We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Been here a couple of times for dinner with friends and cannot fault neither the food nor the service. Had a friend's leaving do in the Sailor's Bar here and it was brilliant, plenty to choose from on the menu and so tasty. One in our group is a coeliac and the had no problem accommodating her dietary needs.
They had an Indian themed night on last summer and the food there made me wish for a bigger stomach! Amazingly tasty and authentic, just fabulous. It's a lovely spot for a nice relaxing dinner with friends and a few drinks afterwards. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akaasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Kylemore Pass Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed only one night, more than a year ago (July 2011). We had enough of the expensive hotels, without any character, felt disappointed each time... So we tried the Kylemore Pass Hotel. The atmosphere was very nice, so enjoyable, nice jazz-music, room in nice colours with lots of stuff that made us feel welcome. Bathroom was very small, but everything was provided and it was clean. We slept very good and peaceful - because of the relaxing atmosphere I guess. Breakfast was very good, too. Everything we needed was provided and served with a smile.
More than a year after we were there, I still think of it with a smile. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOOKLIKEME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stopped off here on Saturday evening of August Bank Holiday weekend for dinner. 3 of us, each had different main course and all 3 were bad. The "breast of chicken" was not cooked and was pink in the middle. We said this to the waiter/barman, who changed it, but it was a piece of processed chciken in breadcrumbs rather than breast of chicken. The fish and chips was the best of a bad lot but chips were not good and the side salad was limp and un appetising. The lamb stew we had was also obviously frozen as the meat was solid and could not be eaten. We left a lot of the meals on the plate. We were not asked were we happy. Got the impression they knew we were not but they were afriad to ask. They dropped the chciken off the bill but did not even present us with a bill so we only found out when we asked to see the bill and they had taken it off. The waiter/barman seemed like the son of the owner and was pleasant. The owner if it was him came in while we were in the middle of our meal. But his only contribution was a glance on passing and to check if his son knew what he was doing when we were paying by visa card.
The location of the Kylemore Pass is lovely, great views, and it is a lovely place for a drink, but based on our experience, all agreed it was the worst meal we had in years, we would advise against any food here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glencor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

While en route to Westport from Galway my wife and I stopped for lunch here. We each had a sandwich and coke. The bill came to €16.50????? The sandwiches were €4.50 each for for two fillings and an extra €1 to have one toasted. There was no salad garnish - unless you call half a tomato a garnish. At a time when hotels claim to be struggling, surely offering value for money is a must. We won't be visiting here again. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and it was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Shanefitzgibbon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

After spending the day at Kylemore Abbey, we ducked into the Kylemore Pass Hotel to escape the weather. We were so happy they had food and a bar so we didn't have to head back out. We enjoyed everything about the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaJa1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent four days here and enjoyed every moment. Great staff, helpful and forthcoming with advice, tips and very welcoming. Perfectly situated and with stunning views if the weather is nice! It is a perfect base for exploring the Connemara region and the hotel/restaurant seems to be a good local attraction.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I thought this hotel was quite strange. There was so much clutter everywhere and it gave me the creeps. The lighting in our bedroom was very poor. It was very clean though. The bar was very dark and - like the rest of the hotel - it was packed with stuff. The meal we had in the bar was poor and definately not worth the price. Breakfast was very good.The views from the hotel are lovely but the location is remote. I think this hotel is best suited to hill walkers rather than tourists although it is near Kylemore Abbey which is tremendous. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kylemore
10.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
734 reviews
5.7 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
869 reviews
13.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
299 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylemore Pass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylemore Pass Hotel

Address: Kylemore Connemara | Connemara on the Wild Atlantic Way, Kylemore 000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kylemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylemore
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of north west Connemara on the Wild Atlantic Way at Junction of R344 and N59. Magnificent mountain scenery, the family owned Kylemore Pass Hotel is an ideal base for touring, walking, fishing, cycling, painting, or just a quiet, relaxing break. Near Kylemore-Abbey, Connemara-National-Park, Killary-Fjord and Leenane. The excellent range of meals available in the restaurant and bar includes vegetarian dishes featuring fresh, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kylemore Pass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing