We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & friendly”
Review of Chez Edell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Edell
Ranked #1 of 8 Monpazier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent a short break in Montpazier and had a great time made all the more enjoyable by staying at Chez Edell. The owners were very friendly and offered lots of help & local knowledge. Our room was spacious well appointed and clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TudorHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Chez Edell was one of the best values in our 16 nights in France. John and Edell are fantastic hosts and provide a wealth of knowledge about the town and local attractions. Their breakfast was a favorite of ours. The building has a lot of character. Our room was on the small side but was nicely appointed. The front door is just steps from the town square.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

An absolutely delightful place to stay. The house is charming and the town very pretty. Our room was very well furnished, beautiful bed-linen. We always like staying where there is a communal table and we ate a really good breakfast while exchanging travelers' tales . John and Edell run a really special operation. Park outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A delightful renovated 654 year old house within the walls of the Bastide. Generally easy on street parking. Wonderful hosts with excellent breakfast included in the room fee. Edell and John will direct you to regional sites. Room very comfortable (stayed in room #3) and clean with a great shower in the ensuite bathroom. Perfect site for exploration of the region.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

After picking up our rental car at Bordeaux Airport late in the afternoon we had a nightmarish ride to Monpazier sans GPS. We arrived in the evening, shell shocked and demoralized. John and Edell took us in hand and lent us their Tom Tom for the next two days of our three night stay. That allowed us to travel with some confidence for the rest of our trip. And John gave us a very well drawn map for our next stop.
Aside from the amazing generosity of our hosts in all respects, our stay at Chez Edell was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast includes wonderful breads, giant croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereal, french coffee and on request John makes terrific cheese omelets. John and Edell are very helpful with sight seeing, restaurant dining and just a joy to talk to. They have a nice dog too!
Monpazier is a nice bastide town with a Wednesday Market and some good shops and restaurants; try the seafood paella in the market if it's available; also a local cheese Trappe Echournac is terrific and available at the local Spar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay in one of the most beautiful areas. Edell and John were great hosts, helping with french translation over a superb breakfast. Very clean and comfortable room with a lovely atmosphere. We stayed for 5 nights but would have liked much more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I'm not usually given to writing reviews but the time we spent at Chez Edell demands an exception. We originally booked for 2 nights but asked if we could extend our stay - we were delighted when John & Edell said 'Yes'!
The friendly atmosphere and ambience together with great food and comfortable accommodation provide a great base for exploring the local area.
Monpazier is a very pleasant traditional Bastide town with several good restaurants around the square and many interesting shops. Although situated to the edge of the Dordogne region, all major attractions are within easy driving distance and indeed the journeys themselves provide opportunity to see more of the lovely countryside.
We were made most welcome by John & Edell and enjoyed their company. Nothing was too much bother and we were made to feel right at home - even buying produce at the local market and picnicing in the lovely courtyard. Thouroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monpazier hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Hortensias
Les Hortensias
#2 of 8 in Monpazier
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
1.4 mi away
L'Ariade
L'Ariade
#1 of 1 in Gaugeac
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Grand Cedre
Le Grand Cedre
#4 of 5 in Monpazier
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Charmilles
Les Charmilles
#4 of 8 in Monpazier
2 reviews
1 mi away
L'Olivier de Monpazier
L'Olivier de Monpazier
#5 of 8 in Monpazier
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Edell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Edell

Address: 2 rue Notre Dame, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monpazier
Price Range: £50 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monpazier, situated in the beautiful Dordogne region in the South of France, is often called the "jewel" of the Bastide villages.Chez Edell, located in the centre of Monpazier, is a wonderful base for exploring this beautiful part of France. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is offered in a 650 year old house that has been tastefully restored to provide en-suite bedrooms while retaining all the charm of long ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Edell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing