We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break for our anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Really nice hotel in a lovely town, we ate at Bistrot 2 which was very nice. Great views from our suite on the first floor of the original building. Excellent attentive hosts. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alracno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that we were part of your anniversary! Very best regards, Arjan, Marije & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

looking through our Relais and Chateaux guide we found this gem of a place to stay, Monpazier is a beautiful medieval town and well worth a visit, the hotel was beautiful with lovely decoration our rooms were beautiful, nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable! the restaurant Eleanore was very attractive and clean the food was inspirational and interesting,and being that two of us only eat fish and vegetarin food there was a good choice, with a menu change daily, suiting all of us!The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the hosts were very attentive and all the staff were very helpful and friendly, sitting outside for breakfast and dinner was fantastic it really makes the most of your hoilday, would definitely stay here again and would most definitely recommend it to friends, would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brochure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your very nice and elaborate review. You have made our day! Looking forward receiving you again in our hotel in the future. Very best regards, Arjan, Marije & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked our room just a few days before arriving and were incredibly impressed upon arrival with the beautiful building and pool. Our room was nice and very quiet despite overlooking the front of the hotel. The bathroom was slightly dated, but for a 3* hotel, it was above and beyond what you could hope for.

The Restaurant Eleonore was very good, definitely worth a trip for the food and the lovely atmosphere eating al fresco. However it was not cheap compared to other places we ate at in Monpazier. Staff were friendly and good service. But do book in advance!

A must stay in Monpazier.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LemurToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your nice review. Much appreciated. We are continously updating and refurbishing our rooms, so we are sure that the bathroom you mentioned is on "the list" soon. Very best regards, Arjan, Marije & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited in June 2014 for a week and although we overall enjoyed it, there were a few things which I felt let it down.
So upon arrival we were blown away by the beautiful hotel, however when we tried to check in no one was there. We waited around pressing the bell and wondering around for a while but no one turned up, so instead we walked into the village and spent about an hour looking around the shops before coming back where we had more success. No one at the welcome desk was something that was a regular occurance during our stay.
We were given a lovely room, but upgraded into a room with a leaky ceiling - not really sure what to say about that. The room was very lovely though.
We chose to go out every day and therefore left quite early - about 8 in the morning - to get to markets etc first. Due to this we were unable to have breakfast as it is only available from 8:30 onwards. This was a bit of an inconvenience as on the last day especially we decided to finally try the breakfast and to be honest for 12.50 euros each it was a massive disappointment. There was a small selection of yoghurt and some ham and cheese and then you could request cooked eggs and there was also a selection of pastries. For 12.50 each we could have brought a lot lot more then this from the patiserie and having travelled quite extensively I have encourntered a lot cheaper breakfasts with a lot more - and most are included in the price. That was another thing - they assume you are having breakfast unless you tell them the night before, otherwise they charge you. This means tracking one of the owners down the night before, which at times took a while of waiting around the welcome desk - and we weren't the only ones.
The cleaners came to the room every day but we only had a change of towels for one day in the whole weeks stay - which I thought was odd?
We rented a 2CV one day for the day with a picnic hamper. The 2CV was priced at 95 Euros, with an extra 35 euros (I think - around this) for a picnic hamper. The picnic hamper included two sandwiches, two bottles of fizzy drink, a coffee flask (I am allergic to coffee so would have been nice for you to tell us that was in there before), two pieces of fruit and a little pot of pringles. Didn't completely think this was worth the money and a bit cheeky really. The 2CV was fantastic though - although we wanted to leave at about 8-8:30 to go to a market but were told that couldn't be accomodated because the owners would be too busy with breakfast. So I was paying all this money to run with their schedule - which I don't really think is how customer service should operate.
We had dinner at the hotel on the last night and I should say this was absolutely fantastic and actually good value. If I came back to the region I would definately come to the restaurant again.
Overall I didn't really feel like the owners were putting our needs first, and also that everything came with a price tag, which I didn't often think was justified. The service wasn't great and there never seemed to be anyone at reception. I also think that breakfast was disappointing and should not be assumed that you will have it. It was disappointing in general because the hotel was beautiful as was our room, but it was let down by silly mistakes and not very accomodating hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gabi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A simply beautiful hotel! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hotel is located in the corner of the wonderful village of Monpazier and is without doubt the best hotel in the area. It is exceptionally well care for and the attention to detail is incredible. After 10 days driving around Europe it was a pleasure to lie by the pool or sit on the terrace in the sunshine before walking into the village for a drink or a bite to eat. The room was lovely with views overlooking the rolling hills behind the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant attached (which was incredible and deserves a review of its own) and a bistro on the other side of the village. If you are coming to the area I cannot recommend this place enough. We are already planning a return trip later this year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fudgehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just an amazing hotel. It's obviously run with great pride and attention to detail. The outside of the building is stunning with an interior to match. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated but, most importantly, extremely comfortable. It's a stone's throw from the centre of the town but the hotel also boasts a beautiful terrace with a gorgeous pool. The weather wasn't exactly boiling when we were there but we still had a dip. Well worth it! The cleanliness of the hotel and its grounds is outstanding but the best thing is the staff. We have never had such a warm welcome and they even coped with my terrible attempts at speaking French! Nothing is too much trouble. We made use of the laundry service and they even used the detergent we had brought with us to save my sensitive skin. The restaurant is incredible. Top-level food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. The best meal we have ever eaten, in fact. The breakfast we had on one morning was well worth it too. The local products on offer are outstanding. The yogurt was worth the money alone! We are already talking about staying at the hotel again. The price is a bargain considering what is on offer and how impressively run the hotel is. You have to stay here!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Baggage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Monpazier was one of our Perigord stops and we were delighted to have stayed in this hotel for a night. Beautiful chic large house, with a new extension exquisitely decorated in blue and white blending in nicely with the orignal house. We had the end room on ground floor and it was again exquisitely decorated in blues & white. The bathroom was very modern and had the best walk-in shower we could wish for. Air-con was a plus in these parts of France.
The breakfast was excellent and we tried the restaurant for dinner and it served amazing haute French cuisine. I had the best dessert of my 12 day stay in France. Chocolate and praline delight!
Service is friendly, the pool is of a nice size with comfortable chaise-longues. Parking is round the back.
Monpazier is a delight to walk around at any time of the day, a true Bastide charming village. There are 3 lovely pottery shops where I found some very nice pieces.
You are also about 40min away by car to the best sights of Perigord: Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Beynac castles, Domme. which we did in one day, after checking out of hotel.
We travelled end of June before the overwhelming flock of tourists arrive and I highly recommend you stick to these off-peak times (June or September), as we were told everywhere we went that July/august becomes packed with tourists and is much less pleasant.

Room Tip: room 16 on ground floor was amazing for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flo_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your nice and very complete review on our hotel. This must be very helpfull for future guests and it is especially motivating to us!! Looking forward receiving you again in the future. Arjan, Marije & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
15.6 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
265 reviews
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
572 reviews
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
279 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
244 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou hotel in the Dordogne Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower and are equipped with free WIFI, a little fridge, flatscreen television, safety box, telephone and hairdryer. Free bottled water, espresso and tea facilities can be found in each room for your convenience. Restaurant Eléonore is our small intimate, gourmet restaurant within the hotel. With a capacity of only 28 covers, the intimate atmosphere is guaranteed in this restaurant. Enjoy the tastes and flavors of the Périgord, in our beautifully created and presented dishes. Restaurant Eléonore is open as of 19.30 for dinner, only on reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing