We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant amazing, hotel frozen in time”
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Of Lora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and again could not fault the staff (all the same friendly faces which was nice) and the dinner in the restaurant amazing. my only criticism is this time I had a room in the old part of the hotel while my Dad and sister had rooms in the new part. The lights kept tripping out and the decor was very tired looking. I love the line with the old globe and everywhere is clean, but a little spruce to the bedrooms would help. Highly recommend still though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regularslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

A beautiful hotel outside of Oban. Explore the grounds of the hotel and take a leisurely walk to the falls. The food in the restaurant is first class (particularly the seafood). We were part of a large group and found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating. The antique silverware on display and being used in the restaurant dates the hotel nicely. An excellent base to springboard a visit to Iona, The Hogwarts Train and also a visit to Oban on a Wednesday night to witness the Oban schools Bagpipe band playing in the square.

Room Tip: Request a room with water views of the Falls of Lora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stopped twice at restaurant while on holiday in the area. Very attentive and friendly staff and a good-range menu. Food was declared excellent by the four of us, so much a return visit was undertaken. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank gbhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed six nights in Aug 2013 - we had vouchers for free accommodation if we paid for breakfast and dinner (£12.50 for breakfast and a minimum of £21.50 for dinner each night). We were probably a bit skeptical before going as theses deals can sometimes be a bit of a rip off, but not in this case.

We found the staff all to be very helpful and the hotel itself is full of character with a really nice residents lounge where you can sit and have a relaxing read. The setting is great and those with loch views are very lucky indeed. The dinner menu is typical of what you'd get in similar places, but the portion sizes were generous and the food was well prepared and tasty. Because it was booked on a special deal, we got one of the basic rooms. It was, however, of a good standard for a basic room and had everything we needed........... we did see in some of the special rooms and we would definitely book one of these next time (rooms 35 and 43 both looked amazing).

One other thing that I think is worth mentioning is that our DB&B price was based on a minimum spend of £34 pppn. Some days we went over the minimum but didn't reach it on others (as you'd expect). We expected that they'd automatically bring our spend up to £34 pppn on the days when we underspent. However, they actually averaged the spend over the six nights and offset our overspends against the underspends. Maybe I'm not explaining this too well, but the effect was that our total bill was quite a bit less that than we'd anticipated.

Overall a very good hotel and we look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Go for one of the special rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I had dinner in the restaurant on 28 August and thought the food was amazing!

Portion sizes were huge and the food itself was delicious. I would recommend the tempura starter from the specials board. Absolutely tremendous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MrsD191011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Husband booked this one for a surprise for my big birthday celebration. We arrived in the afternoon and no one on reception but a sign directed us to the bar area. We couldn't get into the room as it wasn't ready so we made a reservation for a meal then went off to Oban.

We returned, got the room key and headed off up the stairs. Our room was big enough with one king size bed and a single bed. Later discovered the king size was a double and a single pushed together and wasn't the best bed I've slept in. Decor was very tired indeed and big feature window ..well failed double glazing meant windows were all smears and streaks between glass panes.

Little seating area with 4 seats and tv was comfortable and clean.

Large bath and shower so that was alright.

My husband and I had visited this hotel before (13 years ago) and its still the exact same- frozen in time with same decor and furniture. We like character and quirky in accommodation but this one needs a little attention now to make it worth the money asked.

We paid a lot of money for a one night stay and felt it offered very little this time.

Very basic toiletries, a tiny quantity of coffee and tea with no biscuits, dimly lit interior, very old threadbare bed covers and cushions, ageing carpets. This hotel could be super with a little investment on the right things and the accommodation could once again be very appealing.

On the plus side, food was nice and menu was very appealing. Think we would return for a meal but give an overnight stay a miss.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Decor was done in late 70s-early 80s and never changed. Linens threadbare and tired. Pillows as old and flat as the beds. Faded green carpet, even in baths (gross!) "Art" is old Asian stuff, not what you expect in an old Scottish inn. No amenities but small bars of soap.

Service was good. Front desk tried so hard to get wifi working, but it was still extremely spotty and only worked in the lounge area. Gordon Ramsay would have a field day in there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Midkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
4.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
4.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,811 reviews
4.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range: £90 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel, Oban, Scotland
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing