We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peacefull stay”
Review of Samaina Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samaina Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Karlovasi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“peacefull stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Samina inn hotel is a small very well run business were all the staff seemed to work hard and we were made to feel very welcome by everyone from the staff on reception to the staff in the restaurant through to the managers.
The food in the restaurant was excellent for breakfast ,lunch and dinner always fresh with a very good selection of local produce the staff all worked hard and the manager clearly watched his team and got the best out of them .
We had a room with a lovely view over the hillside which was very quiet and comfortable and kept spotless .
The usual thing let the pool area down, all the chairs had towels on and plenty just sat there all morning with no one using them ,we decided not to let this wind us up so went to the beach for the morning and came back to the pool mid afternoon when the chairs became free .
All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back this hotel provides everything you need for a very relaxing break .

Room Tip: You have three areas for rooms overlooking sea ,overlooking the pool or overlooking the hillside we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's services.

Every department works very hard to meet our guests expectations.

We noticed that you mentioned the sunbeds on the pool being occupied by towels. Because of this inconvience we decided to create a policy concerning the issue that would resolved the problem.

We look forward to your next visit at Samaina Inn Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Elli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    77
    21
    12
    0
See reviews for
98
80
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Karlovassi is not a well developed resort, and abandoned tanneries can give it a run down feel but if you want a genuine working town and port this spot is ideal. A car would be useful for a few days and I found Happy Cars just along the road gave a good deal, with no hidden extras. The hotel staff really make one feel welcome from the moment one arrives and seem genuinely pleased to assist. The rooms are of good size with large balconies, fridge at no extra charge and are cleaned thoroughly. The restaurant is buffet service with an excellent choice of tasty food well presented ( a lot of guests are on all inclusive deals). One can eat outside.There is live entertainment at night, day time activities and children are especially well catered for. The pool area is a little crowded with towels being put on sunbeds early in the morning and this is really the only minus point to not giving this hotel 'excellent'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to read your comments. Thank you for sharing them. Karlovasi is indeed a very authentic Greek town with no tourist traps. It is the ideal spot for a traveler who is eager to discover a new culture while on vacation.

Our staff is just as authentic. They have been providing the hotel with service for many years and truly care for the guests comfort.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all of our services.

We considered your suggestion and we have decided to place signs around the pool area to request that guests no longer leave their towels on the sunbeds unattended. We also have placed additional sunbeds to accommodate more guests.

Thank you again for all of your comments they were very helpful to us.
We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Kind Regards,
Elli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Plus:
Great staff
Cleaing was perfect
Well-managed tennis court which was available for free
Good breakfast

Minus:
The "beach" outside the hotel
Poor sleeping quality (mainly due the beds)
Not so good working wifi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonatanSilvlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and suggestions with us.

It is always good to hear that our staff is exceeding guest expectations with their remarkable service. Be sure that we will pass on your kind words to the staff.

It was unfortunate however that our new mattresses had not arrived during your stay with us. However, we can assure your next visit to be a more comfortable one.

We understand that you experienced some trouble with our WiFi. With mobile media constantly changing, we are always looking to find solutions to meet guest demand for reliable, consistent in-building coverage. Unfortunately, there are some factors involved that remain out of our control.
As noted in an article from hotelexecutive.com, devices like IPhone are being sold a number of years without expanding their networks to absorb the capacity required to support the demand.

Since there is an ever increasing number of W-Fi enabled devices, along with an ever increasing demand for bandwidth to support the particular activity of a user, it will require a hotel to periodically enhance its Wi-Fi network to support the multitude of devices, as well as continue to spend more money on increased bandwidth.

Many hotels compensate for this by raising room rates or charging for increased bandwidth and only offering low bandwidth (typical e-mail communication) for free. Another factor that is challenging is the architecture of the building itself.

The building materials and design are such that walls and columns block a large portion of an otherwise good signal. This is true throughout many European countries. However, we choose to keep Wi-Fi free and unlimited. We do offer a Desktop in our office and Ethernet connection for guests to hook up their devices when necessary.

Thank you for all your comments they were of great service to us.

Kind Regards,

Elli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely small hotel in a pieceful beach road. Very good breakfast and dinner, authentic Greek food and delicacies. We were there for three night as a basecamp for hiking, but if you are not on a hiking trip, there seemed to be plenty to do at there hotel. Nice pool, bikes for rent, yoga classes etc. Our room was nice. No luxury, but very nice and plenty of space. Absolutely wonderful staff whom I have to thank for our lovely visit. Such a friendly place, you will feel like home there.

In case you want action, you can go to the Neo Karlovassi (the new part of the town). It takes about 30-40 minutes by foot to get there but the route is pretty and you can stop for a drink on the way (lovely taverns). You can also go to the Paleo Karlovassi, the old part of the town - very nice indeed and great view!

This was a time when the season just had started, so not a lot of places are open and it is a bit tricky to find activities/shops in case you plan your own activities. That said - there are also no tourists around and it is an experience when you are there just by yourself :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthropol_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Our mission at Samaina Inn is to provide all the services and needs of our guests with genuine care. Creating the ideal vacation for each individual guest is our goal. Above all, we want you to feel at home.

We gladly will take the time to assist each guest with creating a personalized vacation plan according to their wishes with excursions, activities ,party planning , and even romance!

We are more than happy to hear that we've accomplished this very important goal!

We look forward to your next visit on another hiking adventure, or holiday at Samaina Inn!

Kindest Regards,
Elli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed in the two floor suite which comfortably housed 7 people, 5 adults and 2 children. The food was superb, gourmet. The live music was the best on the island especially the violin player Vassili Sarantou and the group.

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony facing the Aegean so you can see the South shore of Chios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you kindly for sharing your vacation with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our live music nights. We try to provide guests with a variety of events so that there is never a dull moment.

We hope to see you again soon and please don't hesitate to remind us of your preferance to our rooms overlooking the Aegean!

Kind Regard,
Elli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed with our daughter at the Samaina Inn during early September. What a truly great experience! The staff was attentive and courteous to all the hotel guests; they made you feel at home and like family. The receptionist was there to answer any and all concerns of the hotel guests. The food was a delight. There was something new everyday and everything was tasty. We had a room facing the beach and it was a fantastic view. We woke up and went to bed with the sound of the sea for a week. The room was spacious and clean and it was cleaned daily. The beach was clean and just accross the street from the hotel. Samos is a beautiful island that allows for a truly authentic experience of life in Greece. You need to get out and explore this island, so we rented a car and saw everything the island had to offer and met some really nice people along the way. We were happy to stay in Karlovasi because we got to enjoy the slower pace of the island without feeling crowded by tourists. I would highly reccomend the hotel and a visit to Karlovassi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GiaS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for sharing your comments with us.

It is always great to hear that we are doing a great job tending to our guests needs and providing them with all they need for a memorable vacation.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Elli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed with our two daughters for a week and didnt want to leave. where should we to start? from the welcoming staff? the great food or the location of this hotel? we really loved the fact that karlovasi is not a very crowded place. it felt people havent discover this papadise yet. we loved our bike rides to potami and our afternoon coffee at the port. yes sure there are many beautiful places in greece but samos is one of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vdilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaina_Hospitality, Front Office Manager at Samaina Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your wonderful comments!

We are glad that you had taken advantage of our free Bike tours, it is a wonderful way to enjoy the island and our Margarita Children's Club is always more than happy to provide parents with some time on their own, while the children play and create great crafts.

We look forward to your next visit at Samaina Inn.

Kind Regards,
Elli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlovasi
6.1 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Marathokampos
168 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
593 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
139 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
358 reviews
9.9 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaina Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaina Inn Hotel

Property: Samaina Inn Hotel
Address: Kanari Konstadinou, Karlovasi 832 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Karlovasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Karlovasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaina Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaina Inn Hotel is directly across from the Aegean Sea. Featuring 130 newly refurnished rooms,a weekly activity & wellness program, live music events at the bar,Margarita kid's club,All Inclusive program, and thematic dinner nights. Our mission is to provide exceptional service for an ideal vacation experience with genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Samaina Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaina Hotel Karlovasi
Samaina Inn Hotel Samos, Greece - Karlovasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing