We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great time”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

stayed 2 weeks at the garden hotel in September the best holiday we have had rooms very clean owners and staff so helpful and very hard working nothing was to much trouble we will be going back next year cant wait

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I always believe in being positive where I can and there is no doubt that the staff and management at the Garden Hotel are first class. In common with most Greek hotels, the accommodation is quite basic but sufficient for our needs and the addition of a kettle and fridge was a nice touch.Towels are a bit rough, although it was nice to see the bed linen being washed and aired.and we had the novelty of a double bed. Shower was adequate, toilet was typically Greek.

Our room, 76, is to the rear of the hotel which backs onto one of the main roads in Pastida and is therefore quite noisy until late in the evening and often into the early hours.Despite what others have said, the sound of aircraft taking off is noticeable and can disturb your sleep, even with the doors shut.

The biggest let-down for us however was the location. We like to explore the places we visit and despite the fact that the hotel do their own trips, they weren't sufficient for us and the local bus service is at best patchy.

We did however have a great holiday by hiring a car through the hotel for four days, so we could come and go as we pleased.

The food was pretty good but not great. The best part of the breakfast was the fresh eggs laid by their own chickens. Yummy. Evening meals again were pretty good, but I had better elsewhere.

Entertainment laid on by the hotel is standard British pub fayre ie bingo and quiz twice a week and karaoke once a week, together with a traditional night of Greek dancing with the accompaniment of a bouzouki and a keyboard player.

There are two pools to the rear of the hotel, neither of which we used on our visit - I prefer swimming in the sea. A pool table and air hockey table are also available, together with swings for the children.

It is quite apparent that many guests return year after year to sample the hospitality but,
unfortunately, despite the best efforts of the staff, the Garden is not for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, as my perception is that these rooms were quieter, although you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my wife are in our mid 20's and wanted a relaxing week in the sun, and this hotel was ideal. It's a 17 euro taxi ride from the airport and takes around 10-15mins.

The village of Pastida is a lovely little place with enough to keep you entertained. There's a few nice restaurants, cafes, bars and a cool cake shop too. It takes about 5 mins to walk there from the hotel.

The hotel is well maintained and clean and has everything you need. It's basic but if you're after a week in the sun it's all you will need. Our room had a fridge (no charge), shower, air con is 7euro a day or 30 for the week charge, but our room had a fan and it was mid september so we didn't need it. (Was about 28c most days) We also had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs.

The pool area is quite big and the pool has a diving board and it is deep enough to use, 2.5m.
The hotel does grow a lot of it's own fruit and also have hens, which was something different!

There's free wifi in the bar area, the bar had a good selection of spirits and the hotel restaurant did good 3 course meals for 10 euros per person. The hotel also has a minibus which takes you to places like rhodes town, falaraki beach and lindos for a small fee on certain days.

We took the service bus to rhodes town which was only 4.60 euros each way or two of us and took about 40mins. The bus stops opposite the hotel and the hotel tell you the timetable.

Rhodes town is well worth a visit, especially the old town which is stunningly beautiful with loads of great restaurant to choose from.

Overall, a great holiday for what we paid. It's not luxury but it has everything you need. The friendly atmosphere, nice surroundings and staff make it a really great place to stay and we would go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owen1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for a week with my partner from the 12th to the 19th of September 2013 - We are quite a young couple but wanted to avoid the "party" side of the island, and we chose the right place. We were greeted with a warm welcome and complimentary beer on arrival! We were slightly disappointed that there were no self catering rooms available, but this was such a minor hiccup as we often ate at the hotel and the food was more than satisfactory! The specials menu was our choice most times, consisted of 3 courses for 10 euros each! The bar was very reasonably priced too, and everyone working at the hotel was friendly and took an interest. We were unfortunate enough to lose a wallet in Rhodes town, and everyone was very sympathetic and did all they could to help. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you into Rhodes town for 2.60 euros, takes around 40 minutes - Rhodes town is lovely, I would highly recommend paying a visit to old town. The hotel also offers a mini bus service to Rhodes town, Lindos, the water park and more. We went with the mini bus service to Lindos as the local bus would have taken too long for our liking - well worth doing to see the acropolis! The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous - two pools, a jacuzzi and a pool table surrounded by grape vines and other vegetation such as pomegranates and limes. There's a yard full of chickens too, and a few vocal cockerels I personally didn't mind hearing every now and then. There's also a Bingo and quiz night, as well as BBQs and a mini market! Pastida as a village has a few restaurants worth visiting and is only a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel. All in all, we had a lovely time and felt massively welcome by all the staff - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loz_fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Have just got back from a one week break and have to say this hotel was excellent.

The food is lovely and at 20 euros with a 1/2 litre of wine the gourmet meal was excellent value for money.

The staff were friendly and so helpful. The shower room is a wetroom so no need for shower enclosures. Room was a bit small but for the amount of time we were in it it wasnt an issue.

Pool area and restaurant area were lovely and the shade under the grapes was heaven on a warm afternoon. Enjoyed the greek night not sure my back did ...:)

Will definitely book again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dasiemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in July and were looked after from the minute we arrived. We always choose self catering accommodation with the intention of trying out different restaurants in the resort in which we're staying but apart from one evening, we ate all of our meals at the Garden as the food was so good, along with the service. The pool was just perfect and we started each day with a swim before breakfast. The air con was amazing and much appreciated in the searing heat. We particularly enjoyed the Greek night and made use of the organised trips. No complaints about our room, yes it was basic but it was cleaned every day and we went on holiday for some sun, not to sit indoors all day. Have raved about this hotel to all our friends and we are very keen to return at some time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well, what can be said that hasn't already been said? We arrived home in the early hours of this morning and would go back tonight if we could. If smiles and friendliness could be bottled, the Staff at the Garden would cause a world shortage of glass. From the moment we arrived it was friendliness all the way, what a wonderful group of people. As has been said, the Greek Night is brilliant , the Dancers worked so hard and got nearly everyone to join in , one of the best Greek Nights I have been on.
Safe deposit boxes are available in the Reception, but are not needed , and the Air Conditioning is as said, 30 Euros for 7 days, cheaper than we have seen anywhere, but as each room has a Fan, it may not be needed.

We didn't hear any complaints from anyone and judging by the amount of people who go back year after year(21 years in one case),they must be doing something right.
The Cakes in the shop in the Village really are to die for. Don't miss them, you can diet later. The Restaurants in the Village are very similar In price and quality , so pick either, you wont go wrong, But don't forget the cakes.(They also sell small ice-cream wonders, in the fridge on the left as you go in, try them ). And Gianni's for drinks .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Pool are obviously the best , but you wont spend much time in the rooms anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pastida
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#8 of 126 in Rhodes Town
691 reviews
5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
4.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#8 of 70 in Faliraki
356 reviews
4 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: 1 Pastida Maritsa Rd, Pastida 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pastida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Price Range: £19 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GARDEN HOTEL is a family run business which offers a warm and clean environment at low prices. It is ideal for people looking for a peaceful and quiet family atmosphere and good service. It is situated in the Filerimos Valley of Rhodes Island close to the airport.The busy centres of Rhodes and Faliraki are only fifteen minutes away but the Garden Pastida Hotel provides an oasis of calm away fromthe hustle and bustle of those towns . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Pastida
Garden Hotel Rhodes/Pastida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing