We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Connel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mactalla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Close to Oban but in a very quiet little town by the sea. The view from the B&B was spectacular. The room was very basic but clean and the food was great. I'd highly recommend a cool little pub for dinner -- The Ferryman's of Connel. Food was great and atmosphere enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJStClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have stayed at Mactalla before briefley but was so impressed there was no question that I would stay anywhere else whilst in the area. The accomodation is in a lovely position in Connel, not far from Oban and a good base for exploring the area or breaking your journey. There is a bus stop very close to the front door and plenty of parking space available. Mactalla is spotlessly clean and evey attention is given to all sorts of details. There is a wide choice of room types available but I opted for a little single room with separate bathroom. There are 2 sepatate spotless bathrooms and 3 toilets so you are not likely to be kept waiting. This was ideal for my purposes and had a lovely view over the water. Lloyd also very kindly brought me a tray to make tea and coffee. There is a spacious sitting room with plenty of seating and a real open fire when it's cold. Binoculars and a telescope to look at the wildlife from the window and a huge collection of fascinating books. Breakfast is lovely in another spacious room and there is a huge choice of what to have. Delicious. I bought myself some smoked fish from the local Inverawe smokery and they didnt mind one bit preparing it for my breakfast. If you don't want to go far for supper then the Glue Pot is within walking distance and is an excellent place for food and drink. I would highly recommend this lovely B&B and I look forward to returning on my next Scottish trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at Mactalla last year and we were more than happy to revisit this delightful B&B again when my wife accompanied me on a business trip to nearby Oban.
Mactalla is clean, inviting, friendly and relaxed. Although we didn't have the luxury of an en-suite bathroom as we did last year, room 6 was pleasant enough with wash basin and the usual tea/coffee making faciliies.
Lloyd is a great host (haven't met Ruth as yet but I'm sure she's there somewhere) and the breakfast is the best I can remember having at any hotel or B&B.
The view from the front of Mactalla is spectacular - try and go there in the summer so you can have afternoon tea outside.
I would recommend Mactalla to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Turreteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We slept one night at Mactalla Guest House in Connel. The room was clean and tidy with a greate view on the loch. Kettle with tea/coffee and biscuits were available. Basin in the room, toilet and shower were shared but clean as well. A big room on the ground floor was available for guests with TV and book. Breakfast was served in a nearby room: a buffet with cereals, fruits and fruit salad was available, cooked breakfast available on request.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmeVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 8 in Connel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 8 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 8 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mactalla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mactalla Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mactalla Bed and Breakfast
Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mactalla Bed And Breakfast Connel, Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing