We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Hotel - Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Garden Hotel - Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I chose this hotel based on the reviews and the price of the holiday and all I can say it was completely worth every penny. My boyfriend and I who are in our early twenties got to the hotel and straight away we were felt welcome. They gave us a free drink and took us to our room. It is a family run hotel which is nice as it feels more welcoming that way, there are no Thomson reps staying at the hotel. When we arrived it was 2am but it was 27 degrees! Most daytimes it was around 30 degrees, the weather was beautiful! Every single staff member is polite and makes and effort to make sure everyone is ok. I would recommend going Half Board because you get breakfast and an amazing three course meal for dinner, all food is fresh and most of the vegetables are grown at the hotel. They have apricot trees which you can just pick and eat off, they also have vines everywhere where they make their own wine, which is very tasty! They often bring you free nachos or cake with dinner or if you are having a drink. The maids tidied the rooms everyday, and again they were very friendly. They have a lovely pool with a diving board and slide, they also have a children's pool too. Everyone, even the people who stay there seem really friendly and I know a lot of people go back there every year. I felt welcome by everyone and I think because everyone was so relaxed people were willing to be friendly. The hotel definitely wants everyone to have a good time. The hotel is a bit out of the way but I would not worry about that as there are buses to town and also the hotel do their own excursions for sight seeing, much cheaper than Thomson excursions. I paid a reasonable price to be taken to a couple of places. I would recommend going to the Old Town in Rhodes, it is simply beautiful. I would recommend this hotel for all ages, from couples to families! It is for people who want a relaxing holiday around friendly people. I will definitely go back one day!

Room Tip: Our room faced the Garden and pool, I would recommend this if you want to do a lot of sunbathing; yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    89
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
88
261
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned after our first visit to this lovely hotel.If u want quiet easy living this is your place.From start to finish we loved this hotel.The staff were excellent,the rooms were imaculately clean and the food was great.All the facilities were available and the pools were exceptional.All the staff were friendly and would do anything for you.The owners ensured everything was done to your approval.Easy access from hotel and no background noise.The evening entertainment was great,we laughed every night and stayed up just to be with people we had made friends with during the week.I cannot commend this hotel highly enough.We will be back.Rooms were fine,we did not need to use air con as large fan in the room was enough.We wanted quiet relaation and that was what we got.Thank you to everyone for an excellent week.Great for all ages,everything was easily accessable and the hotel trips were great value.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have benefits,ie some were quieter,some overlooked pool,just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCOLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My grandaughter and I enjoyed a weeks stay at the Garden Hotel during August last year, what a lovely place to stay, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome as everyone was so friendly, rooms cleaned daily, food served was fresh and tasty and pool and gardens beautifully maintained, we are returning to The Garden again but for two weeks this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Garden Hotel in a little village in Pastida Rhodes. What a lovely and friendly place this is. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, each and everyone of the staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay one of the best weeks we have ever spent abroad. Yes the rooms are basic but you aren't there to spend your holiday in a room! The pool(s), gardens, bar and every one of this pleasant and relaxing accommodations' staff make this the holiday you have paid for, so try it and I am sure you will return again - I know we will.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Sandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked a last minute holiday (our first in 2 years) and thought we'd play it safe by going back to Rhodes which we loved on a previous holiday. This time we stayed at the Garden hotel and were pleasantly surprised, in spite of what some reviewers wrote about it.

Yes, the mattresses were "back-breaking" (i.e. uneven and springs poking through), BUT: inspite of me having had a very back back for the 2 months preceding the holiday, this was quickly fixed on day 2 by placing a 4 Euro straw beach mat under the sheet and I slept like a baby for the rest of our 2 weeks there. It was wonderfully quiet at night, in spite of the main road nearby, and much better than the North-west of the island where landing and departing aero-planes at kept us up on our previous visit to the island (we were staying at Ialissos back then).

Keep windows shut at all cost after dark, however, or else the mosquitoes and crowing cockerel will keep you up all night! When we were there (late May, early June), luckily temperatures were just right, so no need for aircon.

The meal portions were not huge, but that may be thought of as a plus when considering that we put on 5kg on a previous Greek holiday... We were B&B and mainly ate at one of the local tavernas. Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice and fruit from the hotel's own impeccably maintained orchards as well as well as eggs from their own free range hens running around all day among the orange trees. There were 3 basic breakfasts advertised, but they were very flexible and friendly in allowing us to pick and choose from all to make our own, including preparing (at prior request the night before) a delicious jacket potato to fuel our lengthy excursions (we don't eat bread). The only downside was that one day the gardener sprayed the fruit trees, showing no sign of ailing or infestation, whilst in full fruit (including apricots subsequently showing white dried on droplets), not sure what with, but it left us a little chary of the breakfast fruit after.

The hotel's air-conditioned minibus offers good value for money drop-off and pick-up to several destinations on a (rotational) daily basis. The Greek night was great fun and included quality entertainment from a local dance squad and band - beware audience participation is almost impossible to avoid... ;-)

Everything is kept impeccably clean and we were very comfortable. In comment to another review: okay, the towels are hard, but personally I prefer that as they dry better, and yes, the shower room does get wet when you shower (beware of slipping and use a towel on the floor after!), so a squeegee wouldn't have gone amiss...

The pools too are cleaned and maintained virtually daily and in excellent condition, the sun-loungers were basic but perfect for my back, so no reason for complaint there. It was very peaceful lying by the pool, shaded by fruit trees if you wished listening to an audio-book, MP3 or reading.

All in all we had a fab relaxing time and would certainly recommend the place and go back there ourselves. It's family run, staff are extremely genuine and friendly and helpful, including the lady who runs the shop and we can only thank them all for the wonderful holiday they made possible, it really did us the world of good, restored and nourished us after a stressful time at home.

Room Tip: If you get a choice an upstairs room overlooking the pool and garden is nice. Lovely view of the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

First off, unlike some other posts, I found this hotel to be completely clean, our room was cleaned without fail to a high standard every morning.
Pastida has a couple of supermarkets, 2 bars and 5 restaurants- all of which are worth a visit.
The hotel offers bus journeys at a cost to various sites (Rhodes, Lindos and different beaches etc) on most days.
Huge, well kept swimming pool although not enough sun loungers when hotel is very busy but not the end of the world.
We are in our early 30's and wanted a quiet break so this was great for us, however most guests at the hotel were older than us which is fine however we did experience some grimaces from the 'regulars' around the pool for daring to be younger! If you can ignore that then this is a fab hotel as on the whole, most people are nice.
The breakfast is pleasant enough with eggs fresh from the chickens, a nice touch.
We loved Rhodes so would probably stay at this hotel again in future

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a week in June. All these recent good reviews seem pretty accurate. The staff and owners are lovely people. Attentive, friendly and hard working. Our room was basic and clean. Everything was in working order. The pool and outdoor dining area are lovely. So is the bar and lounge. HOWEVER......We were very disappointed with the evening meal on half board. A set first course and dessert, with only 2 choices of main course. Also, the portions served were minimal leading to much snacking in our room at night. We have had much better quality food before on 3 star. If you have a large appetite you will struggle. We must add though, that we were offered seconds on 2 occasions during our stay.Breakfast is also minimal but we found it adequate and tasty. The single worst issue we had with the garden hotel was our sleep quality. We have livestock and cockerels next door at home and we have coped fine with the dawn chorus for years. Probably because we are up early for work.But for some reason it really got at us at the garden hotel. It started at 3.30 am and you really will need earplugs. The noise from the main road is also a real nuisance. All in all, the garden hotel is ok, but the recent reviews may mislead you a bit.

Room Tip: Upper room to give you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robagil2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pastida
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.0 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
4.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.6 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#9 of 72 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: 1 Pastida Maritsa Rd, Pastida 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pastida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GARDEN HOTEL is a family run business which offers a warm and clean environment at low prices. It is ideal for people looking for a peaceful and quiet family atmosphere and good service. It is situated in the Filerimos Valley of Rhodes Island close to the airport.The busy centres of Rhodes and Faliraki are only fifteen minutes away but the Garden Pastida Hotel provides an oasis of calm away fromthe hustle and bustle of those towns . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Pastida
Garden Hotel Rhodes/Pastida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing