We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good summertime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chagala Hotel Aktau
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Aktau
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good summertime location”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I have stayed in several Chagala hotels and this one is on a par with the others. It is rather tucked away but very close to the beach so makes for a good base for a weekend trip in the summer.

Breakfast good, rooms very nice indeed; big and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for good reviews. We are always glad to see you at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
3
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

For business purposes I travel a lot in Western Kazakhstan. I stayed in Chagala hotels in Aktau, Atyrau, Oral. Aktau hotel doesn't have the most favourable location but it is newly built hotel with rooms equiped with everything for basic needs. However surprisengly that it is not equiped with electronic keys. My colleague had hair dryer in the room, I didn't but easily got one at the reception. Staff there is friendly. Transfer was organised and driver was on time with visible plaque. The temperature in the room was a bit cold (+18C). I'm a sensitive sleeper but no noise bothered me. My room was decently cleaned and shampoo and shower gel replaced daily. What deseorves special praises (and the reason for me to write this comment) is the food at the hotel restaurant. By far the best food in Aktau.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your comments. As for electronic keys, hair dryer and AC, we have plans and are currently working on them. We are always glad to see you at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Aktau Chagala is different than Aksai & Atyrau Chagala hotel buildings that are built from prefabricated structures. Chagala Aktau is more a hotel looking building with decent room, decent food and decent pub; that's all you need. Not a top class hotel but it fits to the purpose.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your good reviews! You are always welcome at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night, the rooms are small, but clean and cosy. The bathroom was not equipped at all: no hair-dryer, no shampoo, just one bar of soap. I couldn't fix the airconditioner, so I left the balcony-door open for the whole night (I stayed in November). The minibar was empty and tgey do not have 24/7 room service, but the staff was very kind and they sold me the bottle of water they had at reception. I waited for it just 3-5 mins. The breakfast is nice and the staff is very professional and polite. However it was quite expensive given its level.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyagush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your comments! As for hair dryer and AC, we currently working on them. What about minibar, unfortunately, we do not have it.
You are always wellcome at Chagala Aktau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

What a great hotel. woderful helpful, pleasant & smiling staff (well some of them)
Rooms are not big but are fine for short stays. The only problem I had with the room was not being able to control the AC, so the room was boiling hot. Hotter than a sauna.
even on coldest setting it was like an oven. The answer is to open the window.
Some rooms have balconies so definitely worth booking this. Also, rooms facing the front have balcony seating and tables, so good for sitting out in the evening and especially if you are a smoker. Smoking rooms are available.
On the 7th floor is a reasonable fitness room with TVs and all the equipment is brand new or in top condition. The lift is pretty slow, but there are 2 lifts so not a problem.
Restaurant
An open kitchen greets you in the restaurant. But don't know if that or a plus or minus here. Despite what I say about all the staff smiling and happy, unfortunately, I didn't see the cooks crack a smile during dinner or breakfast.
It serves both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is fine and you order off a menu card. Or a small selection of cold cuts and cheese. Not a big selection but fills you up fine.
A different story at dinner time though. Massive menu to choose from. Greek Salad a particularly good choice as is the tiger prawns to start or as a main course. A big basket of assorted breads are delivered to the table when you sit down and they are very nice, especially the black olive crusty bread. They also have good tasty Russian Black bread.
Steaks are fantastic and cooked to perfection just as you want it.
Small but good range of wines. And they stock an excellent Kazakh cognac, smooth and sweet. My only disappointment was no caviar on the menu, even a small wee smidgen would have been great.
Good attentive service during dinner.
The barman at the hotel is really helpful and his English is very good.
Check out was done in minutes but we had to wait to get our payment invoice/receipt stamped by the finance department.
Leaving the best for last was Svetlana at reception. What an asset to this establishment. So, so very helpful with everything we needed. taxis, room issues, general advice and always smiling. Thanks Svetlana.

Get a car organised through the hotel for an airport collection as our driver tried to charge us 15,000 ($100) for the trip to the hotel - a real rip off, I eventually settled at 5,000 which was still 2,5 times the correct fare if booking through the hotel.

TIP Always ask for rooms with balcony and facing the front of hotel for some spectacular sunsets over the Caspian, preferably one with seats and table

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms with balcony and facing the front of hotel for some spectacular sunsets over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your good reviews! We are always glad to see you at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel.
Standard is not high - however guess that compared with Kazakh standard it is nice. It was definitely clean and nice.
However please note: no sanitary kit, hair dryer or iron. Guess mostly businessmen and not women travel to Aktau.
Hot menu breakfast is good. Dinner restaurant serve nice food.
Located near seaside – but not near city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromHareskovby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your comments! As for hair dryer, we are currently working on that.
What about iron, we have some, but not in each room, and in future we will take it into consideration and the sanitary kit as well.
You are always welcome at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Liked this hotel ,better than equivelent in Atyrau, good room rate , nice mini apartment and very clean .Food , well had the feeling we were sometimes at a Michelen star candidate . One thing spoilt it a little , AC .not the best , think may have been cost saving issues associated with low occupancy and not getting the chilling capacity right . Gym , is the best for a little hotel, good workout with a sea view, will return here again ,friendly pleasant staff who indulged my Poor Russian with a smile.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RobMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aktau
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Aktau Hotel
1.2 mi away
Caspian Riviera Grand Palace Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aktau
Holiday Inn Aktau
#3 of 12 in Aktau
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victory
Grand Hotel Victory
#4 of 12 in Aktau
57 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aktau Hotel
Aktau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aqtau
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silk Way Aktau Hotel
Silk Way Aktau Hotel
#1 of 10 in Aktau
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chagala Hotel Aktau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chagala Hotel Aktau

Property: Chagala Hotel Aktau
Address: Microdistrict 1, Aktau 130000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Mangystau Province > Aktau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Aktau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chagala Hotel Aktau 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Caspian Seashore in Aktau city, the hotel features 80 rooms, fitness centre, restaurant and parking. All rooms have a balcony enjoying the views of the Caspian sea and include buffet breakfast and wifi. Apartments have a separate kitchen and living room. The property belongs to Chagala group which is guarantee of security and know-how. Chagala bus stop is 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, providing access to Aktau Bus Station and the city centre. A transfer to the Airport (29 km) is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chagala Hotel Aktau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing