We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base for la Dorgnone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great base for la Dorgnone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel from all aspects. The rooms while varying in size,price are clean comfortable and welcoming.
The owners and staff, multilingual, are friendly and helpful.
The restaurant offers amazing meals, but with a limited menu, generally two main courses.
We explored la Dordogne from the Edward as the base, putting nearly 800 km on the car during the week. The Edward was a welcome port after a long days drive. The sunsets were beautiful.
You won't be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RonW361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    58
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
202
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Edward 1 er from Friday , Sept. 27 to the morning of Oct. 1 , 2013.
The room was well- appointed and we had half board ; our breakfast and dinner was included in our fare. The meals were delicious and featured the wines ,walnuts, cepes , and truffles of the Perigord / Bergerac region we were visiting.
The owners and staff are friendly and attentive. We celebrated a birthday here and the staff had a wonderful surprise dessert. We had beautiful weather and made good use of the lovely pool.
Monpazier and the area along the Dordogne is very scenic and historic.
We shall certainly return and will recommend Hotel Edward1er to family and friends.
Rowena and Tom

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the Monpazier suite and we were in a room in the new addition . We did have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Junior suite. Price very reasonable and fantastic rooms. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful experience in this delightful quiet and peaceful village. Highly recommended. Would also recommend the Bastidium tour including free iphone download.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We returned to this lovely hotel for the 5th time recently for special birthday celebration. We stayed in one of the rooms in their new extension which was every bit as comfortable and luxurious as the old rooms. The owners and their staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food in their gourmet restaurant and their bistro is interesting and delicious.
We shall certainly try to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel in Monpazier was very nice and a good value too. I didn't find the restaurant to be as delicious as other places in the region, but very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel Edward 1er. The best day of the week to be in Monpazier is Thursday as the town market is on Thursday morning. Otherwise, Monpazier itself you can see in a few hours so you will probably be driving to other destinations. I saw a couple of very nice castles (Biron, Bonaguil).

Room Tip: If you take a room with a view from the back, you can watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just can't stay away... Whenever we visit the south of France we make sure we have a couple of days here. Since our last stay there has been a major extension, making a large breakfast room/restaurant. All the staff are friendly but professional, nothing is too much to ask. Hopefully we will be back again next summer!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra go for one of the whites, we have stayed in room 2. Luxury, best appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent only one night at this wonderful hotel room 17 . On check in we were greeted by the owner who not only assisted us with check in but also carried our suitcases to our room. The room was beautifully appointed a modern bathroom with all required amenities. We had pre dinner drinks in the bar and then went to the second of their restaurants bistro 2, a casual restaurant the food was good as was the service.
We had breakfast at their restaurant and found it very good fresh fruits, breads ,croissants ,home made conserves and eggs cooked to your request plus freshly squeezed orange juice
The staff were all professional friendly with nothing being to much trouble
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isamu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel. They are much appreciated and a big motivation for us. Merci beaucoup & au revoir? Arjan & Marije Capelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower. In the suites you can relax in a Jacuzzi and/or Turkish bath. To make your stay as comfortable as possible all rooms have a mini-bar, access to WiIFI internet and satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing