We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from friendly owners”
Review of Woodpecker Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamberhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodpecker Barn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lamberhurst B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service from friendly owners”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a four night stay and all the complimentary reviews of other guests are accurate and we have to repeat how great this place as indeed Martin and Halla are. The breakfasts are stunning and keep you going all day and the linen and towels are perfect A very peaceful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guests , my Trip Advisor page is advising me that I haven't responded to your review but I'm sure that I did ! Anyway , at the risk of repeating myself , we are always grateful to people who take the time and trouble to post a review and , more importantly , that they have enjoyed their experience at Woodpecker Barn . Do hope to see you in the future.

All the best

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is why we use trip advisor so often. We were taking good friends away for their Ruby Anniversary present and wanted somewhere special but where they would also feel at home. Woodpecker Barn fitted the bill exactly. Both suites are superb and contain everything and anything you could possibly need. Martin and Halla are excellent hosts - always there when you need help or advice but without being to intrusive. Finally, the breakfasts are first class and there are sufficient options to meet every taste. We would recommend Woodpecker Barn to anyone and it will be our first choice when we next stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Most grateful for your review and really pleased that your choice of Woodpecker Barn was also appreciated by your friends as well - can be difficult choosing for someone else so glad that we all got it right !
Do come again - we enjoyed looking after you.

Best wishes

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews so it's difficult to pick out anything else to comment on ... most of it's been said before. We stayed for 3 nights and between us tried all the different breakfast options, including the fantastic homemade preserves and fruit juice. The building and gardens are beautiful and attention to detail is amazing. Each morning we watched as Martin carefully selected fresh herbs from the garden to garnish our cooked breakfast and our table was always adorned with a fresh flower. These are the little things which make such an impact. Congratulations, Martin and Halla, you made us feel welcome and cossetted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Marilyn
Thank you so much for your review and the comments therein . We always appreciate it when people take the time to express their views and thoughts once they have left - it gives us a good feeling that we are still doing things right ! As always we do hope to see you again in the future.
Have a lovely summer up there in Staffs.

Best wishes

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We agreed with the previous reviews, this is a beautiful setting and building. The shower was heaven and lovely bed sheets and towelling robes, it felt like a luxurious treat.
The breakfast was amazing! So much choice, absolutely delicious and beautifully laid out.
Martin and Halta were very helpful with mapping out a walk or us and booking our restaurant one night.
Couldn't fault our stay here and would highly recommend staying here over an impersonal hotel in Tunbridge wells for the same price or more.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurph2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review and for the positive comments therein .We look forward to welcoming you back to Woodpecker Barn in the future.

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,641 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The directions to get here are a wee bit complex but having checked it out on Google street view beforehand, it was not difficult to find. Woodpecker Barn comprises one half of the original 17th century agricultural building. The owner, Martin, met us. He is a friendly, humorous guy and introduced us to his wife Halla.
We had a small upstairs suite comprising sitting room (2-seater settee, occasional tables, kettle & cups, standard lamp, table lamp, wardrobe and small TV) bedroom (double bed, bedside tables, chest, chair, stool) and bathroom (toilet, wash basin, power shower, thick Christy towels, l’Occidente toiletries). Sitting room, bedroom and linking corridor were comfortably carpeted but this did not disguise the universal creaking floorboards. The style was rustic with ancient beams. It was all very cosy. Along the corridor at the other side of the stairs was similar accommodation. There was a larger, general lounge downstairs.
The next day we got a very impressive breakfast. A beautifully laid table to which Halla brought pots of home-made blueberry and fig jams and marmalade she described as ‘very orangey’. Martin brought a bottle of fruit juice made from their own apples and pears. We both had scrambled eggs, light and fluffy, and I had smoked salmon to go with it. There were croissants and wholemeal toast and I completed a very satisfying meal with Greek yoghurt.

Room Tip: There are only two to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post e review of your recent stay at Woodpecker Barn. We really appreciate the feedback we get from guests and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The location of this place is perfect if you want a mix of peace and quiet, with local villages and towns only a short drive away. The barn itself is lovely. The room we stayed in is very cosy, the bathroom decorated well well, and the living room pleasant.
We stayed for one night on the 15 February. Our favourite part was the breakfast, far and away the best breakfast we have had in a B&B. The service was excellent and they tended to any/all of our needs. The range of breakfast caters for all tastes - and being spoilt for choice we indulged in a bit of the entire selection.
From here we went for a stroll around Bewl Water and dinner in Tunbridge Wells.
Great place and would higher recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Many thanks to Richard G from London for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at Woodpecker Barn .We really appreciate the feedback and , of course , we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Look forward to seeing you both again.

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide,oz
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Visiting from Adelaide Australia, we spent 4 weeks touring southern England late summer. Spent 4 nights here at what we subsequently decided was our favourite B&B. Great location for the tourist - close to many destinations yet in lovely countryside. Excellent accommodation - private entrance & separate lounge; good bedroom & bathroom. Elegantly furnished & lovely gardens. Delightful breakfast with wonderful fruit dishes & freshly picked herbs and flowers. Great hosts - friendly, helpful & interesting.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room - private entrance with separate bedroom, shower room and upstairs lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Woodpecker Barn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
A big thank you to our guests from Australia who took the time and trouble to send in a review about Woodpecker Barn. So glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope that your visit to England was a success . Do come back some day - we really appreciate returning guests especially from Australia and please spread the word amongst your countrymen. Don't come yet though - the weather is truly horrendous ! I have never witnessed anything as bad in my 65 years !

Best wishes to all in OZ

Martin & Halla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberhurst
4.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
5.7 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodpecker Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodpecker Barn

Property: Woodpecker Barn
Address: Wickhurst Farm, Bartley Mill Road | Lamberhurst, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Lamberhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodpecker Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly converted 17th C Barn comprising traditional and contemporary styles. Situated in a quiet , rural position within the beautiful Weald of Kent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodpecker Barn Lamberhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing