We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break away !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, U.K.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely break away !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Due to the unusual lovely weather, my husband and I set off on Monday morning for Oban, but it was asusual overcrowded and overbooked, so drove over the Connel Bridge and by accident found this hotel. What a stroke of luck this was, we had a superior room with balcony and the food was excellent. Stayed two night and had dinner and breakfast both days. The staff were all so very friendly and helpful. As I am a Travel Agent myself, I will definately be recommending this hotel to my clients. Prefect location to visit most of the West Coast places of interest.

Room Tip: The Loch Views rooms are well worth any extra money, the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoopScotland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    60
    22
    14
    10
See reviews for
47
114
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Don't understand some of the reviews on this restaurant,this is the third time we have eaten here twice this week and once in November.
We have never been disappointed, staff are very friendly, food is excellent and good value for money.
Would I recommend?? Yes without a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanmccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just returned yesterday from a three night stay here. Lovely room, we had one of the superior ones. Pity the weather didn't play ball! All of the staff were brilliant from top to bottom! Food was abolutely brilliant, our daughters had paid for our our lunuh on our last day which was a surpirse but very good. It was our anniversary.

We will certainly be back again, hopefuly soon, our thanks especially to Jennifer, Colin, sorry did not catch your other half's name, and the boys on the bar on Friday and Saturday night!

Thank you again.

PS: only one wee complaint: as one non smoker all my life and my other half who quit about seven years ago, check your ashtray on the balcony, bit offputting!

Room Tip: go for a loch facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We went back to the Loch Nell Arms Hotel for a third time and we were not disappointed! We received a lovely welcome from the friendly staff. Our family room had recently been refurbished and had beautiful views. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the lovely food and prompt, professional service. We had a fantastic three nights there and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaggisMctavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had dinner here on the last night of our holiday - a perfect end to a wonderful holiday. We arrived and sat by a lovely open fire before going in to dinner. From our table we had a great view of Loch Etive. The staff were incredibly friendly and made the children feel so welcome (we have 9 year old twin boys). The food was absolutely delicious - the fish was SO fresh. Would HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWhitcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Friday 15th March 2013
We were staying in Benderloch and my daughter booked a table at the Loch Nell Arms Hotel to celebrate my 50th Birthday, we had a great meal and were pleasantly surprised with the balloons and all the effort the hotel had put in to make our table special for us. Great food , lovely atmosphere with friendly welcoming staff. It was so good we went back on Sunday for the carvery which was fantastic, great value and well worth a visit. Thank you and we will see you the next time we are at Benderloch.

Great views too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I am not a "a multi award winning chef myself" like the poster of the last review of this hotel.[Correct name Lochnell Arms Hotel] Neither do I visit hotels in the hope of finding something to complain about. I do, however, travel widely in Scotland and abroad and as a result I have a fair experience of hotels.

Arrived Sunday night and had an excellent dinner - freshly made Cullen Skink followed by very tasty and generous portion of roast ham, boiled and roast potatoes and a selection of vegetables. Breakfast is served from 8am but since I had to leave early to catch the Oban-Tiree flight I was kindly offered breakfast at 7.30. Well done! Enjoyed a well presented plate of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon before climbing to the skies at 8.30 from the wee airport 3 minutes away.For dinner on the second night I enjoyed some succulent Argyll Lamb. All the staff were very friendly, well-mannered and attentive. Great view from the dining-room.

I have dined in many establishments boasting award winning chefs and whilst I could admire the decorative presentation of plates and taste the extra sprinkle of pepper I have often been hungry shortly afterwards. If you like good honest people who obviously enjoy looking after guests and a hotel that serves up good, tasty, wholesome food in generous portions then I highly recommend theLoch Nell Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AONGHAS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochnell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochnell Arms Hotel

Property: Lochnell Arms Hotel
Address: North Connel, Connel, Oban PA37 1RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochnell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lochnell Arms Hotel is a small family run hotel in a spectacular Loch side location, situated just 5 miles outside of Oban. We have 10 on-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant which is also open to non residents, outside terrace, and public bar with pool table and darts. The cosy lounge bar has a large open fireplace, and the restaurant has a stunning view over the Loch. All our meals are home made and freshly prepared by our chefs, who use local produce where possible. Popular Sunday carvery served all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lochnell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Nell Arms Connel
Lochnell Arms Hotel Connel, Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing