We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As if you 'd jump 50 yrs back in time”
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Of Lora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Old, very old hotel. Expect no luxury at all. The room was ok, but the bathroom was simply too basic. We even had a sort of showering system you had to fix to the water taps of the bath if you wanted to take a shower. Hilarious. View from our window was awful, I think it was an oil distribution factory or something like that. As long as the kitchen is open, we had a lot of noise from the air conditioning, but at night it was calm. The atmosphere of the hotel can't be explained better than with the image of a water fountain at the reception. The kind of fountain with deers and squirrels in it, you know... Even in the sixties it must have been old fashioned. Nothing wrong with the restaurant downstairs though, where we ate a good meal of fish and chips. The personnel was friendly, but give a hand in mounting our luggage to the second floor clearly was not included in the price. Breakfast was ok, but need I repeat it, again very old fashioned, not to say outdated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

The "Falls" is an old fashioned Victorian Building that reeks of old school faded charm and elegance and you will either Love it or hate it. If you book one of their superior rooms you will have a great time and the rooms are huge. Ask for room 43 and you will get a six foot round bath that is fabulous and you can roll about in it even if you arent alone ;)

Breakfast is great and portions are huge. Staff are super quick and attentive. If you stay in a standard room in the more modern wing the falls becomes ordinary at best. If you love new glitzy high tech hotels then this isn't the place for you. If on the other hand you like quirky and old fashioned with a touch of decadent luxury then this might just be the place to go.

Good. Great special rooms if you want to splash out. Great breakfasts and the restaurant is very good indeed and great prices for wine. Fabulous location.

Bad. very pricey for the better rooms and standard rooms arent that fantastic. No wifi in rooms. They also dont haggle over prices even when they are quiet. Most unusually is that they allow smoking in every room but if you are a non smoker it doesnrt seem to be a problem as rooms all smell nice and fresh.

Bedroom fairies. If you are staying for 2 nights or more when you come back up from breakfast the beds are all made up and towels all replaced. Brilliant and very strange..

Love it or hate it. for me. well its definitely Love it ;)

Room Tip: ask for a special room. pricey but worth it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gourmetscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We drove over 2 hours for an overnight stay at Falls of Lora because we love it there. We always book one of the special rooms as they are huge with baths like swimming pools! I think we have stayed in all the special room apart from the 'green' room - see note below. The view over the water is really relaxing. We love the charm of the old building and the vast array of ornaments from around the world. Breakfast was great as ever. The lovely ladies are very efficient and there is plenty to choose from. The clootie dumpling is fab! If we go for a couple of days we always order a packed lunch as you get loads of different wee nibbles and surprises and it takes all day to munch your way through it! Morag in reception is lovely too. Hopefully it wont be too long until we are back.
PS The door was open on the green room when we were there too - it's very Austin Powers - furry bed cover on round bed - hmmm - looks spotless but I'm not just groovy enough lol

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weefifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were celebrating a friends birthday and booked the Falls. On our arrival we were told by the owner who was perched on a stool with the telephone hanging from her ear that "We were late and we should have been seated by 7pm", it was 6:55pm!!!
The decor and the service crockery is so dated!
When we got our bill there was an addition of £15 as a room hire; we were not advised this at the time of booking and when we mentioned this the receptionist had to go and speak to the owner (who had moved off her perch), it took a couple of return visits before they agreed to deduct the £15.00.
Most of the food was good, the service was quite poor and the service after dinner was not satisfactory.
I will not be recommending the Falls of Lora to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Na-Mara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The main pat of the Hotel is Victorian and contains some very nice bedrooms. The extension is more modern and the rooms are fairly typical of a tourist hotel. Good breakfast and would recommend the restaurant. Whilst there, try a malt or two from their extensive range, which includes Irish and American tipples too.
Oban is easily accessible and we took a Three Isles Tour to Mull, Staffa (Fingles Cave) and Iona. The tour comprised Car Ferry (as foot passenger), Small boat and Coach and was very well organised by the operators involved.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The main house looked interesting in a slightly faded, traditional Scottish sort of way. However, we didn't get to stay in the main house but instead in a modern annex. Here the rooms are on a drearily decorated corridor, no character, it could have been a cheap hotel anywhere in the world. Rooms were clean but small and featureless. Had a bar dinner; food was no better than average. Service was efficient but several of the staff seemed indifferent to the presence of their guests - no friendly Highland welcome here. Stayed for one night - pleased it wasn't longer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank reptile230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times now. And had two very different rooms. First was a single room and was quite basic and overlooked the rear carpark (so not that great). Second time was in the main part of the hotel, and a double room. This was fantastic! Nice large room, with a great view out over the "Falls of Lora".

The hotel itself, is almost is a step back in time, with quite dated furnishings, and waiting staff at breakfast wearing ancient brown uniforms. Not that this is necessarily a bad thing. In fact it has a certain charm. The residents lounge and bar both have large open fires, that are superb to warm up in front of after cold winter days. The "superior" bedrooms are left with the doors open during the day (if no one using them), unsure your ment to but allows guests a chance to peek in. Some rooms are great (that face the front overlooking the falls), however ther is one very strange room..... has a round double bed, green lighting, and shag pile with a teddy bear on a chair (say no more!).

Food at night in the bar/restaurant is brilliant. Had ~7 meals (often 3 coarse) and not one bad dish. They have a good specials board that changes every couple of days or so. And food comes quickly but is obviously freshly made. Breakfast is equally as good, recommend the scrambled egg and smoked salmon (couple of times got so much salmon I couldn't finish it all).

Overall a very pleasant place to stay, bit stuck in a time warp, and like a lot of hotels in the UK a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
4.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,026 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
4.4 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range: £94 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel, Oban, Scotland
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing