We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, tidy with”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chagala Hotel Aktau
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Aktau
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy with”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It was a welcome relief to arrive to a fairly modern hotel given that I had not been booked into one of the more higher starred hotels. The Chagala is more than adequate - I would compare it to being of a better standard than a Premier Inn (for those who have experienced this chain in the UK).
The staff are excellent and speak reasonable if not good English. The restaurant is ok, though I only had lunch and dinner a few times in my 20 day stay. The breakfast is varied and serves hot as well as cold food. The food tends to be all very European/ American with Sunday roasts available to boot.
The rooms are clean and well kept. There is a safe, where you need to ask reception for a key at no extra cost. The wifi is good and worked throughout the hotel; Skype is fine. They can return laundry within the same day, cleaned (obviously) and pressed.
I was on the 7th floor where there seems to be a problem with inadequate air conditioning. I will be returning in July and am not looking forward to the high temperatures, so will ask to see the room first.
The gym is pretty good with modern cardio equipment and weights.
The reception staff are helpful in organising taxis, which tend to cost 300 Tenge (£1) to anywhere in the city. They will also organise a taxi to/ from the airport and add it to your bill.
The hotel is located some distance from the town centre (approx 15 minute walk) but as discussed above a taxi is very cheap.
Makesure you get your immigration card stamped twice at the airport rather than arguing with the Aktau immigration Police about whether the second stamp is required or not - it is just something less to worry about as you clear immigration on departure.
I have no major concerns about staying/ returning to the Chagala. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for all your comments.

You are always welcome at Chagala hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
3
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is clean, friendly and well located. I stayed here for four weeks and found nothing major to worry about. The staff are fantastic and helpful, the rooms are large enough, well decorated and comfortable. There is a small but well equipped gym on the top floor open 24hrs. It is only 200m from the sea ( all-though if the winds blowing in the wrong direction you do get the odd whiff from it) a small but well equipped supermarket is about 500m along the road. Most rooms have a little kitchen area with hot plates and a microwave. I think all the rooms have fridges. the air conditioning struggled sometimes with the heat but during my stay they where carrying out work to improve it. Perhaps the only area I think let the hotel down was the choice of food on the menu in the restaurant and bar, it is very limited in choice but the food is well prepared. Also a pool would be very nice as the beach is dirty. Sorry only put terrible on the pool and spa as they have none and I don't know how you remove the score from the form!!!!!! (Trip advisor you need to look into this please)

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the front of the hotel, less wind so you can have your balcony door open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mr. Keith!

Thank you very much for your comments.

We will take into account all your review.

You are always wellcome in Chagala hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Ақтау қаласындағы жақсы қонақ үйлердің бірі. Банкомат жоғы өте жаман.
Chagala is one of the best hotels in Aktau, in Kazakhstan generally as well.

I can recommend Chagala for trevelers as very nice hotel witch meets international and your presonal requirments.

Room Tip: floor 6 and 7 very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkhan_KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Darkhan,

Thank you so much for your comments. We will consider you review.

You are always welcome at Chagala hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel 6 or 7 times over the last , all the other reviews are honest and true , food is excellent , gym good ( maybe a few towels?) , rooms clean , staff friendly ....but winter or summer , having stayed there both seasons the Air conditioning is terrible . Now the cold is easy to deal with but mid summer , the A/C is inadequate , and individual thermostat control has been overruled and worthless . Seriously considering a move !

Room Tip: Not the Seventh floor ..hottest by far !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you for your reviews!
Now we are trying to improve our AC and will take into consideration all your comments.

Will be glad to see you again in Chagala Aktau! You are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I have stayed in several Chagala hotels and this one is on a par with the others. It is rather tucked away but very close to the beach so makes for a good base for a weekend trip in the summer.

Breakfast good, rooms very nice indeed; big and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for good reviews. We are always glad to see you at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

For business purposes I travel a lot in Western Kazakhstan. I stayed in Chagala hotels in Aktau, Atyrau, Oral. Aktau hotel doesn't have the most favourable location but it is newly built hotel with rooms equiped with everything for basic needs. However surprisengly that it is not equiped with electronic keys. My colleague had hair dryer in the room, I didn't but easily got one at the reception. Staff there is friendly. Transfer was organised and driver was on time with visible plaque. The temperature in the room was a bit cold (+18C). I'm a sensitive sleeper but no noise bothered me. My room was decently cleaned and shampoo and shower gel replaced daily. What deseorves special praises (and the reason for me to write this comment) is the food at the hotel restaurant. By far the best food in Aktau.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your comments. As for electronic keys, hair dryer and AC, we have plans and are currently working on them. We are always glad to see you at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Aktau Chagala is different than Aksai & Atyrau Chagala hotel buildings that are built from prefabricated structures. Chagala Aktau is more a hotel looking building with decent room, decent food and decent pub; that's all you need. Not a top class hotel but it fits to the purpose.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your good reviews! You are always welcome at Chagala Aktau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aktau
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Aktau Hotel
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victory
Grand Hotel Victory
#4 of 12 in Aktau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aktau
Holiday Inn Aktau
#3 of 12 in Aktau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caspian Riviera Grand Palace Hotel
2.0 mi away
Aktau Hotel
Aktau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aqtau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Nur Plaza Hotel and Conf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chagala Hotel Aktau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chagala Hotel Aktau

Property: Chagala Hotel Aktau
Address: Microdistrict 1, Aktau 130000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Mangystau Province > Aktau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Aktau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chagala Hotel Aktau 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Caspian Seashore in Aktau city, the hotel features 80 rooms, fitness centre, restaurant and parking. All rooms have a balcony enjoying the views of the Caspian sea and include buffet breakfast and wifi. Apartments have a separate kitchen and living room. The property belongs to Chagala group which is guarantee of security and know-how. Chagala bus stop is 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, providing access to Aktau Bus Station and the city centre. A transfer to the Airport (29 km) is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Chagala Hotel Aktau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing