We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to restaurant - just sublime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Visited last year for a romantic meal for two and visited again last week - absolutely lovely. The food is just delightful, the staff are courteous and the location is a hidden little gem. We will return in August!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Exvoguemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel in a "Chambre Confort" for €94.20 including tax. The bedroom looked out over fine country views. The staff were attentive and helpful. We were unable to book a table in the restaurant and the hotel's Bistrot in town was closed that night. The whole hotel was scrupulously clean, the wifi had difficulty getting through the sturdy walls, but was Ok in the residents' lounge area. Only draw back was the poor insulation between our bedroom ceiling and the floor above. Someone got up at 5 a.m. and tramped backwards and forwards across the floor upstairs,which woke us and kept us awake for over half an hour before the noise stopped. Just bad luck for us on this occasion. Probably exceptional!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieandTeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Edward 1er is located just on the edge of the delightful medieval village of Monpazier. The English-speaking receptionist (Ava) and the owner made us most welcome. The bed was comfortable and the en-suite room was spotlessly clean. Having a room on the ground floor with patio doors leading to the front garden made for easy unloading of luggage. Dinner price in the restaurant was a wee bit high so we ate at Bistro 2 on the other side of the village, also owned by the hotel. Bistro 2, an easy walk from the hotel, had a good menu and we were able to eat outside (in early May). The two english-speaking young waiters were most attentive. Monpazier is a good location for exploring some stunning villages in the Perigord.

Room Tip: Grouund floor rooms are available.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warkworthrotarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Excellent friendly atmosphere, we were made welcome by all members of staff. Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, first class food,a very attentive,but discreet staff, and chocolate pud to die for!
A small down side was the limited wardrobe space, it would have been inconvenient had we had a longer stay.
However it would not detract from us booking again!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Ask the owner for bike trips around the village. Really worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapati75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in Monpazier as a resting point on our way to Medoc. We fell in love with Monpazier and regretted that we couldn't stay longer. The hotel Edward 1er is on the edge of town but is only a short walk from the town square. The hotel is owned and run by a delightful couple who a genuinely welcoming and friendly. Their attitude towards the quality of the service experience is also obviously understood by all the staff we encountered.
The hotel is set within a walled garden with a swimming pool and is a beautifully picturesque setting. I suspect that there is a fair variety of room sizes and as we booked our room with very little notice, our room was a little cramped but fine for one night, a comfortable bed and a modern bathroom is all we really need.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent. Probably not the best meal we had in France but for quality of produce, ambience, service and value, it was close to our most enjoyable. Special mention should be made of the excellent wine list and the helpful guidance of the owner.
Finally, give yourself time to borrow on the hotel's bikes and have a gentle relaxing ride around the town and surrounding countryside. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JON E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Edward 1er Hotel we had a room on the top floor the views are amazing, we found the overall decor to be fine, the stair carpet is a little worn but in my view it adds charm to what appears to be a family run hotel with character.
The Breakfast is possibly slightly expensive, but the quality of the produce was all very fresh. There are plenty of areas both inside and outside to just sit, read have a drink and relax.
We ate out at two local restaurants Bistrot 2 and La Bastide both of which were within a 5 minute leisurely stroll from the Hotel, both of which we would recommend .
We were made very welcome, and would have no hesitation staying here again in the near future.

Jayne and Nigel Benson-Smith

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBenson-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
15.6 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
257 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
425 reviews
17.6 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
275 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range: £81 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou hotel in the Dordogne Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower and are equipped with free WIFI, a little fridge, flatscreen television, safety box, telephone and hairdryer. Free bottled water, espresso and tea facilities can be found in each room for your convenience. Restaurant Eléonore is our small intimate, gourmet restaurant within the hotel. With a capacity of only 28 covers, the intimate atmosphere is guaranteed in this restaurant. Enjoy the tastes and flavors of the Périgord, in our beautifully created and presented dishes. Restaurant Eléonore is open as of 19.30 for dinner, only on reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing