50 metres from the town square with a boulangerie and other shops extremely close by.

Monpazier is perfectly located to explore this part of the beautiful Dordogne.

Room Tip: All rooms have ensuite and a great deal of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandTracy_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our four night stay at Chez Edell was perfect in every way. Edell and John are generous and gracious hosts who go out of their way to ensure their guests want for nothing. They are warm and welcoming, and we toughly enjoyed their company and spending time with them. The B&B is extremely well located - just off the square and within walking distance to everything in the village. As other reviewers have already stated, Edell and John have ensured everything in their B&B is of the highest quality - from the linen in the bedrooms down to the ingredients used in their delicious breakfasts. A little sitting area with a fridge for use by the guests is an added bonus. I am not sure how they do this for the price they charge which is more than reasonable. Do not hesitate to stay at Chez Edell - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciafrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
0.1 mi away
Les Hortensias
Les Hortensias
#2 of 6 in Monpazier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Ariade
L'Ariade
#1 of 1 in Gaugeac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Castelwood
Castelwood
#1 of 1 in Biron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Grand Cedre
Le Grand Cedre
#3 of 3 in Monpazier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Edell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Edell

Property: Chez Edell
Address: 2 rue Notre Dame, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Monpazier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monpazier, situated in the beautiful Dordogne region in the South of France, is often called the "jewel" of the Bastide villages.Chez Edell, located in the centre of Monpazier, is a wonderful base for exploring this beautiful part of France. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is offered in a 650 year old house that has been tastefully restored to provide en-suite bedrooms while retaining all the charm of long ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chez Edell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing