We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”
Review of Poppies

Poppies
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Connel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: OPEN 7 days 10am -5pm SCOTTISH BAKER OF THE YEAR WINNER!! Good soup guide & GTN Great Garden Centre Award. Popular coffee house restaurant, garden centre and gift shop. Spectacular views and comfortable surroundings. All of our delicious menu from seafood platter to macaroni and cakes are freshly cooked on the premises. Fresh ground coffees & extensive tea menu. From Poppies With Love x. FREE AMPLE PARKING
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This little cafe type place is buzzing. Lots of snacks etc on the menu.
Toasted sandwiches were well packed a tasty. No licence, so soft drinks only.
Sit ouside with wonderful views of Dunstaffnage bay and the marina.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    120
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Gigha
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A friend's recommendation took us on out of Oban for coffee and we were not disappointed!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

You would be hard pressed to find such a fantastic location to stop off for coffee or lunch as this great wee find north of Oban. The location is breathtaking and the tearoom has great home baking, a nice wee gift shop, an interesting and well stocked garden centre all with friendly and helpful staff. We will most definitely return here on our next trip to Oban.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great food, friendly staff. Well worth the short drive from Oban. Lovely views from Restaurant, toilets always very clean. We've been 6 times and we look forward to returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A wee Gem - A must for homebaking and for a delicious lunch”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a wee gem of a find, via another tripadvisor review and was quite busy so looks like a lot of people are appreciating this lovely wee place. Its exactly as described a lovely garden centre with some unusual pieces, small but nice wee gift shop and then a lovely cafe/tea room where you can eat at tables inside or out. The food was delicious - great wee menu snacks through to main meals all home cooked. Very friendly service with the owner mingling with guests each table in turn. And I have to say the nicest toilets in a restaurant I've seen for a long time. The home baking was a site for sore eyes and greedily we got 4 football sized meringues to go which were delicious. There is also a wee pebbly beach next to it if you've kids wanting to pick shells. I would thoroughly recommend this place and will deifinitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PAISLEYBUDDIE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tucked Away!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is tucked away off the main road to Oban. It has a lovely cafe and garden centre with a gift shop. Worth stopping for a look around or something to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annesmithdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Poppies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing