We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband booked this for my birthday and Jayne the new owner arranged for us to have dinner in the residents lounge as the conservatory was under refurbishment, still had the spectacular view which brings us back again and again. All staff very friendly, service & food outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    77
    35
    20
    24
See reviews for
50
169
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous set up, owner and staff very friendly (as was Lucy the dog). Food, service, rooms, people, staff are totally outstanding! I can highly recommend the Sunday dinners never had nicer! Stayed in the Oban suite and it was a nice size, cumfy bed, very clean with a lovely bath and shower - couldn't ask for more. It's a trip into Oban or anywhere else for that matter about 10-15 mins by car to anything but the views from this b&b are worth it. Don't eat anywhere else but there as it doesn't come close - reasonably priced too for the quality menu - I'd definitely stay again :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a great time here. It was easy to book and everyone we had contact with was very friendly and helpful, Even on my first call when I didn't even know definite dates.
Our room was comfortable with good free wifi and well done for having proper coat hangers! Those annoying ring and stick fixed ones are a real pet hate. Our little dog was made welcome too and could join us in the bar.
We didn't have a sea view from our room but they are available and there are great views from the residents' lounge on the first floor.
At the moment the restaurant wing is closed and being renovated so kerb appeal might be a bit less than usual but don't let that put you off, maintenance is always a good thing
All in all an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from our stay Lovley hotel/ Bar. Food and rooms excellent. Plenty parking. Fantastic views and guest lounge. Last but not least wonderful staff. Would recommend a stay and will return. Good luck to the new owners.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 342Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on business and I cant recommend this hotel highly enough!
I was working in Oban and this is only 5 minutes outside the town.The hotel is situated on the shores of Loch Etive and the views are incredible from the hotel. It has lots of parking which is excellent as any visitor to Oban knows parking there is a nightmare. The rooms are very modern and very fresh with free Wi-Fi. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. There is an extensive menu in the bar (the restaurant was being refurbished but it has views over the Loch) and the quality of the food was superb - first night the tempura prawns were fresh and homemade, the burger moist and juicy. The second night I had oysters which were fresh and delicious and the battered fish was excellent. The breakfast menu was all local high quality ingredients and the service was very fast.
Next time I am in Oban this is where I would stay - 5 stars all day every day!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just back from an overnight stay. Good car parking at the front and rear of the hotel. Our room was well appointed, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We stayed on a DBB basis and the food was excellent. The menu has a great selection and breakfast really set us up for the day.
The atmosphere in the bar was great, big open fire kept the place nice and warm and a mixture of locals and residents added to a good atmosphere.
The DBB rate offers great value for money, Just wish we could've stayed stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked last minute for a Friday night stay. The new owners John & June had just taken over, they made us feel very welcome. Our room was very clean & very comfortable. The food excellent (especially the mussels) the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The locals were great company too. We will definitely be back. All the best to the new owners for the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Property: Oyster Inn
Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Connel, Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing