We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hotel in a wonderful town, if only...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Basel / Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Romantic Hotel in a wonderful town, if only...”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

.. the shower would be on the same level as the rest of the hotel.

But let us begin with the positive things: lovely Hotel ,classic French style, very good restaurant, quiet location and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay with our dog very much. Nevertheless, in room no. 4 there was the most unpractical shower I ever saw in France. This leads, unfortunately, to a deduction of one star. :-)

But I love this hotel and will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAETZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel. We were however very sad to "loose" a star on your rating for our shower..... :) Especially as you reserved a room with bath. It's true that the hand held shower in the bath has an "ingeneous" system and we will make sure to explain this better to other guests. And our 5 brand new rooms are now all equipped with walk-in showers! Merci beaucoup & au revoir? Arjan & Marije Capelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    58
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
208
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Edward 1er from 14th to 17th August this year. The staff were fantastic - friendly and solicitous, the food excellent and Monpazier itself is beautiful. It was by far the best hotel out of the four we stayed at; and although it was only three stars it far outperformed the two five star hotels we stayed at. It really made our holiday this year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As a middle aged couple looking for a clean, peaceful, relaxing, unpretentious classy small hotel in the Dordogne we found it in the Edward 1ere. hotel in Monpazier,

The rooms were very clean and well equipped and comfortable bed. Great view on to the countryside. The hosts very friendly, helpful and discrete.

The hotel atmosphere is such that you can be anonymous and need not mix with other guests if you don't want to which means you can get away from the crowds and hustle and bustle of a busy professional life and relax.

We felt that Breakfast could be bettered by offering local produce (cheeses, fruits, yogurts, etc.) and a little daily variation would be nice. Similarly such a classy hotel could have a Nespresso or similar machine in every room to enable the weary traveller to make a coffee when needed or at least a machine in the common lounge area.

We will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiratesofStMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was attending a wedding in the Monpazier area. I discovered Hotel Edward 1er having searched the general area. So I booked it for myself & 2 friends. Having never been in the area before, I needed all the help I could get and the proprietors didn't disappoint. The Hotel is beautiful and less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of the beautiful small town of Monpazier. My friends and I shared a beautifully decorated en-suite bedroom. The outdoor breakfast area is calm and scenic.
The proprietors, Marije & Arjan are professional and helpful and speak fluent English. My only regret is that I could only stay 2 nights. I'd definitely return to Hotel Edward 1st. if I go to the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHappy_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and decided to visit Monpazier again this year. This time we had a room in the newly converted part of the hotel and it was a very comfortable room with excellent views of the countryside. The owners are very friendly, and the swimming pool is a welcome sight after a day travelling the area. We were staying on the gourmet package and I cannot recommend this highly enough. The food in the hotel restaurant is 5 star and the package also includes lunch at a nearby Bistro owned by the hotel. In the next few years we intend to return for a third visit. In our opinion the hotel should be rated 4-5 star.

Room Tip: A room looking out to the back with a view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglasnch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nozay, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed three nights at the Edward 1er last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was very hot during our stay so the room's air conditioning and the beautiful pool were greatly appreciated. We had two dinners at the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed the food, service and outdoor atmosphere. The hosts were absolutely charming and couldn't do enough to make our stay special. In our view this hotel should be a 4-star hotel. We look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apacheetmaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first visit to Hotel Edward 1st and we were made very welcome by Arjan & Marije who speak excellent English. The hotel had undergone a major expansion project earlier this year building a new kitchen, restaurant and terrace area as well as adding new rooms (April 2013). The hotel was excellent and well located within the town for walking around this magnificent example of a Bastide Town with its unique town square and many individual shops. The restaurant was very comfortable, with very friendly (but professional) staff; the food was just superb, if you can try the Crème Brulee au Foie Gras. The swimming pool area was well presented and would be a welcome sight on hot day after our cycle from Domme! We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends or think about returning here if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have nice countryside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
15.7 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower. In the suites you can relax in a Jacuzzi and/or Turkish bath. To make your stay as comfortable as possible all rooms have a mini-bar, access to WiIFI internet and satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing