We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the lady in the ticket booth”

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.27*
and up
Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin
More Info
US$129.21*
and up
Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin
More Info
US$65.20*
and up
Connemara and Cong Village Day Trip from Dublin with Kylemore Abbey and Killary...
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in a dramatic landscape, Kylemore is an ideal destination for a day out. From it’s beginnings as a romantic gift in the 1860s to becoming home to the Benedictine Nuns in 1920, Kylemore is steeped in history and tales of tragedy, romance, engineering initiatives, model farms, royal visits, spirituality and education. Experience the Victorian atmosphere of the restored rooms of the abbey and gothic church. Explore the magical Victorian Walled Garden, nature trails and woodland walks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame about the lady in the ticket booth”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A fabulous place to visit and I was pleased to revisit but very disappointed with the manner of the sales person in the ticket booth near the entrance, a simple enquiry about group discount met with a very irritate answer. I did not have a problem that we did not qualify it was the manner in which the response came which was and is my issue. Thankfully all other staff redeemed our experience so hopefully this lady was having a bad day, but remember first impressions are lasting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KylemoreAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Anne M,
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review and we are glad that overall you had a positive experience with us here at Kylemore. Our apologies for the less than courteous behaviour of the lady in the ticket booth. We will check the staff roster for that day and have a word with the lady in question. We are glad that the other staff managed to redeem the visit for you. Customer service is very important to us and we try to ensure that every visitor receives a warm welcome and friendly service. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,382
    679
    229
    82
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
345 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Overpriced with no justification”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The building is very nice and impressive from the outside. What you see from the inside is dull. You can admire the building from distance without paying the very high entrance fee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KylemoreAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Nadi and thank you for your review.
It is not quite clear from your review weather you spent much time on the estate or if you just visited the Abbey. Over priced with no justification seems like a very strong remark especially when you gave your visit a high rating. I would just like to point out that our ticket prices would compare very favourably with other similar attractions in Ireland. The ticket price allows entry to the whole estate which as well as the Abbey (which we admit we are only able to give limited access to) includes the Neo Gothic Church, the Mausoleum, extensive walks and the Victorian Walled Garden. The History talks which take place three times a day, the garden tour (once a day) and the audio visual presentations are also included in the ticket prize so we believe this offers great value for money. Thank you again for coming to visit our estate and taking the time to write your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
329 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“a must see”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Kylemore Abby is an excellent stop, the Abby, the history briefing, the scenery, the gardens are all too good to describe here. Well woth a visit, to do the Abby and gardens justice at least 3 hours is required, maybe 4 plus if you have time available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was an awesome place to visit. Beautiful scenery and a stunning Abbey. The gardens were impressive,one needs to take into account though that work is still being done to restore the old hot houses and parts of the garden.The cafeteria at the gardens wasn't great, but the quality and variety of the food served at the restaurant at the abbey was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice gardens but impossible to enjoy due to gas leaf blowers & hedge trimmers.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were very disappointed during our recent visit to Kylemore Abbey & Gardens. We arrived at 2 pm on a beautiful sunny day. As we headed to the abbey there was a very loud leaf blower just outside the front door. We thought it was just an anomaly. The house itself is lovely and has very interesting history.

Next we headed to the walled gardens and were shocked to find that we could barely understand the tour guide due to her limited grasp of English and the buzzing hedge trimmers.

We ran into a manager later and mentioned the distraction of the power tools. She was very dismissive and just said "it's a working garden." With 17 hours of daylight at this time of year, I think they could avoid using loud gas powered equipment at the main viewing hours.

The gardens had some beautiful areas and we tried to enjoy the herbaceous borders but just couldn't concentrate with all the loud equipment. My first visit years ago left me with a wonderful impression. Sadly I can't say the same about this visit and I will not visit again in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BookWormTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KylemoreAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Book Worm Travels
Thank you very much for your recent trip advisor review. I agree that your experience was marred by the noisy machinery. Firstly to the leaf blower on the area near the Abbey. We do indeed have restrictions on what times this type of noisy work should be carried out, so I will be following up to see why it was still being done at 2pm. Every effort is usually made to have this type of work completed early in the day.
As for the walled gardens, I am sure you can appreciate there is a huge amount of work that has to be carried out in this area, not all of which can be completed by early morning. However I will pass your review onto the head gardener as a peaceful experience is exactly what we want to offer throughout the estate.
The garden tours are usually carried out by Senior Garden members but our student gardeners do sometimes step in if these are not available. I will personally follow up on this to ensure that a high quality experience is guaranteed. The garden tour would usually add greatly to your enjoyment and experience of the gardens and their history so I am glad you have brought your experience to my attention so that I can ensure that for other visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing