We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in the 70's!”
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Of Lora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Don't get me wrong the only reason I will harshly criticise a place is mainly down to bad/rude service, i do not like to rate a place poorly on the fact they may require TLC. You will need to approach a stay at the Falls with a sense of humour.
Upon stepping into the hotel you will instantly be transferred back to the 70's to when it was last decorated. I have stayed in a lot of dated Scottish hotels which can be quite fun but the Falls also tries to have an Asian feel about it which is bizarre and i do not get. If they embraced the Scottish feel and cut out the other stuff it would do better.
Asides that the place just needs a lot of cash thrown at it, for a start having a shower in your premium rooms which we did not have and in the modern day that is unforgiveable.
The staff were friendly and happy to assist were they can but again money is required in areas such as the bar for things like fridges etc.
Location is good for tourists who wish to see the sites of Argyll & Bute. Think i would only go back if i heard some of the issues i have stated were addressed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bigscot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is completely rubbish. It has no wifi in any of the rooms, I came here for a business trip & I needed to do work yet no wifi. No doubt if there was wifi it would be a much better hotel. Another thing, the don't have enough stock in like I went down for a hot chocolate & they had ran out. There coffee is the most tastiest coffee I've tasted in a long shot. The windows you can't open & the rooms are very stuffy. This hotel needs a lot of work done to it.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Weestrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good hotel, was very clean, the allow dogs which is great, very unusual decor, adds to the character though, great size rooms & good portions of food for breakfast Only down side is, on day of arrival the lady at reception was very rude & I heard her being rude to other guests as I walked by, but luckily on the day of departure it was a different woman who was was very polite & cheery. Also the "toiletries" given to you as part of the room are awful! I would love for the owner to see if they could wash their hair with a tiny amount of shampoo out a sachet or clean themselves with a bar of soap that doesn't even lather, I can understand them wanting to keep cost down, but there is no need to be so cheap on these items

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissE186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent a very pleasant 2 nights here. The decor is as you can see on website so should be no surprise, adds to the character. The room was very clean , the beds comfortable and being at the end of a corridor the room was quiet. The staff were friendly and polite. Price of drinks very reasonable and the food was also well priced . Breakfast was good and served very hot. Overall very pleased. As for ambience in bistro, that tend to be created by diners and unlikely to be provided by previous reviewer - dead plant in the lounge and tartan 'altar' what are you on about! We saw neither, what I do wonder is, who polishes all that silver and brass, it was gleaming. Well done you.

Room Tip: Room on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights recently. Staff very attentive, especially at breakfast. Decor leaves much to be desired, especially the tartan 'altar' and dead plant in the lounge. Also unusual to find angle-poise lamp hidden on the top shelf of the wardrobe! Bistro staff were friendly but any ambience was missing. Found it difficult to warrant its three stars- does anyone still use a trouser press?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich5749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of t's - hotel is of a type with décor back in the 1970's that being said the room was clean staff polite and all very efficient a great base for visiting the area. The bar staff were very knowledgeable and friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianjm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We last stayed 6 years ago and nothing had changed, even the price, which was identical. The hotel had kept its quirky character. We had booked a small double room, which may have been the last one available. Both it and the en suite were of what I would describe as standard size, i.e. anything but small. The large cooked breakfast was cunningly described as "The Big Yin", no doubt to avoid discussion with regard to the distinction between "Full Scottish" and "Full English". I did however hear one fellow guest request "The Big Un" which could have lead to a similar discussion! We enjoyed our stay and hope to return more quickly this time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
4.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
4.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
4.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,005 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range: £74 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel, Oban, Scotland
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing