We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the food pictures on their website but don't expect anything like them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Check out the food pictures on their website but don't expect anything like them”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

As a multi award winning chef myself, I check websites before booking as my partner and I like our food and eat out frequently.After dining here we were very disappointed to say the least.The dishes in their photos obviously were from the hotels past and clearly of a far greater quality than the kitchen now can produce.The company needs to update the website and stop the false advertising as this is very misleading! Even the sample menu suggested far better dishes than the usual steak pie, scampi and 1/2 roast chicken you can get anywhere!!! We wont be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    67
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
48
121
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Nipped in with boyfriend for dinner, food was amazing! Little woman served us the whole nite and she was lovely made u feel welcome. AMAZING food, top notch, couldnt of asked for better. Only down point was boy standing at bar eating and drinking all nite not doing his job, if it wasn't for the lady it would of been bad! Anyway top marks will defo be coming back x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanrichs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbeltown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I was at the Lochnell Hotel today for Sunday Buffet it was excellent food brilliant great choice and superb helpings. Staff very pleasant and excellent value Definately will be returning The view you are looking out onto is wonderful, advise you to book as was very busy although service is quick s nice comfortable bar to sit in if you have to wait and very family friendly kids made very welcome

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Visited Lochnell Arms as we were working in the area. The food was excellent, choice of menu was good with a specials menu which changed daily. The hotel has a very comfortable lounge with open fire. The view over the Falls of Lora from both the main dining room and smaller one next to the lounge has to be seen. The public bar is quite small but when the locals are in the atmosphere is superb. All the staff including bosses Colin and Joan are very helpful and nothing is too much bother.

Room Tip: There are two superior rooms with balconies overlooking the Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slicer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for a one off one night stay just to have a break for us. We always used to come here for a quiet drink and sometimes a meal and decided to stay for one night. The room was comfy and we had a balcony and was good value for money. The food was fantastic, although a little pricey but we didnt mind as we knew the food was good on previous visits. The staff are very friendly as are the owners and always make you feel welcome. They are also very helpful and if anything is wrong they go out of their way to make it right. The breakfast is fantastic too and give you a large generous full Scottish. I would give this hotel a 10/10. The views over Connel are breathtaking with Connel Bridge as a backdrop and the Falls of Lora. I would definately return to this hotel again and praise the staff for a fantastic service and a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the balcony for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Ate here on the last night of our holiday in the Benderloch area. Only wish we'd found the place earlier, as we would have gone back again.

The Lochnell Arms is situated near the Connell Bridge (it is signposted just before the bridge on the Benderloch side). The restaurant eating area is in a conservatory which overlooks the water - ask for a waterside table for the best view!

Menu is reasonably varied - something for everyone, including a couple of vegetarian options (I'm veggie and it was one of the best meals I had during the holiday). I had the Highland mushrooms to start - mushrooms in a delcious cheesy whisky sauce, followed by the vegetarian pasta - which was pasta in a creamy tomato sauce with plenty of fresh vegetables. My fellow diners sampled the haggis spring rolls and soup starters, plus the roast of the day (ham with Yorkshire pudding, vegetables and gravy), and the fillet of Scottish beef. Clean plates all round! We also tried the Scottish tablet ice cream for pudding - which was really outstanding - would definitely recommend!

No complaints about the service and the food was brought out within a reasonable time of ordering.

Would go back here for a second helping!

Room Tip: Only had a meal here - didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

My husband had the scampi and chips which were fine. I had the mushroom risotto which was not at all bad. This place is ok, more than ok. Quite nice. The views are spectacular. Certainly worth a visit.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LFKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
446 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
4.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
4.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochnell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochnell Arms Hotel

Property: Lochnell Arms Hotel
Address: North Connel, Connel, Oban PA37 1RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochnell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lochnell Arms Hotel is a small family run hotel in a spectacular Loch side location, situated just 5 miles outside of Oban. We have 10 on-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant which is also open to non residents, outside terrace, and public bar with pool table and darts. The cosy lounge bar has a large open fireplace, and the restaurant has a stunning view over the Loch. All our meals are home made and freshly prepared by our chefs, who use local produce where possible. Popular Sunday carvery served all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Lochnell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Nell Arms Connel
Lochnell Arms Hotel Connel, Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing