We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greek peace!”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Greek peace!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Had a very quiet and relaxing week at the Garden Hotel. We had asked for a first floor room (for the balcony) but were allocated a ground floor room looking out to the pool which turned out to be great as we had two loungers outside our patio door and could come and go as we pleased! The bathroom was typically greek, the shower was entertaining - in a humerous way for 3 days and a little bit more annoying after that - the shower tray was tiny and you had to told the shower head! All a little awkward!

We stayed B&B and although there's not a huge choice, you don't need that for breakfast; the omlettes were fab! We ate through the day at the Garden as well and they catered for pretty much every taste, sandwiches to larger meals, all were good!

Pastida is very small with a handful of bars, restaurants and takeaways (lovely kebabs!). I think if you were looking for a town with busy nightlife you would have to hop on the bus. All in all a lovely quiet place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faffalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    89
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
88
262
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My boyfriend and I are in our 20s, and this was our first time going to Rhodes. I always scour these reviews to see what the hotel's town is like and what there is to do.. so here goes!

The first great thing is that the hotel is so close to the airport - I think the transfer was all of 15 minutes. So for once I got to feel smug getting off the coach first rather than last.. But I did not hear a plane pass over the hotel once during my week there, so no need to be put off by that.

We arrived at about 2am and the owner Eugene was waiting for us and gave us a complementary beer then showed us to our rooms. They are what you would expect, basic but include a TV, fridge, bathroom, balcony etc. I really don't get when people seem outraged when the rooms don't seem 5 star - it had everything we needed. The only negative is that the floor gets very slippery when using the shower, but who cares!? The maids come each day and it was very clean. No noise at night either, this is not a rowdy place or somewhere where those better suited to Falaraki should think of going!

I forget the names of the staff, but the owners' wife is so helpful, as is the English lady who serves breakfast and then works in the shop later. She helped us out with recommending where to go, told us about the area. An example of the reason this hotel gets rated so highly: They didn't have the drink i asked for at the bar, so I asked for something else, at which point Eugene said "no you don't want that, too expensive!". He then made me up a drink free of charge! Also, we were trying to get somewhere on day and his wife called up local taxi companies to get quotes for us. They really are so nice and helpful and it has a great family-run vibe. God I sound soooo cliche, but it's true!

I don't get when people complain about breakfast abroad - it is fine! There was a selection of stuff ranging from cereal to fried eggs, bacon, sausages, bread, yoghurt and honey, tea, coffee, juice etc.. It makes me cringe when fellow Brits leave comments on places saying "no fry up, all they had was local food" or something like that - okay it wasn't a buffet, but it was great t set you up for the day and there were quite a few to choose from. If you want a fry up everyday just stay in England! I can't speak for the evening menu as we ate out, but there was always a selection of Greek food available as daily specials on the board. The one time we did eat there the food was okay, nothing amazing though.
+ The pool is quite large and was clean, and the hotel is surrounded by grape vines so it is a really nice setting.

I think the internet guides on Pastida itself are a little generous in their descriptions. There isn't much there at all, although it does have a supermarket, a few shops and restaurants. Everything is in walking distance from the hotel, but there isn't anything to do in Pastida. But, that doesn't matter as it is so close to Rhodes old Town. Pastida does have some really great restaurants offering authentic Greek dishes. There is one great restaurant in the main 'square' - if you can call it that - which is up some stairs and has an outdoor seating area. The food here was amazing, and the town does seem to liven up at night - lots of local 'youths' (makes me sound old) hang around at a cafe on scooters. Don't be put off though - they aren't like the kind of young'uns found out at night in the UK at all. There is no nightlife here apart from restaurants, not that I care, but don't expect late night bars or clubs. Also, the town is not near a beach. - Although the rep said the nearest one was within walking distance, yeah, if you want to die of heat exhaustion! We made the mistake of trying the quick '40 minute' treck. Don't do it! It took so long, and it is just too hot (we went in June or July, can't remember which). the beach is stoney and not much there, although in comparison to Pastida it has loads! The taxi back was so cheap it just seemed absurd that we walked there.

The hotel runs a mini bus service to Rhodes Old Town, which is amazing - you must go there. The hotel bus is cheap, but you can get taxis to and from too. There is loads to see in the old town - the harbour, architecture, loads of shops, stalls, restaurants,cafes etc... We went there twice in the end. There is a 'new town' too with more modern shops, but it doesn't have any character like the old part.

Another place to visit in Lindos - the hotel does trips there too. Unfortunately not enough people at the hotel wanted to go there so they couldn't run the trip though - they all wanted to go to Falaraki.... So we got the hotel bus to Rhodes Old Town and got a cheap but to Lindos from there. Lindos is beautiful - but be warned, it is SO HOT. I can't believe people would travel all the way to Rhodes and not bother going there!

We rented quadbikes for a few days from a nearby town - they are easy to drive. We went to Butterfly valley and the seven springs. Warning - they aren't in the best condition. We went on a bumpy route and the chain came off twice as something was broken and had to call them to tow us back. Then we saw the same quad had been rented to someone else at the hotel and had not been fixed.

Okay rambling now... overall: Lovely, quiet location that is close to Rhodes Old Town with plenty to do in the nearby area if you like getting around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

we have just returned from rhodes after having been to garden hotel in october 2012 the weather was brilliant there was only 9 guests in the hotel as it was very quite as it was coming to the end of the season but yet again the rooms are basic they are clean and the maid comes in a couple of times a week to change sheets and towels the food was excellent the best i have had nothing was to much trouble for jenny and everyone speaks to you a very relaxing holiday we are thinking about going back next year in august i would reccommend this hotel to anyone that is thinking about going it is nothing posh but it is good value for money

Room Tip: if you want a double room to sleep 2 you have the choice of a double bed or 2 single beds and i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROTTWEILERRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

First holiday in Rhodes spent at the Garden Hotel between 1 - 8 September. Although flight delayed and did not arrive at hotel until 6am, Eugene was there to meet us with a friendly greeting. Although twin bed room was booked through Thomson we were given a room with double bed. Rooms were basic but very adequate, lots of storage space and full size fridge and was cleaned daily. Followed advice of putting bottles of water in freezer overnight to take out on trips the following day. Food was very good and Jenny always greeted you with a friendly smile as did all the staff.Large pool to relax in with plenty of sunloungers and no loud music heard all the time we were there. Jackie who runs the little mini market at the hotel was very helpful and polite. Pastida village is about 10 mins walk with plenty of places to eat if you want a change from the hotel. The hotel organises various trips to Rhodes, Lindos etc which are a lot cheaper thanThomson. Hired a car for a couple of days this was also arranged by the hotel and the rep brought the car and paperwork to the hotel. A big thank you to Eugene, Jenny, Jackie and staff, for making our stay very enjoyable, we will definitely be returning. Angela and Steve

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

we went to garden hotel from 1st sept to 16th sept 2012,two adults and 7 month old baby, it was our first holiday,we had e mailed the hotel to check we could use there microwave for Tommys bottles. We arrived at 5 am after a delayed flight on thomson otherwise flight ok and room for baby on my lap. on arrival we were greeted by eugene and quickly shown to our room, no 15. a double bed and cot plus another two single beds in another room. after a couple of hours sleep we got up for breakfast,plenty of choice fresh eggs cereal and toast which we called flip flops they were like panini. and warm too plus bacon and juice and tea or coffee all included.The hotel staff cant do enough for you, they made meals for Tommy and while we were there they did meals for toddlers at no extra charge.Lovely big pool and two smaller pools which Tommy loved.The meals are all reasonably priced and we ate the special most nights. it was our anniversary while we were there and jenny made us a cake and cocktails which was very nice.The hotel is surrounded by fruit trees which give plenty of shade but no wasps lurking anywhere. The rooms have aircon 30 euro a week but they also have large fans in the rooms and we never needed the aircon even thou temps were in the 30s. Overall we had a nice relaxing holiday and we will definately go back . big thanks to Jackie who also runs the shop and kept our lilo alive thruout the holiday. so thanks to Eugene,Jenny,Jackie and all the staff at the Garden Hotel

Room Tip: We had room 15 next to the laundry which faced the road but never had any noise from it,and put two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geoff30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the Garden hotel and had a great time. The room was basic but clean. We had clean towels every day and the hotel grounds were immaculate. Jenny and Eugene are great hosts and Jackie who works in the shop is great. Pastida is a lovely little village and the cake shop is great. If you are reading this Jackie, the cake shop comment should tell you who we are.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hullgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just returned from another fantastic stay at the garden hotel. We had a fantastic time as a couple last August that we persuaded some friends to come with us this year. We all had a really relaxing stay and Eugene and Jenny were great hosts.
The rooms were spotless, and cleaned daily also with fresh towels and bedding on a daily basis. We booked direct this time and everything was good. The evening meals were simple, but were fresh and tasty each evening. We can honestly say that there was not one evening meal that we did not enjoy.
All the staff were very friendly and attentive, and Steve / Nicoletta in the bar did a grand job.
Well done to all the staff they are a credit to this small and friendly family run hotel. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing get away from the crowds holiday.
There are some many wonderful places in the world to visit that we do not normally return to the same place twice, but there is a simple magic about this hotel which makes it a must to return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pastida
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
5.0 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
4.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
5.6 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#9 of 70 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: 1 Pastida Maritsa Rd, Pastida 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pastida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GARDEN HOTEL is a family run business which offers a warm and clean environment at low prices. It is ideal for people looking for a peaceful and quiet family atmosphere and good service. It is situated in the Filerimos Valley of Rhodes Island close to the airport.The busy centres of Rhodes and Faliraki are only fifteen minutes away but the Garden Pastida Hotel provides an oasis of calm away fromthe hustle and bustle of those towns . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Pastida
Garden Hotel Rhodes/Pastida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing