We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place to stay”
Review of Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed with our dog for one night and were made to feel very welcome and every effort was made to allow us to enjoy the facilities of the hotel, with really good service from everyone we encountered. We were able eat in the Gluepot bar (same food as the main restaurant) as well as a separate table being laid for us for breakfast. The "full Scottish" which was excellent and kept us going until the evening! The rooms were very spacious and clean and the sunset in the evening was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again. Phil & Sarah L

Room Tip: We had a room above the kitchen and over the car park, and it was a little noisy until about 12.30am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil5783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    77
    35
    20
    24
See reviews for
51
173
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and the accommodation was very good. Staff were very helpful and caring. Cost was reasonable. Rooms were reasonably spacious. Staff packed a lunch for us instead of us eating breakfast, when we were spending the day on the Isle of Iona. Beautiful views from the front of the hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel by the water with welcoming staff. The room was large, clean, modern and very comfortable. Great bathroom too. We loved the cosy bar - great wine list & atmosphere. Lovely view from the restaurant & overall service & food were great, but my husband's "handmade" burger seemed like a processed one so he was very disappointed by it. Great breakfast, maybe a little greasy. Would recommend & stay again if in the area

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon to a warm welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. We explored the area a little and came back to enjoy the beautiful view and a fantastic sunset - the restaurant the perfect place to enjoy the scenery! Great atmosphere in the Gluepot Bar but we decided to eat in the restaurant. The lobster bisque was perfect both in flavour and presentation. Others had the crayfish cocktail, declared superb. We all had fish bar one venison dish. The presentation was good, the fish flavoursome and perfectly cooked - no complaints! Everyone in our party had a very comfortable night, good showers, beds and decor all highly satisfactory. The residents lounge also allows guests to savour the view. Breakfast next morning was delicious, perfectly poached eggs on crunchy toast not soggy ( it matters! ) The smoked haddock and eggs also lovely. Service was great, attentive and polite staff. On a road trip which took us to Plockton the next day, and although we like the Plockton Inn, we were unanimous in voting the Oyster Inn the best on food, particularly the breakfast. Superior rooms too, thanks for the perfect pit stop, we will be back. Over and out.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGluePot, General Manager at Oyster Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello Nicola C. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The room was nice and we enjoyed the Gluepot pub in the evenings. Nice breakfast next morning. The food was superb. Friendly staff & excellent service. Beautiful view of the water & bridge from the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCSYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGluePot, General Manager at Oyster Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello DCCSYR. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your experience at The Oyster Inn. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here bed and breakfast. The place appeared clean enough and the staff were pleasant. The room was smallish and the worst feature - the bed! My wife hardly slept at all due to the really hard mattress. I don't know if we were unlucky or if all rooms have similar beds. Breakfast was good. View excellent. Car park not the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bylochetive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGluePot, General Manager at Oyster Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello bylochetive thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have taken your comments on board and have been discussing adding new mattress toppers to the beds to make them even comfier. It is a bit of a tricky one though as we have received comments stating that the same beds are very soft! Therefore, we do have to assume that people have different opinions and preferences for the beds they would like to sleep on. As mentioned though, we will always look to make sure that comments which can help improve the overall experience of staying at The Oyster Inn are taken on considered. Many thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have eaten regularly at the Gluepot and could never fault it. However, on a recent visit the service was appalling and the staff were diffident. The only menu was on a wall board which entailed standing in front of other diners to read it. This used to be a cosy, welcoming pub but, on this experience, not now.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 8 in Connel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Property: Oyster Inn
Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Connel, Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing