We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Colombieres
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My husband and I just returned from staying at this magnificent chateau. This was an experience almost impossible to duplicate.

The chateau has been in the owner's family for 300 years and when you stay there, you are treated like a dear friend who is visiting them. It's quite a bit like stepping back in time.

The de Maupeau family was wonderfully hospitable and we even got a tour of some of the private rooms.

We couldn't stop taking pictures. The chateau is beautiful in full sun, in the mist and at night with the lights on.

If you have a chance - GO!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MelH1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2008

My wife and i stayed at this wonderful chateau on a recent visit to normandy. our experience was fantastic!!

the castle itself is breathtakingly beautiful and awe inspiring although the location is added to by the fantastic hospitality of charles de maupeau the owner. he and his staff were so warm and friendly and couldnt do enough for us to make the experience the best that it could be.

the castle is authentic dating back hundreds of years and one can almost touch the history contained within those walls. it is centrally located to the sights of normandy also.

our stay was so relaxing...away from the towns etc. it really is a place to switch off from the real world and simply relax....no need for tv mobiles etc here....

we were also lucky enough to meet a veteran of the war who was staying as a guest of the owner....and added bonus as he was an amazing man.

we are thankful for our time at the chateau and hope to return in the future

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My son and I were treated as if we were royalty at this marvelous cheateau. Courteous, warm and friendly! Convenient to great (and reasonable) restaurants and the D-Day beaches. Our experience would be difficult to top!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We were intrigued by the description for the Chateau de Colombieres (which included a moat!) on the Bienvenue au Chateau website, and the beauty of the castle and the experience far exceeded our expectations. Comte de Maupeou is a most gracious host, and he is very knowledgeable about the history of the chateau, and particularly, its role in World War II. The Chateau is perfectly situated for sightseeing in Western Normandy-- it is an hour from Mont St. Michel, and just minutes from many of the D-Day museums, beaches and memorials. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable, and we especially enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace in our room after a long day of sightseeing. We enjoyed a delicious, plentiful breakfast, which prepared us well for another day of sightseeing. We highly recommend the Chateau de Colombieres, and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msp203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We stayed in the Chateau for two nights in September. The family was so warm. Charles, the count's son (who speaks very good english) gave us a lovely tour of the chateau upon our arrival. The place is amazing. Its so old and had an emense history including being very involved in WWII. Its wonderfly restored and the rooms are spacious and comfortable, with fresh flowers from the garden. We enjoyed this chateau, breakfast in the dining room made you feel very important. The breakfast was also really great, with fresh squeezed orange juice:) We would stay here again and reccomend it to anyone who wants a lovely change from hotel travel.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank nessie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

You awaken in a 14th century tower bedroom, look out the large window and see ducks and geese swimming in your moat. Are you still dreaming? No, you're at Chateau de Colombieres.

With a little over an hour to Mont St. Michel and approx. 15 minutes to Omaha Beach, Chateau de Colombieres is the ideal base for touring Normandy. We stayed in the Suite de la Tour which consisted of two separate rooms -- a living room area with a huge working fireplace and a bedroom with attached bath. Both rooms were quite large, beautifully decorated, clean and inviting.

You are not just a person renting a room -- you are a guest in someone's home. Your host and hostess make you feel very special and insist on knowing how they could make it even more magical. Our stay started with a glass of wine in the Chateau's courtyard with the owner to welcome us. Each morning, we took breakfast in the formal dining room at the Chateau. A wonderful Continental breakfast with fresh baked breads, yogurts, fruit, juice, coffee and homemade hot chocolate. Yummy!

On a particularly chilly day, we returned to our room and discovered that someone had been thoughtful enough to turn on the heater in the bedroom. It was enough to take the chill out of the air and we truly appreciated the gesture.

I would recommend the Chateau to any romantic or historian. Both would be delighted at such a find. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No_Camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

My wife and I spent two nights at the Chateau de Colombieres during our honeymoon. Our time and the Chateau was the most enjoyable aspect of our entire marvellous trip.

The accomodations are wonderful. We were housed in the Chambre Louis XVI, which was large and elegant.

The Count and Countess de Maupeou, were the perfect hosts. Count de Maupeou was so generous with his time and hospitality. I could not image a more knowledgable or gracious host. He takes enormous pride in the history and heritage of the Chateau, and was more than happy to recount both the sites and his families history to my wife and I.

As other guests have mentioned during the evening the Chateau is lit up which makes for a very romantic stroll around the grounds. My wife couldn't help but feel like a fairy tale princess given the surroundings.

The location does provide a very convenient central base from which some of the most interesting Normandy sites (Bayeux, D-Day Landing Beaches, Mont St Michel) can easily be accessed and explored. The area immediately around Colombieres is well worth exploring as well, as it offers lush countryside and interesting marshland.

If your planning a trip to the Normandy region, do yourself a favour and make sure you spend a few nights at this wonderful Chateau.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombieres
4.5 mi away
Chateau d'Asnieres-en-Bessin
Chateau d'Asnieres-en-Bessin
#1 of 2 in Asnieres-en-Bessin
22 reviews
17.8 mi away
Chateau de Canisy
Chateau de Canisy
#1 of 1 in Canisy
54 reviews
0 mi away
Domaine Airborne
Domaine Airborne
#2 of 2 in Angoville-Au-Plain
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Chateau Francois d'O
Chateau Francois d'O
#2 of 5 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
30 reviews
10.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Sully
Le Chateau de Sully
#1 of 1 in Sully
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Colombieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Colombieres

Address: 14710 Colombieres, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Colombieres
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Colombieres
Price Range: £100 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Count Etienne de Maupeou d’Ableiges and his children welcome you in their fascinating medieval castle. The château de Colombières is very well located to discover the local history, culture, touristic attractions and cuisine. The guests will appreciate quiet and peace in this beautiful fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Colombieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing