We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot, don't miss the walled garden”

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.89*
and up
Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in a dramatic landscape, Kylemore is an ideal destination for a day out. From it’s beginnings as a romantic gift in the 1860s to becoming home to the Benedictine Nuns in 1920, Kylemore is steeped in history and tales of tragedy, romance, engineering initiatives, model farms, royal visits, spirituality and education. Experience the Victorian atmosphere of the restored rooms of the abbey and gothic church. Explore the magical Victorian Walled Garden, nature trails and woodland walks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice spot, don't miss the walled garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Went in August 2014 as part of a Railtours Ireland group. The grounds are very beautiful, The abbey itself is a truly amazing building with a rich history, first as a private home and then as a school. You only get the chance to see quite a small bit of the inside of the building, which is a bit disappointing, but the walled garden makes up for this. It is about a mile up to this garden, but there is a shuttle bus which runs about every 15 minutes. We were a bit pressed for time. If you are going in your own vehicle I would suggest giving yourself about three hours to see it properly, particularly if you wish to use the restaurant. I cannot comment on it as I did not have time to join the big queue for food. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    626
    211
    74
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Pristine grounds and gardens surround this beautiful building. Story about building is quite amazing. Gardens and flowers are all fantastic Strongly advise visiting and make sure you give yourself plenty of time to take it all in.Bring your own lunch food was not good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dotboy3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Professional tourist attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The grounds, abbey and walled gardens were very picturesque. We thought there would be more to walk around inside. We arrived at about 1015, just before the mad rush of coach trips, we left about 2 pm when the place was getting busy, so time your visit early if you to avoid crowds. There is a shuttle bus to the walled garden else this is a pleasant 15 Minute (1.6km approx) walk.tea room at the walled garden was good quality too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank robal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Abbey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Abbey was a lovely visit and great views and walks around the gardens and lakes, the history attached to the Abbey is a wonderful experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmcnamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Connemarra and Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The coach tour of Connemarra provided lots of beautiful Irish countryside, complete with sheep, cattle, and horses within stone-walled pastures. We even caught an Irish farmer herding sheep with his dog! We passed Ireland's only fjord, Killary Fjord, which was a surprisingly new piece of information for me! The little village of Cong was not nearly as cute as many we'd seen, but interesting in that John Wayne's A Quiet Man was filmed there. Earlier in the tour, we'd passed the bridge famous for some scenes in the movie. We also stopped at a ruined friary site, which was fun to see. But the Kylemore Abbey was a bit of a disappointment in that, like so many mansions and abbeys and castles you visit in Europe, only a few of its rooms were open to the public. In addition, other than some interesting fireplaces, I found the furnishings to be uninteresting, dark and drab. The outside was impressive, the grounds beautiful, the history very interesting...just wish we could've viewed the entire abbey. Still, the viewing of the countryside, Lake Comb with its hundreds of islands, and the houses and livestock along the tour were worth it to me.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sigma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing