We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Woodpecker Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamberhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodpecker Barn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lamberhurst B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in this first class b&b - part of a beautiful barn conversion with our own bedroom, living room & bathroom. The location is delightful, very peaceful, set in a lovely garden - private without feeling isolated. Our hosts, Martin & Halla, couldn't have been more charming & helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. Highly recommended, we certainly intend to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post your review of your stay at Woodpecker Barn . We really appreciate the feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Regards

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Definitely 5 star accommodation with charming hosts - nothing too much trouble.

My husband & I stayed here with 2 friends whilst visiting Tunbridge Wells. The rooms are lovely (bedding pristine) with good showers and a separate lounge for each of the rooms. The quality of the breakfast was of exceptional quality & as mentioned in earlier reviews the tableware & china was also superb.

Ideal location for visiting National Trust properties in Kent.

We are not usually fans of B&B's, preferring the anonymity of Hotels - but this proved the exception.

Thank you Martin & Halla

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
To our lovely guests from Swansea - many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review . We appreciate it very much and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. You are welcome back any time.

Best wishes

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this fabulous B&B, the location is very peaceful in lovely gardens. Felt like royalty at breakfast with my own breakfast banquet served up to me ( I was the only guest there though :D ), and the owners were very helpful when my car wouldn't start the one morning, even offering to give me a lift to my destination! Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Many thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Sorry about the car problems but the AA did turn up in excellent time I thought . Hope you find your way back here one day - there is much to see in Kent when you have a little more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we stayed here overnight and both wish we could have stayed longer! our rooms were lovely and martin&halla are so nice - breakfast was fab and i'm so jealous of such a gorgeous home!!! can't wait to find a reason to go back again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at Woodpecker barn overnight as we were sailing in an event at Bewl reservoir and thought we would rather not camp. Well what can I say, before I left I had already booked another stay for walking and cycling in the autumn! The barn's location is beautiful, the rooms are fabulous and Martin and Halla not only cook a fantastic breakfast but really make you feel welcome in their wonderful home. If you are lucky enough to be going anywhere near Lamberhurst take the opportunity and enjoy a real treat and stay at Woodpecker barn, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was a really lovely barn and our hosts were very friendly without being overbearing. As well as our room ( which was very comfortable) we had the use of our own lounge upstairs in the eaves where we were very happy watching the Olympics & drinking tea. Breakfast was an absolute delight from the presentation (white pressed tablecloth, flowers on the table, beautiful villeroy & boch cups & saucers & stylish cutlery) to the quality of the produce and it was cooked to perfection. This was definitely the best breakfast of our Holiday.
We also enjoyed a look around their lovely garden & had a seat in the evening sunshine under the arbour covered in wisteria & a grapevine.
If you are going to this area stay here it's a no brainer as I haven't got anything bad to say about it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead,Surrey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fantastic hospitality, accommodation and food. Martin and Halla made us feel like friends rather than guests, the standards in the bedroom, lounge and bathroom were first class. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful garden too. Would recommend this place to everyone. We are now thinking of an excuse to go back !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzywuzyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberhurst
4.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
5.7 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodpecker Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodpecker Barn

Property: Woodpecker Barn
Address: Wickhurst Farm, Bartley Mill Road | Lamberhurst, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Lamberhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodpecker Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly converted 17th C Barn comprising traditional and contemporary styles. Situated in a quiet , rural position within the beautiful Weald of Kent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodpecker Barn Lamberhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing