We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just had our lunch at the lochnell arms hotel. First time we have had something to eat in the hotel, I can honestly say we will be back. The new owners, what a lovely couple, they made as feel very welcome, even their son, gave my mum the thumbs up. Haha. My mum had the tomato and basil bruschetta with melted mozzarella cheese, the fish and chips to follow, now normally mum isn't a big eater....but she finished the lot off. Me...well I had the highland mushrooms ....well tasty. Had the steak and ale pie, with chips....had this dish in many places, but there was definitely ale in there..some place you don't even sniff it. I wish Susan and Rudd all the very best in the future, we hope to back again soon. Good luck guys :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I recently visited for an early evening meal. We had enjoyed a meal here when the current owners were just starting out. Once more we were warmly welcomed by our host to a quiet restaurant. He was very attentive, pleasant and had a good sense of humour. Soon the room began to get busy. He remained calm and efficient and was assisted in serving periodically. The food was delicious - however, I feel he could have done with a bit more help in the dining room as our service became a bit slower as the meal progressed. We will be back because it is important to us how staff handle pressure i.e. remain courteous and professional throughout service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildWestWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a few days in May. The owners, Ruud and Susan, make you feel very welcome. They even thought about the kids by having a playroom for them.
Meals are great with self made chips, loved it. I can really recommend the chocolate marquise as dessert.
My room had a balcony with a beautiful view and the bed slept even better than my bed at home :)
I'll be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: One with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I consider myself well travelled in the uk and abroad. In the interests of credibility I've hitchhiked across Europe spending £10 a day and on other occasions frequented 6 star hotels.
Given the budget price bracket of the hotel.
The Loch nell arms hotel is excellent value with superb, attentive, warm, generous and hardworking staff.
If your looking for accommodation in or around Oban. This hotel cannot be overlooked!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milesr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just back from a lovely family meal which we all thoroughly enjoyed! Ruud and Susan couldn't have made us feel anymore welcome! Up in Oban for a weeks holiday and this is our second visit in 5 nights. Will definetly be back!! Will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here three years ago and it was fine. Value for money and no real complaints but this most recent visit at Easter was dreadful. The bedroom with the balcony and beautiful view is shabby. Needs loads done to it before it can be described as value for money.
Breakfast was a shambles. No menu on the table. All Bran was the only choice of cereal, milk served in a 4 pint milk carton straight from the Supermarket as was the fruit juice. Bread for toasting in original wrapping paper and some tubs of yogurt. That was it until we were then asked if we would "like something fried?"
No information in bedrooms about meal times or anything else about the Hotel. The place needs loads of money spent on it to bring it up to a semi decent standard. We had three nights away from home and stayed at three different hotels.. This was the most expensive of the three and by far the worst. Meant to stay two night but checked out after one. Very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank possum36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed here for two weeks for business, the room was very nice with great loch views from my balcony. The food was amazing and my colleague and I had no desire to eat anywhere else the whole time we stayed. the staff were very friendly and very accommodating. If you want somewhere to stay that's not in the noisy and busy town centre I would recommend the Loch Nell Arms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
4.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochnell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochnell Arms Hotel

Address: North Connel, Connel, Oban PA37 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochnell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lochnell Arms Hotel is a small family run hotel in a spectacular Loch side location, situated just 5 miles outside of Oban. We have 10 on-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant which is also open to non residents, outside terrace, and public bar with pool table and darts. The cosy lounge bar has a large open fireplace, and the restaurant has a stunning view over the Loch. All our meals are home made and freshly prepared by our chefs, who use local produce where possible. Popular Sunday carvery served all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lochnell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Nell Arms Connel
Lochnell Arms Hotel Connel, Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing