We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't like it very much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“didn't like it very much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I thought this hotel was quite strange. There was so much clutter everywhere and it gave me the creeps. The lighting in our bedroom was very poor. It was very clean though. The bar was very dark and - like the rest of the hotel - it was packed with stuff. The meal we had in the bar was poor and definately not worth the price. Breakfast was very good.The views from the hotel are lovely but the location is remote. I think this hotel is best suited to hill walkers rather than tourists although it is near Kylemore Abbey which is tremendous. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    20
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is set in beautiful surroundings with spectacular views. It is absolutely spotless inside. However, every nook and cranny is packed with 'things' - books,ornaments,plates,pictures,old bottles,teddies etc etc. Nothing matches and everything clashes and I found it overloaded the senses. Now that is just my personal opinion and others might like it! Stuart was very friendly, helpful and professional and he seemed to be doing everything. He was in the bar at night and serving breakfast and doing reception the next morning.We had a meal in the bar and it was just ok and a bit pricey for what it was. Breakfast was first class, Dogs are welcome which is a big plus for dog owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

We called in for some food whilst staying in the area. The staff were friendly enough but the food felt a little over priced for an average bar meal, eaten in a dark grubby feeling bar. We wouldn't have thought to return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire5975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Like a much loved grandmother's house this hotel is warm, cosy and absolutely spotless!! The owners are extremely welcoming and waking up to the mountains is the best way to start any day. It was too short a stay this time but we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I and my family have spend few days in Kylemore Pass Hotel, and we've really enjoyed our stay. The owners, Rose and Stuart are really nice and have always time for speak with us and propose some wlaks or activities to do.
Rooms are clean and cute, and the restaurant food is succulent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hervoin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

great food good guinness staff lovely rose and stewart great hosts will be returning next year to seat in front of the fire and have a few more glasses of guinness. loved the place as did our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gednfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

we stay there nearly every year for over 22 years now with the family, the area is amazing, quiet, relaxing, takes your mind off the fast paced city life and allows you to relax. the staff are brilliant. Stuart and Rose have been friends of the family for years and have great knowledge of the areas and can tell you where the best places to go are for whatever your needs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlsmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kylemore
7.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
5.7 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylemore Pass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylemore Pass Hotel

Property: Kylemore Pass Hotel
Address: Kylemore Connemara | Connemara on the Wild Atlantic Way, Kylemore 000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kylemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of north west Connemara on the Wild Atlantic Way at Junction of R344 and N59. Magnificent mountain scenery, the family owned Kylemore Pass Hotel is an ideal base for touring, walking, fishing, cycling, painting, or just a quiet, relaxing break. Near Kylemore-Abbey, Connemara-National-Park, Killary-Fjord and Leenane. The excellent range of meals available in the restaurant and bar includes vegetarian dishes featuring fresh, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kylemore Pass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing