We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy locals at The Chequers Inn, Lamberhurst”
Review of The Chequers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamberhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lamberhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having enjoyed a couple of hours at nearby Bewl Water we popped into The Chequers Inn in Lamberhurst (3 mums and 7 kids). The pub itself is beautiful with lots of character. The staff welcomed the children, aged five to 11, with muddy shoes and it was hot chocolate all round. The children sat in their seats for a good 30 minutes, chattering and laughing. One of the mums ordered a chorizo and tomato ciabatta which for some bizarre reason was swimming in red oil (apparently oil from the warmed up chorizo, with extra olive oil to boot). Unfortunately she couldn't stomach the dish, despite the chef insisting it was fresh and one of his most popular dishes. And, as we were leaving a rather rotund gentleman sitting at the bar, was extraordinary rude, saying he couldn't wait for us to leave so he could enjoy his wine in peace (I would suggest guzzling wine at lunchtime in his own home would have been a better option than a public house). It was rather ironic as us mums were just saying how well behaved the children had been. There was no running around, just laughter! Well, what a grumpy old man! He made us most uncomfortable and the bar staff made no attempt to smooth over the situation, so we left feeling like our feathers had well and truly been ruffled. It wasn't cheap either (over £40 for a round of hot chocolates,a few potato dishes, the chorizo oily number and a sandwich). So, it's a yes to Bewl Water, but I would give this pub a miss if you have children.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for The Chequers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

We have recently had a night's stay at Chequers and had a great time. The pub itself, run by the incredibly hospitable Nigel, has really good beer on tap, and a nice selection of wine. We also had some really good food, Nigel is a chef by trade, and you can tell.

The room was clean and tidy and slept four of us (2 kids, 2 adults) comfortably, and the breakfast was at the time we requested and the poached eggs/mushrooms perfectly cooked. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 was big enough for a family of 4.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moosola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had an excellent meal in this lovely old building in the picturesque village of Lamberhurst. We were sorry that we had not booked in to stay overnight such was the friendly welcome that we received from the staff. Extensive good quality food menu, good wine menu and definitely somewhere we would return to and stay in if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Chrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Extremely welcoming! We stayed for one night having visited Scotney Castle and Great Dixter. It was just what we needed - very relxed - good beer, excellent food and service. Our room was fine - clean and functional and we had a good nights sleep. Would certainly recommend to friends and go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for five nights at the chequers Inn in Lambershurst Village. From the moment we walked in to ask for accomodation we were made to feel right at home.
The Inn itself is charming and dates back to the 1300's our room was spacious and delightful overlooking the stream and garden.
Zorny and her chef husband Nigel are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed many conversations over the excellent ales at the bar.
We enjoyed many meals at the Inn and the pretty garden is a lovely way to while away some hours in the sun over a long lunch.
Turnbridge wells is only a short drive away if you need to catch up on shopping while your in Kent.
We will definately be back!
Rosie and Huw ( Australia)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Landlord and his wife were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was delicious too! It is a lovely family run pub in a beautiful village. The bedrooms could do with a bit of upgrading though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aembishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Family run pub in a good location for exploring Kent. Basic rooms, clean and tidy, plenty of hot water for that much needed shower or bath. Good breakfast although we were not offered a traditional full English. Restaurant prices were on a par with what is being charged in the area. Friendly staff, inexpensive lunch menu, nice pots of coffee at the bar.
Ideal for a short break or weekend stay. Don't expect the full package, but for the per person price, its good value.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3, its right above a very, very noisy kitchen!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelsandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberhurst
4.7 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
6.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
701 reviews
3.0 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
199 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
305 reviews
6.2 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: The Broadway, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Lamberhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberhurst
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For our guests looking for an overnight visit we can offer you any of our 5 en-suite bedrooms. Each room is individually decorated offering you privacy and comfort in the beautiful and historic village of Lamberhurst. Relax, unwind and prepare yourself for your busy day ahead, whether it is a wedding or a countryside ramble, our rooms will meet all your needs. With delightful smells of home cooked European food wafting from the restaurant below, you may be tempted to eat in our Hiltonz restaurant before you retire. Jane Austen herself is said to have frequented these rooms and so you are in good company! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chequers Inn Lamberhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing