We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service and Long Wait” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Rigalous

Les Rigalous
Ranked #11 of 13 Restaurants in Monpazier
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant Les Rigalous has opened his doors in the beautiful region of the Dordogne in the heart of the small medieval village of Monpazier. The chef, Marie Hélène, lays a greedy table inspired by local products périgourdin and realized plate with a lot of originality and to know how to make, the Chef puts it all her heart and we ask for more ! The restaurant is intimate and very warm and small peculiarity very appreciated on Fridays it is couscous!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Long Wait”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This restaurant appeared to be in a very nice location in the square in Monpazier and I sat down with my parents at around 7:15. We were not approached by the waitress until 8:00 to order drinks despite repeated attempts to get their attention. Once we had ordered we waited an hour and a half for one starter and then a further 45 minutes for the main courses. It appeared that they could not cope with the amount of people in the restaurant.Therefore we decided to leave and we went inside to receive the bill. The woman inside who appeared to be the owner/manager refused to give us a discount on the set menu which we had not received the desserts or cheese, and was ready to attack us for being English and not waiting as "in France everything takes a long time". Eventually a man had to step in and resolve the dispute. It was horrible to have to argue with such a rude woman who would not even listen to our complaint, and it ruined the last night of our holiday. I would strongly recommend not to go to the restaurant at busy times - or at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GG1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    17
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honest and sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Okay, so the decor is a bit odd - seaside holiday let crossed with ferry terminal - but this young group of hoteliers is doing its best, putting heart and soul into hospitality and, more importantly for us, the food. Well priced menu, decent cooking, lovely service. We went back the next morning for coffee, which was also good, and we were allowed to take in croissants we bought elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire, scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple but perfect food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Under new, young, management - we were warmly welcomed, served with natural, friendly attention and enjoyed excellent lunch. Best omelette aux cepes ever, best frites this trip and lovely steaks and salads. Dessert du jour was a beautifully light crime brûlée. Good value wine card.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scoretulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mediaeval setting, friendly waiters and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Monpazier is a wonderful fortified hilltop town (bastide) with an enclosed, cobbled market square and covered market buidings - market day is Thursday. The Hotel de France is at one corner of the square and has an impressive-looking inside restaurant off the reception area but we've always been in Summer and eaten outside in the square under canvas awnings for shade. The restaurant has an a la carte menu with plenty of choice including fish and meat. The food is good quality but simple, local/regional restaurant style. A menu of the day is also offered with a couple of choices per course, either off the existing a la carte menu or additional dishes of the day - we had a refreshing pink grapefruit and shrimp salad and a casseroled chicken dish for a very reasonable price. Wines are on offer by various sizes of carafe and by bottle, and as you're in Bergerac and close to Bordeaux, it's hard to go wrong. Carafes of water also freely available. On a warm day, the chilled rose is very refreshing. Cheerful, friendly waiters add to the atmosphere. It can get very busy but once you're seated you'll be well looked after and you won't be rushed. The first time we went we were encouraged to have a drink in the bar in the main building while they found us a table and got it ready, then came to escort us to our table, so we went back two years later and would go again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhallcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“les rigalous montpazier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

this restaurant was recommended to us by one of the local residents. The restaurant is run by Marie-Helene, the chef and her daughter. My husband and I both had duck for our mains and it was the best prepared duck we had on our vacation in France. The service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant has a quiet atmosphere .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christine801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Rigalous also viewed

Monpazier, Dordogne
 
Monpazier, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Rigalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing