We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Colombieres
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We stayed in the Chateau for two nights in September. The family was so warm. Charles, the count's son (who speaks very good english) gave us a lovely tour of the chateau upon our arrival. The place is amazing. Its so old and had an emense history including being very involved in WWII. Its wonderfly restored and the rooms are spacious and comfortable, with fresh flowers from the garden. We enjoyed this chateau, breakfast in the dining room made you feel very important. The breakfast was also really great, with fresh squeezed orange juice:) We would stay here again and reccomend it to anyone who wants a lovely change from hotel travel.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank nessie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Colombieres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2007

You awaken in a 14th century tower bedroom, look out the large window and see ducks and geese swimming in your moat. Are you still dreaming? No, you're at Chateau de Colombieres.

With a little over an hour to Mont St. Michel and approx. 15 minutes to Omaha Beach, Chateau de Colombieres is the ideal base for touring Normandy. We stayed in the Suite de la Tour which consisted of two separate rooms -- a living room area with a huge working fireplace and a bedroom with attached bath. Both rooms were quite large, beautifully decorated, clean and inviting.

You are not just a person renting a room -- you are a guest in someone's home. Your host and hostess make you feel very special and insist on knowing how they could make it even more magical. Our stay started with a glass of wine in the Chateau's courtyard with the owner to welcome us. Each morning, we took breakfast in the formal dining room at the Chateau. A wonderful Continental breakfast with fresh baked breads, yogurts, fruit, juice, coffee and homemade hot chocolate. Yummy!

On a particularly chilly day, we returned to our room and discovered that someone had been thoughtful enough to turn on the heater in the bedroom. It was enough to take the chill out of the air and we truly appreciated the gesture.

I would recommend the Chateau to any romantic or historian. Both would be delighted at such a find. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No_Camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

My wife and I spent two nights at the Chateau de Colombieres during our honeymoon. Our time and the Chateau was the most enjoyable aspect of our entire marvellous trip.

The accomodations are wonderful. We were housed in the Chambre Louis XVI, which was large and elegant.

The Count and Countess de Maupeou, were the perfect hosts. Count de Maupeou was so generous with his time and hospitality. I could not image a more knowledgable or gracious host. He takes enormous pride in the history and heritage of the Chateau, and was more than happy to recount both the sites and his families history to my wife and I.

As other guests have mentioned during the evening the Chateau is lit up which makes for a very romantic stroll around the grounds. My wife couldn't help but feel like a fairy tale princess given the surroundings.

The location does provide a very convenient central base from which some of the most interesting Normandy sites (Bayeux, D-Day Landing Beaches, Mont St Michel) can easily be accessed and explored. The area immediately around Colombieres is well worth exploring as well, as it offers lush countryside and interesting marshland.

If your planning a trip to the Normandy region, do yourself a favour and make sure you spend a few nights at this wonderful Chateau.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

This was actually my second visit to the chateau. I stayed there seven years ago and loved it so much I had to go back! I took my cousin's daughters who are 11 and 14. This chateau and the family are perfect for people of all ages. The girls LOVED it.

It is a perfect base for visiting all the sights of Normandy. It is close to Bayeaux, the American Cemetary and Omaha Beach. From the chateau it is only a little over an hour to Mont St. Micheal to the west and about the same, maybe less to the beautiful town of Honfleur to the east.

The family at the chateau is so welcoming and can't do enough for you. They were so helpful from everything from directions to knowing the best (least crowded) times of day to see the different sights.

The history of the family and chateau is so interesting also, so you must ask them. The first time I stayed we had a beautiful large bedroom and bath that overlooked the moat out to a field. This time we had our own suite! We had two rooms a separate bath, a living room with comfortable sofas and a kitchen!

We were there 4 nights this time. The mistake most people make is that they only stay one night. As I said it is an excellent place to use as a base to see the entire area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

In May, my husband and I, both retired, went to France for our first time. After a busy week in Paris, we had made reservations at the Chateau de Colombieres, a real Castle with a real count and countess! They and their 4 children met us when we drove in & made us feel so welcome. The Count took us to our suite, later bringing us some hot tea. It was such a pleasant place - very roomy & with fresh flowers in both rooms. My husband went down later and viewed the castle and surroundings in the dark. The Count turned on lights so he could view it. After a wonderful nights sleep, they welcomed us to a lovely breakfast, after which we both toured the grounds. If we ever go back to France, the Chateau will divinity be on our list to visit again. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Serenissima55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

I cannot emphasize enough how much my family and I enjoyed staying in this wonderful Medieval castle, and it rivals (and beats) the hotels of Bayeux in many cases in terms of affordability. For the price and experience, I couldn't recommend the Chateau de Colombieres
more. It is in the Bayeux area not far off the main freeway, located only about 10-15 km outside of Bayeux itself in a lovely, lush Norman
countryside setting. It was very easy to find with directions from the castle's website (and we easily conducted our business over the internet in English). In fact, it is even more ideally situated than Bayeux for exploring some of the best of the Normandy beaches, including Omaha. The castle itself is exactly what one hopes for when staying in such a place; it is utterly authentic, incredibly beautiful with its turreted stone towers rising over the water of its
surrounding moat.

But what I probably most remember and cherish about staying at this chateau is the family who lives in it, the original owners Comte Etienne de Maupeou, his wife, his father, and four charming children (they speak fluent English). They were the most welcoming and truly delightful hosts I have ever encountered, and I am a frequent traveler so I don't say that lightly. When we arrived at the castle gates, they heartily beckoned us in and greeted us warmly. After taking us to our room to get settled and ensuring our comfort, they offered us a tour of the castle--the Renaissance-themed dining room, the Medieval kitchen, the Gothic-vaulted chapel, the ancient wooden stairway of the turret, all of which felt more authentic than anything in the Loire Valley castles I've seen, and perhaps the human element and the warmth of our hosts provided it with that very special touch that made staying there all the more enjoyable.

The suite that we were provided was also perfect, provided with fresh
cut fragrant flowers and roses, several soft couches and chairs and tables to eat on or to enjoy a cup of tea, as well as all the kitchen
accessories one could think of in the separate kitchenette. It was very comfortable and elegant. Was the furniture a` la Louis XV and the beds surrounded by canopies of pink silk curtains like some overpriced castles you see advertised? No, certainly not, but it had what anyone could ever need or desire, and it was the lack of all that extra frilly, fake added-on luxury that made this castle special
and a more satisfying place to stay. It was, at its very heart, a truly authentic experience to stay at the Chateau de Colombieres.

The hosts also lit up the castle so that we could see it in the evening and at night as we walked around the grounds, and Compte de Maupeou, who has a most warm, friendly and delightful personality, talked to us about the castle's history. He clearly loves it dearly and feels strongly connected to it. Even though he works industriously on the upkeep of the chateau, he likes to take a lot of time to talk to his guests and get to know them, and it was truly a pleasure to talk to him. As recommended to us by Comtesse de Maupeou, we also went for a walk around the countryside behind the castle, which is also very scenic and beautiful, leading to a real farm environment beyond the castle lawn. The grounds surrounding the moat are themselves beautifully kept with flowering bushes, trees, and roses. We spent part of an evening and almost the entirety of the next morning just casually relaxing, exploring the castle grounds and enjoying the scenery.

I enjoyed staying here so much that I hope to come back someday and spend a longer period of time, just relaxing in the castle some days and doing little daytrips in the region on others. And in fact, for our family it was less expensive to stay in the castle than any of the available options in Bayeux, an incredible value for the delights
we received. I recommend it to anyone for the experience of meeting the charming host family, seeing the countryside and the attraction of the castle itself, and for the sake of staying in a castle! And even as far as castles go, this one is a truly authentic experience, and lacking nothing in beauty and Medieval charm.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Xpistoforos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matteo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombieres
19.3 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
2.1 mi away
Chateau de Vouilly
Chateau de Vouilly
#1 of 1 in Vouilly
58 reviews
6.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
#1 of 1 in Audrieu
87 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
10.1 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Colombieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Colombieres

Address: 14710 Colombieres, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Colombieres
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Colombieres
Price Range: £99 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Count Etienne de Maupeou d’Ableiges and his children welcome you in their fascinating medieval castle. The château de Colombières is very well located to discover the local history, culture, touristic attractions and cuisine. The guests will appreciate quiet and peace in this beautiful fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Colombieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing