We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay in Monpazier with charming hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen/Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge/Kitchen Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge/Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge/Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Balcony
Beautiful Monpazier
Flower Market
Medieval Festival
Monpazier Village
Antiques Fair
Village square in Winter
Gourmet Dining In Monpazier
Amazing Marqueterie in Monpazier
Wood & Clay combined Pottery
Castelnaud
La Roque de Gageac
Gardens at Marquessac
Medieval Festival
Sunset over Monpazier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monpazier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Monpazier with charming hosts”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at Chez Edelle in their one bedroom apartment. We had a wonderful time. The apartment was very spacious with high ceilings and very clean. It was also well equipped with the extras. An example is the extra electrical outlet strips. It sounds small but details like this show you that your hosts are thoughtful and truly care about your needs. The apartment certainly exceeded our expectations.
The apartment is located just down the street from three bakeries, a butcher and the main square. Very convenient. We also viewed the bed and breakfast rooms upstairs and we would recommend these as well. Each has a small private balcony overlooking an inner terrace.
Our hosts Edelle and John were absolutely charming. We enjoyed every conversation with them and were very grateful for their generosity. They were generous with their recommendations and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. They offered us their TomTom for the duration of the visit which is not something that is included with the apartment. They also let me use their home telephone to call my parents back in Canada. Another thing that they didn't need to do and I certainly wouldn't expect this from any host.
I fear we've been spoiled. We travel a lot and have rented many vacation rentals and we can't say enough good things about this stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment that was in excellent condition and our hosts.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonhay
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a week and wished it had been longer. Chez and Edell are fantastic hosts. The apartment was spacious and very clean. Walking distance to get our freshly baked croissants every morning. Across the road was a Creperie which was inexpensive and the owner very friendly. The apartment is placed well for visiting the many Medieval villages. Thank you to all the residents and shop keepers who made us feel part of the village for such a short time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and having amazing hotst.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandTr...
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A perfect location, bastide village and hosts”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Chez Edell for about two weeks in November this year. My wife and I stayed in an upstairs one bedroom with onsuite while d the 'in-laws' stayed in the downstairs apartment with kitchen, lounge and toilet etc . The two accommodation options we experienced were very well set up and comfortable. Both were excellent accommodation optionst! John and Edell are the perfect hosts, always more than happy to provide advice or assist in any way requested. They have great knowledge of Monpazier and the wider area. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, comfort, John & Edell's assistance
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great location, right on the edge of the old town and less than 100 metres to the market square. Great for visiting the surrounding area, some magnificent sights within one hour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TassieTra...
Tasmania, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable apartment with friendly, helpful owners”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This one bedroom apartment was even better than we expected. It was spacious, very clean and comfortable but most importantly, the owners, Edell & John were so helpful and kind. We had English TV and English books to read and heaps of information on the area. The only thing the apartment lacked was a grill & oven but we were aware of that before we booked. Monpazier is a beautiful village and you can access many of the sites in the Dordogne area from here. We loved visiting the markets that Edell and John had listed. Edell & John have just finished a 2 bedroom apartment upstairs and they showed us through. I would highly recommend this 2 bedroom apartment too as it had everything you would need and more plus a terrace to sit out in when the sun is shinning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The town and owners
Liked least: Lack of oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
It was a pleasure having you staying with us and thank you for your review. We will replace the microwave oven with a combi-oven.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva D
Lacs, Centre, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great holiday at " Chez Edell " Maurice and I rented a lovely apartment from John and Edell who were the perfect hosts and full of useful information to make our stay more interesting. Anyone visiting Monpazier can't help but be enthralled by its history, and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to visit places of interest, some of which like Bergerac with its abundance of shops and restaurants are within a half hour drive.
I would highly recommend a visit and stay Chez Edell apartment.

Eva and Maurice Darby

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendlyness of our hosts John and Edell
Liked least: Having to leave and drive home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the owners
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing