We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth time at the Garden Hotel - as good as ever”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our fifth time to the garden Hotel and our holiday was fabulous. On arrival you are warmly welcomed and we soon met people whom we have met before on previous holidays here. The room was basic but cleaned every day and we had air conditioning - at an extra charge - and it was worth it. We were on half board and the food was plentiful, freshly prepared and served by very pleasant and courteous staff. The staff overall are fabulous and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. There is regular entertainment with karaoke, quizzes, bingo and a Greek Night which helps the good atmosphere and introduced us to other people who were all of the same opinion as us about the hotel. We had a relaxing two week holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish and we will undoubtedly be back again. This hotel is a credit to Eugine, Jenny and their family who run it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Have been to this hotel many times over the last thirteen years and have never had any reason to complain. The hotel is perfect for family holidays especially with small children, my own three are now grown up but somehow always find a way back. The rooms are indeed basic, but are cleaned daily, bathroom is also basic,but again cleaned daily. Aircon is available at extra charge but fans are free. Food is varied and plentyful but it is Greek style, as you would expect we are in Greece!!!! Direct hotel guests who are on half board do get breakfast and evening meal, only those on room only have to pay extra!!
The staff, without exception, are always polite and will do everything to help. They are not and have never been anything different.
I'm sat in the hotel right now enjoying the wall to wall sunshine with ten days to go, wonderful as ever.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with a choice of 62 double twins and quads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyshoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

If your aim to go on holiday is to lose weight, this is your IDEAL place to go. The list of things wrong with place is endless.
-On the hotel website it mentions "Direct Guests of Garden Hotel enjoy a complimentary full English breakfast each morning." So on our first morning we asked for this and they told us we needed to pay for it!!?? Instead we were given the breakfast menu for half board (which we had paid for) which listed four options for breakfast.
*A bacon roll-with orange juice (clearly watered down)
*Cornflakes-with orange juice
*A boiled egg with marmalade on toast-with orange juice
*Scrambled egg on toast-with orange juice
This was the same everyday and you were not allowed to mix any of the options, you were not even allowed cornflakes AND toast! On the second and third day of our holiday we were again denied the free english breakfast so we decided to confront the manager about the situation. He also denied us the free breakfast. However when I enlightened him about what it said on the hotel website about the free breakfast, his expression appeared rather annoyed and defeated and he finally sorted us out with our free english breakfasts with no apology. The same situation had occured with lots of other couples at the resort also.
-The hotel allows you to book a double bed, do not be fooled! Upon arrival the manager informed us that "there are no double beds in this place." Another couple who also stayed at the hotel were given a room with no windows and no double bed. When they confronted the manager they were told that it would do him a favour if they went elsewhere as the hotel was overbooked, even though this couple had booked months in advance! Outragious!
-Also, if you're half board there is a set menu at night. You are offered three courses with a typical greek starter. For mains there are two options; one option always being a plain omelette. Over our 7 day stay the other option was spaghetti bolegnaise three times in the week and pizza and chips twice (being half a child size pizza). All meal portions weren't even big enough for a child.
-We were also greeted by an ant infestation in our bedroom. Great! So we complained about this to the manager who clearly ignored the complaint as the ants were still left crawling around our bedroom once we left after 7 days!
-The bathroom is actually just a wet room.
-The male hotel staff made several crude, sleazy, disgusting, suggestive and innappropriate comments to us also. I should not repeat the comments on here but it made us feel uncomfortable and vulnerable. These comments were even made by the hotel manager himself! Another couple staying at the hotel who had also stayed there the previous year enlightened us that the same member of staff had done this to some girls last year who had to complain as it was so bad. This is definitely not what we came on holiday for!
-The swimming pool on the other hand was great.

Room Tip: Your room requests will be completely ignored
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PaddyMcAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We chose the Garden as a first holiday for us together. We are a couple in our early twenties.
This is a mixed review,:
Positives:
+ Jenny, Jackie(the English lady) and the Bus Driver are helpful and nice people, sorting any problems and being genuine.
+The pools and surrounding gardens, orchards etc are kept close to immaculate and are definitely the high point of the Hotel.
+The hotel excursions are popular and useful as transport is an issue on Rhodes Island.
+The view from the balcony was great, especially towards dusk.
+Lots of fruit growing and wildlife around the hotel.
+Sun, sun, sun.
+The cake shop in Pastida sell absolutely phenominal ice cream...we recommend this highly.
+Champions in Pastida are a funny bunch (in a good way) even bringing out a cake and sparklers on my birthday lol.

Negatives:
+The Hotel food is poor to almost terrible with breakfast being the same under cooked eggs, stale budget happy shopper cornflakes and dry crusty roll/bap with Peach marmalade and dinner having a special menu that consists of Greek specials that are made from poor quality pork chicken and veg. Much better choice in Pastida which is a lovely three mins walk away.
+We booked for a double room with pool view (admittedly the pool view was stretching a bit due to the high season). We were led to a ground floor TWIN room by the Male Hotel Owner who had no qualms about smoking in the room, with two beds pushed together and a 2 square metre patio onto a north facing alley without any sun. When I mentioned we had booked a double he suggested we sleep on one bed and it's better like this. We obviously did not want this so I asked him again out of the room to consider moving us,I got a reply that the Hotel is full (although the room key pidgeon holes behind the reception desk had lots of keys available). After again mentioning the double request the Hotel Owner suggested I move Hotels and that it would be doing him a favour in doing so!
A few hours later after seeing another young couple being shown to a pool view room we decided to seek help with Jenny. She got us changed immediately to a first floor Double with a balcony pool view and completely set our holiday back on track.
+For younger people Pastida does not have a lot of night life, but with Faliraki being 20km away we thought it was well situated for both night-time activity and daytime culture etc. Because of bad timing Taxi's are on strike and there are no buses to Faliraki from Pastida and the buses to Rhodes Town are randomly timed and unpredictable, getting back to the hotel after 11pm would have been a nightmare (the bus driver was open to offers of taxiing)

We got two opinions from this place; the hotel is secluded and quiet, good for a slow paced holiday with out many hassles and that the Hotel is cut off from most of Rhodes' benefits and attractions and there is a narrow minded approach from some of the hotel towards holiday expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view and do not accept a palm off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_Mcquade1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The fact that Pastida is remote is one of the attractions. No MacDonalds or Chip Shops but some great Greek hospitality and outstanding food.

The Garden Hotel is very clean and well cared for with fantastic pools and fabulous gardens with fruit trees and vines. The food is freshly prepared and is very tasty. Our accommodation was outstanding for the cost. Double bedroom with king sized bed and separate room with two full size single beds, table and chairs, two ring cooker, full size fridge. Balconies to front and rear of rooms with another table and chairs.

There is entertainment at least every other night. Greek night is SUPERB, the dancers are awesome.

The staff, Jenny and Eugine and their family own the hotel and are wonderful hosts. Steve the "Handyman" was great with our kids, taking them to feed the chickens and collect eggs for their breakfast, see the goat and pick their own fruit. Paul the driver, what a guy, our kids couldn't stop hugging him. Steve the barman, sings, dances and serves you your dinner with humour. As in the song Steve, "You're beautiful". Michaela at the bar is just lovely and works hard. Our experience was that all the staff are there to make your stay as good as possible.

Special mention for their help and care when I had to return to the UK for a few days following a bereavement.

Trips in the hotel bus are reasonable and enjoyable. Seven Springs and the beach is highly recommended. Rhodes Town is a must. And while the hotel is not near the beach it's only 15-20 minutes on the bus.

We loved Pastida and we loved The Garden Hotel. I presume we will go back to Rhodes and I wouldn't look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We returned again this year to our little pastida paradise. Nothing had changed thankfully once again a superb holiday...Looking forward to our return again in October

Tricia & Mark Shaw

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilly1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the garden hotel, the best thing we found with this hotel, was a really large well kept pool with no music blaring out all day.
The couple who own and run it, treat all the guests as friends and can't do enough for you. The rooms are small, but kept tidy, but you don't spent much time in the room so small is ok.
Not a long review as most of the positive reviews say it all, and are correct, the few who complain should have asked the owners to rectify their problem, who would have sorted it out for them.
This hotel has a good fast free WIFI service, available in the reception area, as well as computers in english.

Room Tip: Rooms 50 to 70 are the best, overlooking the pool, witha nice grass terrace out the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikentl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pastida
5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
5.7 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
5.6 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#8 of 70 in Faliraki
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
21.2 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: 1 Pastida Maritsa Rd, Pastida 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pastida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Price Range: £19 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GARDEN HOTEL is a family run business which offers a warm and clean environment at low prices. It is ideal for people looking for a peaceful and quiet family atmosphere and good service. It is situated in the Filerimos Valley of Rhodes Island close to the airport.The busy centres of Rhodes and Faliraki are only fifteen minutes away but the Garden Pastida Hotel provides an oasis of calm away fromthe hustle and bustle of those towns . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Pastida
Garden Hotel Rhodes/Pastida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing