We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edward would be pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Edward would be pleased”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Edward 1er had a very attractive special on offer when we passed thru the southern Dordogne. Three nights for the price of two, how could we resist? The expat owner/managers had operated the hotel for over 10 years and have done a marvellous job renovating and extending the property. A new restaurant and several rooms have been added where an old barn once was, and it is all done with great style. At the end of a long summer season everything still looked clean, neat and tidy with no great signs of wear and tear. Beds were comfortable, the location was quiet and all the usual amenities were available. We did select the “basic” room and maybe it was a little on the smaller side while the shower screen seemed to be an accident waiting to happen. But overall, we enjoyed our time at the Edward 1er and had no complaints of the hotel. The little Bastide of Monpazier was also one of the more authentic small villages in the region where quite a few folk actually still resided.

Room Tip: Get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We don't know about Edward, but we are very pleased with your nice comments on our hotel. Indeed not one room is the same in the little château and we try to express this in the pricing. Thanks to your comment on the subject we had the showerscreen repaired immediatly. Little note to all our future guests: please raise these concenrs during your stay, so we can correct instantly. Again thank you and very best regards,
Arjan, Marije & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    60
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
219
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were looking for a place to base ourselves in the Dordogne in order to make day trips in a rental car. We did not want to be in a gite or agri-tourism outside of a city because we like to get out of the room and roam around a city. We wanted a nice hotel in a small, walkable city, and Hotel 1er in Monpazier was the perfect spot.

The building is beautiful, and we liked that there is a terrace with tables and chairs, as well as poolside terrace (not to mention free parking). We could spread our maps out and drink our wine at the end of the day's trip and enjoy being outside while planning ahead.

Our room, #18 on what Americans would call the second floor, was quite large, with desk and easy chair and another little table. The bathroom with walk-in shower was quite large by European standards. We peeked into some of the rooms on the ground floor when they were being cleaned, and some were a bit small. So I would definitely spend a little more for a larger room. 18 and 19 were larger. There are more rooms on the second floor of the main original building that could be larger too, but we didn't see them. I will say that one of the small rooms on the ground floor (twin beds) opened out to a part of the terrace that had a little screen, so that became your own private terrace. No view, though, as the screen blocked it.

Our room was in the newer part and overlooked the valley in the back of the hotel. It was a lovely view, and I would ask for this room again.

The WiFi worked perfectly everywhere but the pool area. But that could have been the fault of our iPads.

The staff is very friendly and multi-lingual (English, French, Dutch, for a start...) They will serve you drinks out by the pool, on the terrace, or inside in the lounge. In the living room part of the hotel are many brochures and maps of the villages and attractions around Dordogne. Oh... and there is a lovely old Deux Chevaux you can rent from the hotel for around 80 or 90 euros per day to tool around in.

I thought the breakfast was a bit on the limited side as to variety, although they would make an omelet for you or boil an egg if you asked (wish the sign stating that were closer to the breakfast room entrance.) The breakfast price was a bit high given the selection. But you can also have breakfast delivered to your room or put on the terrace. We had coffee delivered to the room once and to the lounge a couple of times. Great coffee.

The hotel restaurant serves wonderful food. The menu, while limited, is well thought out and executed, and changes seasonally. You can eat inside or out on the resto's terrace.

One of the best features about staying here is not even on the hotel grounds. About a hundred yards or less down the street that runs in front of the hotel is a grassy park with three picnic tables that overlooks a valley and farms with grazing cows. In town are boulangerie/patisseries and grocery stores, one with a very nice selection of French cheeses. We often brought baguette, cheese, fruit, slices of quiche down to the picnic tables for dinner. And of course wine. We always travel with a set of travel silverware for just this purpose.

I can't recommend Hotel Edward 1er (which we came to call Chez Ed) enough.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19, on the first floor (second floor American) are larger and overlook a beautiful vall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel from all aspects. The rooms while varying in size,price are clean comfortable and welcoming.
The owners and staff, multilingual, are friendly and helpful.
The restaurant offers amazing meals, but with a limited menu, generally two main courses.
We explored la Dordogne from the Edward as the base, putting nearly 800 km on the car during the week. The Edward was a welcome port after a long days drive. The sunsets were beautiful.
You won't be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RonW361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Edward 1 er from Friday , Sept. 27 to the morning of Oct. 1 , 2013.
The room was well- appointed and we had half board ; our breakfast and dinner was included in our fare. The meals were delicious and featured the wines ,walnuts, cepes , and truffles of the Perigord / Bergerac region we were visiting.
The owners and staff are friendly and attentive. We celebrated a birthday here and the staff had a wonderful surprise dessert. We had beautiful weather and made good use of the lovely pool.
Monpazier and the area along the Dordogne is very scenic and historic.
We shall certainly return and will recommend Hotel Edward1er to family and friends.
Rowena and Tom

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the Monpazier suite and we were in a room in the new addition . We did have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Junior suite. Price very reasonable and fantastic rooms. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful experience in this delightful quiet and peaceful village. Highly recommended. Would also recommend the Bastidium tour including free iphone download.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We returned to this lovely hotel for the 5th time recently for special birthday celebration. We stayed in one of the rooms in their new extension which was every bit as comfortable and luxurious as the old rooms. The owners and their staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food in their gourmet restaurant and their bistro is interesting and delicious.
We shall certainly try to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel in Monpazier was very nice and a good value too. I didn't find the restaurant to be as delicious as other places in the region, but very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel Edward 1er. The best day of the week to be in Monpazier is Thursday as the town market is on Thursday morning. Otherwise, Monpazier itself you can see in a few hours so you will probably be driving to other destinations. I saw a couple of very nice castles (Biron, Bonaguil).

Room Tip: If you take a room with a view from the back, you can watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
15.7 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
246 reviews
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
548 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
414 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
637 reviews
17.6 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou hotel in the Dordogne Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower and are equipped with free WIFI, a little fridge, flatscreen television, safety box, telephone and hairdryer. Free bottled water, espresso and tea facilities can be found in each room for your convenience. Restaurant Eléonore is our small intimate, gourmet restaurant within the hotel. With a capacity of only 28 covers, the intimate atmosphere is guaranteed in this restaurant. Enjoy the tastes and flavors of the Périgord, in our beautifully created and presented dishes. Restaurant Eléonore is open as of 19.30 for dinner, only on reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing