We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Falls Of Lora
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
187
178
84
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
178
84
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedtraditional hotelold world charmold fashionedresidents loungecocktail baropen fireno liftbreakfast roomstayed for one nightloch etivefriendly hotelcooked breakfastconnel bridgewe've stayedsingle roomlovely location
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I had dinner in the restaurant on 28 August and thought the food was amazing!

Portion sizes were huge and the food itself was delicious. I would recommend the tempura starter from the specials board. Absolutely tremendous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MrsD191011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Husband booked this one for a surprise for my big birthday celebration. We arrived in the afternoon and no one on reception but a sign directed us to the bar area. We couldn't get into the room as it wasn't ready so we made a reservation for a meal then went off to Oban.

We returned, got the room key and headed off up the stairs. Our room was big enough with one king size bed and a single bed. Later discovered the king size was a double and a single pushed together and wasn't the best bed I've slept in. Decor was very tired indeed and big feature window ..well failed double glazing meant windows were all smears and streaks between glass panes.

Little seating area with 4 seats and tv was comfortable and clean.

Large bath and shower so that was alright.

My husband and I had visited this hotel before (13 years ago) and its still the exact same- frozen in time with same decor and furniture. We like character and quirky in accommodation but this one needs a little attention now to make it worth the money asked.

We paid a lot of money for a one night stay and felt it offered very little this time.

Very basic toiletries, a tiny quantity of coffee and tea with no biscuits, dimly lit interior, very old threadbare bed covers and cushions, ageing carpets. This hotel could be super with a little investment on the right things and the accommodation could once again be very appealing.

On the plus side, food was nice and menu was very appealing. Think we would return for a meal but give an overnight stay a miss.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Decor was done in late 70s-early 80s and never changed. Linens threadbare and tired. Pillows as old and flat as the beds. Faded green carpet, even in baths (gross!) "Art" is old Asian stuff, not what you expect in an old Scottish inn. No amenities but small bars of soap.

Service was good. Front desk tried so hard to get wifi working, but it was still extremely spotty and only worked in the lounge area. Gordon Ramsay would have a field day in there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Midkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

An odd mix of reviews for the Falls of Lora Hotel, but all I can report on is our experience.
We were a party of 7 - a family of 5 with 3 teenagers and a couple - and we all loved the hotel and bistro.
We have tried to find reasonably priced accommodation in the area before, without success. We have tried Travelodges before (and did on this trip) but accomodation is basic and we like Premier Inn but the nearest one, at Fort William, has a two-night minimum policy at this time of year.
So we found the Falls of Lora, rang a few weeks ago and spoke directly to a young girl who took our booking and explained that there was a room to sleep 5 in a double, bunks and a futon-style chair. She also explained that the hotel makes no charge for children's accommodation, only for their breakfast. So that made for a very reasonable charge overall. In fact, on a charge per person basis, the couple paid much more than the family! We were surprised that they could accommodate us at only a few weeks' notice in high season and we're a bit concerned at what we might get.
We were very pleasantly surprised. We were warmly welcomed by a young receptionist who said she would alert the bistro to our arrival so they could prepare a table for 7.
Yes,the rooms are dated but both were clean, warm and had everything we needed.
Dinner in the bistro was excellent - a blue steak came exactly as ordered, which is not always the case, a prawn cocktail came in a huge glass (also used for the ice cream sundaes). All starters, main meals and desserts were very well presented. Add to that a good wine list, a gin list and over 100 whiskies and we were all very happy. The place was full - clearly of locals not just residents.
Breakfast again was top notch. Scrambled eggs & smoked salmon with brown toast was just as expected. Lots of toast and tea.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Falls of Lora. I'm sorry that others had such a bad experience as it might affect our decision to go back. Perhaps the owners might reply to some of the comments?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you like sleek modern city hotels, this is not the place for you! Felt like being transported back to my childhood in the 1970s. The furnishings may be tired but this hotel is packed with character. My 7-year-old son voted this his favourite hotel ever, as he loved discovering all the knick knacks around the reception area, stairs and corridors. He also loved the orange retro phone in our room and the teddy bears on the beds were a nice touch. Can't say I'd agree about it being my favourite hotel, but it was a comfortable and quiet night. Breakfast was basic ("The Big Yin" did not live up to its name, with only one of each item) and it was expensive for an average room. It wouldn't be my first choice in and around Oban, but if you're looking for something a little different then this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews