We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel and service attitude”
Review of Hotel San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Lorenzo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chiavenna
Certificate of Excellence
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine hotel and service attitude”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the hotel very much as a stop from Holland to the middel of italy. Hotel has good WiFi and is located centrally. Good beds and massage shower. We had a room for there which was comfortable. Third bed was also ok.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    84
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
67
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is very clean , and the rooms smart and fresh.
Breakfast is poor with stale croissants and cheap orange squash.
But oh dear ,the NOISE, from the bar on a Saturday night. Thumping LOUD LOUD LOUD oompah band and disco till 12.30 in the morning. Impossible to sleep.
Such a shame as the town is brilliant to visit.

Room Tip: A room at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheerzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a great hotel. Modern (in a good way), comfortable rooms with really nice bathrooms. We find Chiavenna to be a great place to stop off either on the way up to or back from Madesimo when skiing and with the hotel close to the bus and train station carring the bags and skis there was really easy. It should be mentioned that despite the proximity you aren't disturbed by these.
It has been mentioned in previous reviews that the English spoken here isnt the best and while this is true the staff are really helpful and this doesnt cause a problem. Also great for people like me who want to try using a little basic Italian.
As fantastic as the hotel was it was having dinner in the restaurant that really made the stay for us. It has the look and feel of a top quality restaurant with a lovely atmosphere and wonderful food. All at a very reasonable price.
We had an amazing stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

got stuck in chiavenna for 1 night as the road to madesimo was closed due to snow.i asked at the bus station for a recomendation and ended up here!it is a great hotel quiet clean great friendly staff and the food/pizza and red wine at the resteraunt were mind blowing and quite cheap!One of those great moments in travelling when a place likethis arrives unexpectedly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlovsdog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice place to spend a holliday and very friendly and helpful staff. Very good place to stay for activities outdoor in the Dolomites mountains. Breakfast and restaurant in hotel is very good. Chiavenna is also an old and beutiful little city/village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Chiavenna is a lovely old city and this hotel was great. The room was clean and comfortable and they found somewhere safe for us to keep our tandem. We ate from the fixed price menu of food from the local region which was excellent and they were good about changing one course because I don't eat pork. It was good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Gallen, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very modern rooms (rain shower). Air condition, really nice thing in the Chiavenna heat. Helpful staff, great service. Overall very good value for the money. Would stay again in this hotel at any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavenna
0.3 mi away
Hotel Conradi
Hotel Conradi
#2 of 5 in Chiavenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Albergo Aurora
Hotel Albergo Aurora
#4 of 5 in Chiavenna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crimea
Hotel Crimea
#3 of 5 in Chiavenna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#1 of 3 in Campodolcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
8.3 mi away
Albergo k2
Albergo k2
#4 of 12 in Madesimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
10.6 mi away
Spluga Hotel
Spluga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dubino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Lorenzo

Property: Hotel San Lorenzo
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 3, 23022 Chiavenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Chiavenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chiavenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing