We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Vineyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vineyard Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Lamberhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely nights stay here. The room had lots of modern luxuries such as DAB radio flat screen TVs in bedroom and lounge area the bathroom was very modern and useable.
The bed was very comfortable, mattress was comfortable duvet and pillows lovely. The bedroom was in the eves with skylights which for my partner who is 6 ft 1 did learn quickly to stoop slightly. But was all part of the charm of our stay. The spiral staircase was fine for us however can see that this may be a problem for people less Mobile/able.

The staff were all very friendly and there was a wide variety of local drinks available. My partner really recommends the sharps cornish larger.

We would happily stay again and would recommend to anyone!

Many Thanks

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank humble_opini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed a couple of nights on business. No breakfast until 9 am is ridiculous. The room is alongside a busy road and very noisy. Although well appointed the room is a disastrous design with a tiny space to sit down and make tea downstairs, obviously sacrificed for a large and luxurious shower suite. Fortunately I didn't have to descend the very steep, narrow and slippery stairwell from the bedroom in the middle of the night otherwise I may have been leaving on an ambulance!
The bed was very comfortable with amazing pillows which I have tried to source for myself! The towels were luxurious with lots of lovely cosmetics in the shower. It was all spotlessly clean.No room to swing a cat upstairs!
Overall not to be recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenchleybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you are going to stay here, I would recommend asking for the Bacchus or Bayham rooms as these are larger than the other two. Ingenious use of the space in the outbuildings gives a rather unusual room layout with a small lounge and lovely bathroom (large walk in shower) downstairs and an ample bedroom up the narrow spiral staircase and a balcony downstairs overlooking the pub gardens. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent prompting my wife to state that that was probably the best cooked steak she has ever had. The staff were friendly and attentive and happy to engage in conversation. Situated next to a vineyard, this pub is an excellent venue for a night away, though we were slightly disappointed to find that they did not stock any of the wines from the vineyard next door, though the wines they did serve were excellent.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, pick the Bacchus or Bayham suites as the other two are smaller and it was mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a difficult review to write because the good bits were great but the bad bits were almost unbearable. On the good side, the service was helpful and charming, the quality of the restaurant excellent and the bed comfortable.

However .... we stayed in the Bewl room. Downstairs there is a sofa, tv, small but well appointed bathroom and wardrobe, all tastefully appointed. There is then a steep spiral staircase to the bedroom which is built into the roof space. There is no part of the bedroom in which an adult can stand up except on the bed itself. You cannot stand to dress or undress. You have to crawl on your hands and knees to close the blinds. We are both fairly fit but many people would have more difficulties than we did. Any attempt to use the spiral staircase to the bathroom in the night would have been a very risky exercise.

We raised these points with the staff before we left and they apologised but said the design of the bedrooms was made clear on their website. I re-checked but could see no reference to the low ceiling.

So, my advice would be to stay if your fit and agile but otherwise to just eat in the brilliant restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Booked it a surprise getaway for my partner and I. Told him we were going to the pub but prebooked a room in secret. Instead of going back home afterwards, he was given a key by a super friendly stuff. Perfect surprise! The pub was excellent (especially those VIP seats by the fire!), the room (we stayed in Bayham) was quirky and super clean. The shower was one of the best ever and I liked the idea of a split-level accommodation. The lounge was small, I admit but the bedroom seemed roomy with high ceiling and exposed beams. The terrace is a nice touch and it must be perfect in spring/summer. The only downside was a noise from the road in the morning (Bayham is the closest one to the road) but maybe because I am a trouble sleeper.

Room Tip: Bayham is the closest one to the road; traffic noise can be heard in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepyduck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Fab rooms...clean, modern and well appointed although a couple of issues- the spiral stairs of death...rickety and very slippery and the volcanic towel rails that can burn your bits if you lean against them. The food used to be better...now it's all a bit straight out of the freezer. The breakfast was excellent though....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great pub. great accomodation.

Accomodation is private and modern and has great attention to detail. Bathroom is beautiful. No expense spared - John Lewis items used and make it a great stay.

Pub food and drink is beautiful - complimented by great service.

Will stay again.

(Road noise could be an issue for some, wasnt for me)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberhurst
4.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
6.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
227 reviews
5.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
203 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vineyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyard Inn

Address: Lamberhurst Down, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Lamberhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberhurst
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vineyard Pub has just become an Inn. Four elegant and beautifully designed bedrooms, recently refurbished & housed in the old 13th Century Coach House, fusing classic and contemporary in a warm, unpretentious way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Vineyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vineyard Inn Lamberhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing